We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in a manic city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad les Hibiscus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad les Hibiscus to your Saves list
Riad les Hibiscus
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Sidi Ben Aissa No17 | Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #432 of 1,093 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kirby Hill, North Yorks
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in a manic city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Stayed here in September 2011 and what a welcome oasis this place is in the chaotic madness that is Marrakech. Having read other reviews, we chose to organise tranfers through the hotel and arranged for the staff to meet us where the taxi dropped us off and we would strongly recommend this to anyone, espcially if you are arriving at night time - for those who have never been to Marrakech, it is an assault on the senses and trying to navigate the main square with little idea where you are going just isn't worth it.

This Riad (like all Riad's) is tucked away down a tiny side street within the main town walls just off the main square and traffic isn't allowed inside the main walls so you have to make your way there on foot and no matter how good a map you may think you have, you would struggle to find this place - this can be fun during the dayime, but when you first arrive, it could prove bewildering.

The Riad itself is beautiful and tranquil. The rooms all appear to be quite large with traditional polished plaster walls overlooking the central 'courtyard' area which includes the plunge pool which is a welcome relief from the heat of the city. There is also a pleasant roof terrace, which is perfect for a relaxing drink at sunset. Note that it isn't always easy to get an alcoholic drink in Marrakech, even in many restaurants.

Staff are unintrusive yet attentive and breakfast was a simple yet tasty affair.

Marrakech really is an experience and I'd probably recommend a long weekend rather than a full week's holiday as the constant noise and chaos could become tiring after a while.

Room Tip: Get the hotel to meet you when you first arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    43
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
81
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Riad les Hibiscus and would recommend it highly. We were dropped off at the main square by the taxi and a 'barrow man' scooped up our bags and led us to the Riad. Without this I doubt if we would have found it, even though it is right beside the square.

1 of the souks is located at the top of the alley leading to the Riad, so it is always busy, yet you walk down the alley and you have peace and quiet. Even on the rooftop the souks and square are barely audible.

Breakfast was fresh orange juice and freshly made crepes, with a lovely orange jam. In fairness it was quite filling. The whole place was very clean and the staff, although not speaking much English, were very helpful.

Definately would go back, and certainly would recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Just got back from a 4 night stay at the Riad les Hibiscus. This is my first time writing a review about a place I have stayed in, but felt I really should, as this place is absolutely gorgeous! It is very stylishly decorated and the staff are absolutely lovely. The roof terrace is lovely and great to get away from the manic streets of Marrakesh. Breakfast is simple but delicious. I would highly recommend staying here, it is conveniently located and very comfortable. 5 stars!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

A beautiful place to stay - the room was traditionally decorated and the shower was amazing. Even the throw on the bed was gorgeous. It was the little details like the latches on the doors and window shutters that made the accommodation perfect. The views from the rooftop let you see everyday life whilst enjoying your breakfast - great for people watching. Breakfast was freshly made and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived late at night and at first were quite apprehensive but as soon as we got inside we were thrilled! Location is perfect - not far from the hustle and bustle. I would definitely love to return - this is a must stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at Riad Les Hibiscus. The room was comfortable clean and nice. Bed was comfortable also.The bathroom was also clean and nice. There was a little street noise at night but not bad. They have wifi but you have to use it in the lobby and since there are rooms next to the lobby you have to be quiet as to not disturb anyone. The breakfast was nothing special just a crepe and bread and coffee. It is very convenient to walk to Jemaa El Fna and felt safe for me to walk alone there at night which was important since I was a female traveling alone. It is down a side street but there seemed to always be people around or kids playing at night. The staff was helpful in that they went to the bus station for me to pick up a supratour ticket to go to Essaouira and I just paid them for the ticket. No need to have hotel arrange a taxi to airport. It was much cheaper to just get a taxi on your own to return to airport only 60 dirhams. But finding the place on your own would be tricky. The staff met me near Cafe de france and walked me there so that was very helpful when I first arrived. Overall nice place.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on upper floor for less noise from lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

While slightly tricky to find (we found our way with ease having checked other TripAdvisor's advice), the riad is a true oasis in the midst of a city that is very hectic. We stayed three nights and could not have been looked after better. The staff really make an effort to make you feel welcome, and really make an effort to speak English if you do not speak French. The rooms are nicely decorated and extremely clean. If you're after privacy, book the rooftop suite. Otherwise request a room on the first floor, as they are more quiet than those on the ground floor. Breakfast is basic (breads and Moroccan pancakes with jam/butter/cheese) but filling. We had dinner one night in the riad and it was the most enjoyable meal we experienced in Marrakech!

Room Tip: If you're after privacy, book the rooftop suite. Otherwise request a room on the first floor, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here for four nights in October.

Good Points:
Great location, literally a 3-4 minute walk to the main square.
Close to the souks and shopping areas.
Spotlessly clean inside.
Well presented staff and helpful when required.
Calm welcoming atmosphere when in the Riad, and a very relaxing quiet stay away from all of the hustle and bustle.
In the evening time, beer, wine and champagne are on offer for sale in the Riad. Beer is 30D, wine about 140D and Champagne 500D approx I think. Cold and refreshing after a day haggling for goods!!
Breakfast good. Moroccan pancakes, bread, cheese, butter, marmalade, freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee. Breakfast can be taken downstairs around the pool, or on the roof. In both areas, the table is set for you and breakfast is served to you at your table. Nice touch!
If you are after a late check out, ask the staff if this is possible, as when we stayed, they let us check out late and charged us nothing extra. Very helpful and very much appreciated!

Bad Points:
None really - the only thing that might put some travellers off is, the Riad is located on a quiet alley off of a main busy street. This may alarm some especially if arriving by night or late evening as we did. However, it did not seem threatening in any way, so do not be put off by this!

Some advice:
When arriving at the airport, taxis outside charge about 150D to get to the main square. I think they charge a little more at night. Take one of those, and they will drop you near the main square. You can walk yourself if you wish with your bags, of kindly ask a 'barrow man' to carry your things for you. He will charge about 25D for his troubles. He will also lead you directly to the door of the Riad.

In the airport when you arrive, there are money changers. Good rates to be had by all in my opinion. There are also money changers in central Marrakesh. The Riad doesn't offer money exchange to my knowledge.

Overall experience:
I would highly recommend staying here at this Riad. Myself and my girlfriend really liked the place and would definitely stay here again if we were to return to Marrakesh. We paid in the region of 75 euros per night and for that money, we were more than satisfied!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad les Hibiscus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad les Hibiscus

Address: Derb Sidi Ben Aissa No17 | Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #432 of 1,093 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad les Hibiscus 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only a stone's throw away from the picturesque markets of Marrakesh and the famous Jemaa El Fna Square ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad les Hibiscus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Hibiscus Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad les Hibiscus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.