We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but place needs some work” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Hibiscus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Riad les Hibiscus to your Saves list
Riad les Hibiscus
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Sidi Ben Aissa No17 | Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #484 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Friendly staff but place needs some work”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We arrived at the Riad to a warm welcome. The room was attractive and clean but without a decent light it was impossible to relax in there properly. The room also backed directly on to the pool area so there was very little privacy and if you wanted the window open, people could see in. This meant that relaxing in our room became difficult when we needed a well earned rest from the hectic market.
The staff were very helpful and kind but a little more information about the facilities would have gone a long way. We were unaware that you could order drinks by the pool until we saw another couple doing it, it would have been helpful if this had been explained to us.

Breakfast was quite bare with toast, bread or pancakes and a piece of fruit. A yoghurt option would have been nice or maybe a variation of different fruits.

We had our clothes washed at the Riad. They did a good job, however a staple instead of a safety pin was used to pin the paper tag to my clothes. I was not impressed with this as it was an expensive item and needed to be treated with care.

Overall a lovely looking Riad that simply needed a few tweeks to make it great.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    47
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
86
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

a beatiful and peaceful place which will make your stay fabulous. The hotel is awesome, beatiful; really clean and calm and the staff cannot be better. A REALLY BIG THAK YOU TO ALL OF THEM. I definitely recomend this place and if I return to Marrakech, this will be my place to stay

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Fabulous. Didn't want to go away. Everything was perfect.
The room was spacious and clean, breakfast better then good and the atmosphere fabulous. Will visit this place again.
Thank you for such wonderful time and a friendly service.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of november 2013 for a week.the transfer guy at the airport arranged for a porter to pick us up from the edge of jemaa el fnaa market and take us there.its location couldn,t be better with easy access to the bustling square and souks,restaurants.It is at the end of a very safe alleyway which is all residential.it is a complete sanctuary so peaceful and relaxing after long days exploring marrakech.We had the room at the top which was huge for two of us a four poster bed massive bath and great shower.The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard.breakfast was bread jams cheese and pancakes all cooked when you sit down.We asked for a meal for one evening and it was delicious we were the only two eating there and felt like it was our own house .The staff were extremely helpful and informative.We,d visited a herborist last year that sold amazing jasmine argan oil,but prior to coming home we never found it again.We asked the man in the riad and he rang them and showed us where it was.All in all a brilliant stay and a great base we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A very decent place for my family to stay. The location of the hotel is the other side of Jemaa El Fnaa market. Arrange with the hotel beforehand and they will have a porter come and collect you from the outskirts of the the market and walk you straight to the hotel's door step (my airport transfer kindly organized this with the hotel for us so we didn't need to do this). My 5 yr old had great fun sitting in the porters cart and being wheeled the 15 mins that it took us to get there. You will be near the stalls, souks, restaurants, the stray cats and the smell from the snail stalls so the location is pretty good. Our room was the last room up the stairs on the top of the hotel adjoined to the roof (could be an issue during summer as other hotel guests might want to come upstairs and sit and chat outside disturbing your sleep). It was OK size for the 4 of us but if we were living in it all day then I would have to say its a bit of a squeeze. Aesthetically the room was traditional looking with a modern twist. It was immaculately cleaned daily with the bathroom having hot water. Breakfast is continental and OK (no buffet fry up I'm afraid) and the hotel staff are great. Dont expect your room to have normal mod cons. No TV, no phone, no kettle and no iron. The wifi is only accessible from the communal area so that's a pain if you wanna catch up on Downtown Abbey from the comfort of your own bed. You have Forex bureau literally round two corners from where you will staying so no problems changing cash (take the alley with the big pink sign for the Marrakesh museum and it on your left) and no its not a swimming pool in the communal area but a large water thingy that looks quite nice and relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is more or less based in the heart of Jamaa El Fnaa so you have no problems getting to souks, markets, reasturants, cafes etc as itis literally a 2 min walk from the hotel. One advice would be is ring the hotel before you are dropped of from the airport as no cars can go to the hotel direct and the hotel is in a bit of an alley way and will be hard to find, the staff were very friendly and arranged to pick us up from the drop off point which was very helpful. Beware of alley way the hotel is based at an end of a big alley way but for us we felt safe as there mainly residents living in that alley way. The hotel is very calm and peacful and a place of serenity especially when you come back from the hustle and bustle. Be warned when you book a Superior room "THEY ARE NOT SUPERIOR" but are classed superior so when i came and was given this room i complained and asked if this was superior they said it was. The staff knew i was very unhappy so they gave me a "SUITE" instead which was very nice of them. If you are claustrophobic then i would recommend a suite. I did sometimes find that the bed sheets were changed but found it unclean on a copuple of occassions. Breakfast is very standard, orange juice, tea/coffee, bread, pancakes etc. All in all this hotel was great i would definatley come back to this hotel but not Marrakech!

Room Tip: Order a Suite and not a Superior as the "superior" is not really superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Very quiet although located in a heart of medina. Location perfect for exploring Jemma el fna and the medina. Very stylish and clean interiors, nice breakfast. It had got a little swimming pool. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad les Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Hibiscus

Address: Derb Sidi Ben Aissa No17 | Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #484 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad les Hibiscus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw away from the picturesque markets of Marrakesh and the famous Jemaa El Fna Square ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HostelBookers, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad les Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Hibiscus Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.