We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pathetic” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Ali

Chez Ali
La Palmeraie de Marrakech | Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco
(212) 5 24307730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 90 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Dinner Theaters
Attraction Details
City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pathetic”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Nothing special to say about the food. You can't eat in peace because of those screaming ladies running and moving all around the place. It could have been funny and interesting (learning about ethnies, etc.) but it was not, just screaming ladies in colorful clothes.

The final show was just comical, featuring some lone lady cycling her 3 dance moves for 10 minutes, horsemen firing their rifles in the air, people wandering around... all of this with the "Back to the Future" OST as musical accompaniment ! The funniest part was when a horse kicked out his rider and ran around for 5 minutes before they finally caught him.

You better go to the circus if you want to laugh !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    69
    70
    63
    95
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Do not go....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was terrible ...do not waste your money....The show was full of people dressed up who did not want to be there ..they looked miserable ...as soon as we arrived a man on a horse insisted I had my photo taken with him and them put his hand out and said 'money..money'...I realised then what we were in for. The show was dark, terrible and long and mainly consisted of people dressed up walking from one end to the other. We got cold watching it and just sat on cold concrete slab steps. The meal was OK...but we had wrongly assumed that tea was included ..silly us...and drinks were quite expensive..wine £15 a bottle...The whole thing was an expensive waste of time.....do something more Morrocan...do not waste your money on this pathetic..expensive farce....

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaddon
2 reviews
“Marrakesh night out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Yes it's very touristy, but it is a good night out, the food is passable but it is an entertaining evening, the supplied taxi driver was courteous and informative so overall no complaints

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An ok show”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I seen a few of these shows before. It certainly wasn't the worst but then again it wasn't one of the best. The food was ok, nothing to write home about. The show would have been a lot better if I could have seen more of it. The actual arena the show was held was too dark, should have had more lighting. A little overpriced too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Stinker of a show.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I think every culture and every country has one of these shows. The premise is to give you a flavour of the local food, song and tradition.

If the show is well done, you hate yourself for enjoying it. Chez Ali's Fantasia is not well done.

Stay away if you can. If you are on a tour, try and get your money back and cancel. If you are stuck... do your best to stomach the food and get through the night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Ali also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.