We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing more than noise and nonsense” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Ali

Chez Ali
La Palmeraie de Marrakech | Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco
(212) 5 24307730
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nothing more than noise and nonsense”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Foolishly i ignored the previous reviews hoping to make my own mind up about this place as the people who helped us plan our time on this trip were so enthusiastic and adamnt that we should book this trip, that we reluctantly agreed. It was our last night and after having experience the incredible richness of history and culture all week, i was expecting something of a similar standard. Boy was i dissappointed!! It is so over the top in its decour and theatrics i was out off from the moment i stepped foot in the place. When we sat down to eat we were constatantly hounded by the performers plying the loud musical instruments right in our ears and being forced to get up and dance only to be asked for money afterwards. It all got a bit tiresome. Having experience really traditional Moroccan food all week, i was extremely dissappointed with the rubbish we were served. It was bland, tasteless and service was very slow. It was over priced and definitely not value for money. The only redeeming factor was the horse riders in the show at the end but the other acts were a joke. The belly dancer was rubbish and so was the rest of the performance, which has absolutely nothing to do with Morocco, in fact i didnt actually understand what it was about. There was no flow, just random acts after random acts. If you are looking for a taste of Morocco, this is not the place for you but if you like noise and nonsense then i highly recommend this.

Visited August 2013
1 Thank Immy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

On arrival you are given the opportunity to have photos taken with all sorts of "cast" members including the horses..
Remember that if you take up the offer of photos you are expected to tip so take coins!!

After the brief cast encounter in the car park, you then meet more cast, and an "aladdins cave" of sorts ;) it's all quite cheesy but a good laugh if you go with it.

After the "cave" you make your way past all of the performers making a LOT of noise before you're seated with a group of up to 8 people to share a Moroccan feast. Whilst you dine on 6 relatively good courses you also have the sensory overload of performers and belly dancers arriving every 5 mins which makes conversation at the table "interesting"!!

As in other reviews, water is NOT provided and you are expected to pay for it. Careful with ordering drinks and ESPECIALLY with your change... Work it out from the drinks card and pay exactly to avoid "problems"... If you speak French that helps massively here!

After the dinner, you site outside and watch a relatively chaotic and poorly lit show with all sorts of horses, gun salutes, horse tricks, a donkey (!), belly dancer, and a fireworks display of sorts (although the amount of fireworks you'll see depends on how many people show up!!)

It's an interesting and crazy evening which goes on quite late but when you're finished you do wonder what just hit you!! ;) enjoy!

Visited September 2013
2 Thank ianedmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
184 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Chez Ali is a good experience if you're willing to go with the flow. While it's obvious that the tickets are sold to tourists as overpriced and promising, be prepared to lower your standards before you come here. The food is absolutely average and so is the entertainment which appears exciting at first but gets old really quick. It's also a bit annoying that everyone keeps asking for tips despite you having paid such a price. The major disappointment is probably the show in the end as it is a very poor attempt at a Disney performance or something like Arabian Nights. However, it is too dark to fully appreciate everything and the show appears to have no plot with everyone doing random things under the motto "the more, the merrier." Nevertheless Chez Ali is not as horrible as some say. The location is great for pictures and for trying to see a bit more culture. Just think twice before spending your money on this.

Visited September 2013
Thank ReyVas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good food, Great show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

It's a sensory overload as soon as you walk in. Much to see, music to listen to but let's deal with the task at hand: dinner. The food was lovely, especially the mechoui. I was surprised to find a chicken under the couscous, but unfortunately it was dry.
The show looked like a lot of fun. From the tricks the riders performed on the horses to the belly dancer to the constant firing of rifles to the fireworks finale.
Definitely recommend this as the perfect end to a wonderful evening in Marrakesh!

Visited August 2013
Thank l337sp34kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good show... Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The show itself was nice and the horses where stunning as where the tricks the men performed on the horse - at no time hurting the horse in any way. However myself and my friend where seated on a table with a family who spoke no English and showed no interest in speaking to each other either which was a bit awkward and to make things even worse the food is served family style so you all have to tuck into one big plate which can be awkward with people you don't know. As with most excursions drinks are not included in the price and this is used to increase the price of the drinks. The food was merely average however the soup starter was quiet nice. Nice show if your travelling with children.

Visited August 2013
Thank NinaZaalishvili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Ali also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Chez Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing