We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Ali

Chez Ali
La Palmeraie de Marrakech | Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco
(212) 5 24307730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #396 of 540 Activities in Marrakech
Type: Dinner Theaters, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Kent
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The welcome made me feel valued, very grand. Show atmosphere was good and food was good. Just bad that we weren't even given water! We had to buy water and other drinks.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    89
    83
    70
    106
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

After four months of traveling I can honestly say this was the worst experience of our entire trip! Here's what happens...you sit at a table and musicians come around and play music. They go from table to table in your area and people get up and dance with them. It is extremely loud and gets old after about 2 minutes. The food being served is disgusting (we made the big mistake of using our flashlight to see what we were eating--there were intestines or something similarly revolting under the rack of lamb). The finale of the evening is a show in the arena in which horses run back and forth. This finale wasn't going to take place for another 90 minutes or so, and we couldn't take anymore of the heinous loud music. So we left. A huge waste of time and money. Why oh why didn't I read the reviews on trip advisor before going :(

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Distressed animals at overpriced ripoff.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We paid just over £40 to visit Chez Ali through our travel agent but it is no way worth this. We ordered a special lamb dish (at extra cost) which was greasy, disgusting and more bone than meat. We were then left for over 45 minutes watching as other diners eat their main course and then start on desert before we had to remind our waiter that we were waiting - very poor service. Due to the long wait we had for food, we had to eat our main and desert very quickly in order to catch the main show, although we really shouldn't have bothered...

Three stunt riders were the only thing of interest in this show and their horses looked well cared for and happy enough. The same cannot be said for the horses that were used for the rifle charge. The poor things looked absolutely terrified, their eyes rolling and foam dripping from their mouths. Whilst I've seen animal shows abroad before and accept that different cultures have different sensibilities in regards to animal treatment, the repeated use of the 'rifle charge' served to not only stress the horses but also show how little variety and initiative featured in this show. A very poor experience all-in-all. Don't bother.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fun night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was a much better evening than some of the reviews would suggest. There was plenty of food and a great atmosphere. Nobody asked us for a tip. The arena show was every entertaining and was enjoyed by everyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

I actually went to this in 2011. It's in the middle of nowhere, the coach has to drive to every hotel for pick ups on the way there & back. The animals look dirty & neglected, they are hit and treated horribly. The food is awful, presented in the most gross way I have ever seen. We couldn't even eat. Everyone on our table was gobsmacked. The "entertainment" during dinner was awkward, with the men & woman randomly dancing and screeching, poking me at points and trying to get tips off people. Even thinking about the experience now makes me cringe, makes me angry, and turns my stomach!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Ali also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.