We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Seven

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Seven to your Saves list
Dar Seven
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kaa Sour 7 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Lush and refined retreat within walking distance of the medina. Owned by Italian royalty, so if its good enough for them...
Lovely staff, who, even during Rammadan, couldn't have been more helpful. Interiors are fresh and cool and bedrooms opulent and comfortable without being over the top.
Highly recommended..

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letizia c, Directeur général at Dar Seven, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
My dear,

It is with great pleasure that i have seen your comment today.
We are really happy that you have a great time with us, and to know that maybe we will see you again soon.
We wish you the best for the future and we will be waiting for you.
In order to help us to improve , would you have the amability to tell us what was missing in service and cleanliness to get the five stars distinction.
Any comment that can make us propose a better service is always welcome.

Looking forward to see you again

Matthieu Chabanis
Director Dar Seven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

When my husband & I decided to go back to Morocco (our 4th time) for a holiday after seven years, we decided that we were ready to try staying in the medina for a few days.
This would be our first time. It proved to be a challenge for me to find the best possible riad/dar to stay at and in a safe area that would not compromise our comfort level, having already experienced visiting the medina and souks in our past trips & seeing how chaotic it can become with the motorbikes,donkey carts etc.
After months of research and reviews, we chose Dar Seven. Prior to our arrival, we coordinated with Beatrice, who promptly replied to our inquiries.
We booked our own car service from Casablanca Airport which was a 2.5 hr drive to Marrakech.
Upon our arrival at the drop off point-Sidi Ben Slimane, (note: that cars are not allowed beyond this point) we were met by the dar's very gracious General Manager, Matthieu, (who was always around to check and make sure that we were well cared for during our entire stay at Dar Seven).
Our luggages were hauled in a cart thru the maze as we followed it to the dar. Upon reaching our destination, a little door opened to a very well appointed space. Everything was so perfectly in place. The warm subdued colors, the furnitures, accessories etc. It felt just like home.
We forgot that we were actually in the medina.
We greatly appreciate that nothing was cluttered and overly decorated with Moroccan flair.
It was minimal, elegant & timeless. Tastefully decorated.
We stayed at the White Suite. It was very quiet & we could not even hear any noise for the call for daily prayers. This suite had a separate staircase from the other wing where the 2 other rooms are located. One guest room is located on the ground floor.
Matthieu was always on hand to help us plan our day & he recommended a trustworthy driver, Moustapha, who we hired during our entire stay to take us around whenever and wherever we wanted to go. You can genuinely feel that the management of the dar makes sure that you are safe at all times. A plus when staying in the medina.
We were always escorted to & from the dar. Matthieu would always meet us and drop us off. He coordinated our plans with the driver.
His able assistant Amal was also very efficient. We had dinner at the dar a few times & they indulged our request for light meals & some of my Moroccan favorites. Rachid was on hand in the evenings to serve us dinner or meet and escort us back to the dar if we went out at night. Breakfast was very good and sumptuous.The Moroccan coffee has spices in it, so take it easy with this if you have a sensitive tummy to avoid stomach upset.
The dar provides its guests with a pre-programmed mobile phone for emergencies, should you decide to wander without a guide and explore the medina (though,not highly recommended) or just need someone to help you get back. It is always better to call them than to try to ask for directions from a stranger who will ask for money from you before giving you directions or showing you the way.
Upon request, they can provide a licensed tour guide to take you on a walking tour around the souks, foundouks, the medina, the Quran School , museum & the square Jemaa El Fna.
Dar Seven is a nice & quiet sanctuary to stay at in the medina. It was the perfect choice for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letizia c, General Manager at Dar Seven, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear,

It is with great pleasure that i have read your lines this morning. I have called all the staff to read it together. Your words are the one we are working for. You have fulfilled us with happiness today and made us proud. We will always be waiting for your return.
Thank you for your stay, thank you for your words
Looking forward to see you again
sincerly

Matthieu & All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was our first trip to Morocco....and thank goodness for Dar Seven!!! I would say the Dar Seven is a necessity!!! It's white walls and beautiful style give you a sense of pure calm once you come back from the craziness of the Medina. We were there for a heat wave and it was 10 degrees cooler inside the Riad than outside.

We stayed in the Loggia Suite and we are no strangers to beautiful hotels.....this suite doesn't disappoint!! Spacious, elegant, decorated to the very last detail with exceptional taste. If you can believe it, they actually changed the mattress for me as I have a bad back and the initial one was too hard....seriously...they changed it!!!! That's what I call dedication to guests needs!!

What really made the stay divine was the staff. Mrs. Letizia (the owner) was one of the nicest people I have met. She checked on us everyday after returning just to hear stories of our experiences of the day!! Her kindness is reflected in her staff; Rashid and all his help in the evening and watching world cup with us; the walks with Mathew in the morning answering all questions you could imagine we could ask him with nothing but a smile; Jawad, the taxi driver they recommended (highly recommend) and all the lovely women who gave us delicious breakfast and welcomed us back to the hotel every day.

To be honest, I never write reviews but I had to for Dar Seven....without it, we wouldn't have liked Morocco. The safety and the calm this hotel provided us let us know we could handle the Medina because we knew we had a sanctuary to go back to every night. Also, we are not normally social people and really like our privacy on vacation (we avoid all inclusive and tourist traps like the plague)....the personal attention, due to the delightful personalities of everyone, was soooo nice as normally we would have wanted to be left alone. But we loved their company. They were all so genuine and the beauty of the hotel was just a bonus!

It is a luxury hotel but you would be crazy not to stay at the Dar Seven! Perfect location, rooms that entice the senses, staff that you will truly miss and a memory forever. Book it...book it NOW!!!

Room Tip: Loggia Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letizia c, General Manager at Dar Seven, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
I would like to personnaly thank you in the name of Mrs Letizia Ruspoli, the staff, and myself of course, for your nice words.
It is a great pleasure to see how much you have enjoyed the riad and that you found the staff so friendly and professional.
We always try to give our best so our guests have this kind of perception of perfect holidays.
Your words went straight to our hearts.
You will always be warmly welcome in Marrakech, at Dar Seven.
We will be waiting for you.

Matthieu & All the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

This was our first trip to Morocco. Despite being two females in our 20s we were determined to see as much of Marrakech as possible.

We spent the week travelling from East (Sahara Desert) to West (Essaouira) and ended our stay at the Dar Seven.

We were met by Matthieu who escorted us through winding roads to the Riad and warmly welcomed by fellow staff.

Leitita and the team are incredibly welcoming and helpful and would recommend Dar Seven's to anyone looking to experience the city / intense Medina yet retreat to a quiet/relaxing oasis.

Perfect stay to seal an incredible holiday!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letizia c, General Manager at Dar Seven, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We are really happy to hear that you had a great time in Morocco and that we contributed to that good moment.
Don t forget to stop by during your next trip around.
Our quiet and relaxing oasis will always be waiting for you.
All the best.

Matthieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed in the Guest Room for 3 nights in early June. It was a very good experience. The room is listed as 20 sqm but in fact feels a lot larger than a regular 20sqm hotel room. Staff was very nice, helpful in organizing day trip to the mountains, and spoke good English. It is recommended to take the hotel transfer (15EUR) upon arrival since they will send a staff member to meet you at the place where your driver will drop you off. Without the meet and greet it would be almost impossible to find it, especially at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letizia c, General Manager at Dar Seven, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
We are really happy that you had great time with us and that you found our service warm and professional.
It has been a great pleasure for all of us to welcome you in Dar Seven.
We will always be at your service. From arrival until departure, day and night.
Looking forward to see you again soon.

Sincerly

Matthieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Dar Seven, like many of its riad counterparts involves a frantic arrival down a raft of hectic alleys to arrive, via an unassuming door (and this is where the comparison stops), into a whitewashed sanctuary of chic calm.

The contrast of the colourful hubbub of Marrakech and the stylish interiors of Dar Seven are truly extraordinary and I cannot recommend this place more highly. In priority order:

- the staff and in particular Valentina, who was an absolute delight and couldn't have been more helpful or charming
- the beautiful design of the riad itself, which was amazingly relaxing in contrast to the frenetic energy outside
- the huge bath and lovely balcony area *loggia room* which was fantastic
- yummy food - breakfast was delicious, yummy light lunches and tajines on the roof - all perfect (and I'm a foodie)
- little touches, like giving you a mobile phone with all the hotels numbers in case you get lost, to recommending delicious places to eat and advice on the best routes to get there

If you're going to Marrakech, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms were fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letizia c, Proprietario at Dar Seven, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I would like to thank you for your words.Our staff is always more than glad to be at disposal to make your stay relaxing and "special" and we are so proud that you found our riad "chic and relaxing"because our aim is to welcome our guests in a relaxing and chic athmosphere

Hoping to welcome you again in our riad

Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

After weeks of searching for the perfect riad based in the Medina, I came across Dar Seven. It was a present to my mother to celebrate her 60th birthday and it ticked all the boxes for our family of four. Unlike other riads which go down the route of bright garish colours and in some cases ruin the traditional feel, Dar Seven has been very tastefully renovated and retained all its authentic charm. My brother and I stayed in the Brown room with the two twin beds and my parents in the Loggia Suite. We then had the benefit of the loggia connecting the two rooms, which was a lovely spot for the delicious breakfast

Hidden behind a door, nestled in the back streets of the North Medina, Dar Seven is in the perfect location. On arrival we were greeted by Rachid, and our luggage was wheeled through the narrowing streets. After a long journey (via Casblanca due to storms over Marrakech), the haven that greeted us was such a treat and we felt at home immediately. After a lovely home cooked meal and surprisingly good Moroccan wine, we retreated to our beautiful rooms.

Over the course of the three days we spent in Marrakech, Dar Seven was a home, not a hotel. We were welcomed every time we returned from our excursions hot and exhausted, with mint tea and the smiling staff. The lovely Valeria was charming and gave us some Moroccan olive oil as we left. As a family we have decided that this is not our last visit to both Marrakech and Dar Seven, we are already planning the next trip. It is very tempting to keep this magical place secret, but I will be recommending to everyone. It is heaven!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letizia c, Proprietario at Dar Seven, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
We are so proud to be considered your home in Marrakech!
we are very happy to have made your stay pleasant above all because it was a gift for your mother.
Your "home riad" will wait for you whenever you need to have a relaxing and family stay.

See you soon

Letizia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#2 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#26 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Seven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Seven

Address: Kaa Sour 7 | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Seven 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Seven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar 7
Dar Seven Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Seven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.