We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Ali

Chez Ali
La Palmeraie de Marrakech | Route de Casablanca, Marrakech, Morocco
(212) 5 24307730
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #74 of 88 Attractions in Marrakech
Type: Dinner Theaters
Attraction Details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't bother!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

When we first arrived I thought I was in either Disneyland or Las Vegas, but done badly. This is for tourists and as a tourist I would say don't waste your money.
Because we didn't tip the dancers (they weren't worth it!) they just passed our table on their way out of our 'tent'.
The food was OK but the next day quite a few of us had upsets stomachs - some worse than others.
We had no idea what the show was all about - just horses and people walking/running about and shooting guns. The lighting on the show was so awful you couldn't even see what was going on. I usually upload photos but as it was so dark I didn't take any.
Spend your money elsewhere - a trip to the Atlas Mountains was much, much more interesting!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    71
    72
    65
    98
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

When we first arrived, we were surprised at the size of the place, like a little town with dozens of tour buses, vans and private cars. Upon arrival you are greeted with a line-up of manned horses.
Then a man-made cave and upon entering, numerous tribes playing music and chanting.
Up to this point we were quite entertained. Then our driver took us to the dining area under a tent. The server was having an "off Day" as he seem to be angry when we requested to be moved closer to the front, luckily another waiter came and quickly assisted us.
The food: Nothing special, little taste, no salads, very mass production style.
The Show: so bad we were almost laughing! We waited forever for them to start and when they did it was so amateur that we did everything in our power not to get up and leave, hoping for the GOOD part! It never came. Just a belly dancer and a few men running and shooting guns on a horse! Tourist trap, disappointing!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Don't lose time ( and money) going there!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a tourist trap. A lot of busses ( more than 40 ) with a decor looking like an amateur bad version of disneyland...Dancers (a lot) with no explication from what region they are from or type of dance, making a lot of noise and asking for tips constantly...Food average, and a horse show consisting mainly of the same dances you saw while eating and beautiful horses running around very fast without again any explanations or real show...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amateur Performance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

On the advice of some "friends" that live in Morocco, the Fantasia Chez Ali show was recommended as something to go see with our 4 kids.
Our trip to Morocco would have been perfect had we not gone to see this overpriced amateur performance. There is very little explanation of what is going on and as a result we did not take away learning anything about Moroccan culture. The food was simply mediocre. It was the most expensive we ate in Morocco and quite easily the worst.
Our kids fell asleep during the show due to boredom. They were jolted awake every time they fired their rifles during the horse show. The lighting during the show was terrible, lighting up the wrong area of the arena, where nothing was going on and missing the action altogether. My wife and I had decided to walk out early, but the show finished as we were leaving so we didn't even get that satisfaction.
I can not recommend this show to anyone to go see. It was shocking poorly done.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Corny, but fun night out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This was unusual for Marrakech and we landed a pretty cheap deal from an independant guide rather from than the hotel which were expensive. We were greeted by guards on horseback in a beautiful, huge building in a remote area. Lots of people in various forms of dress upon greeting, a nice friendly vibe inside amongst the tourists, the servers here rarely spoke, had little eye contact and were not welcoming. The food was in an enormous servings, myself and my partner were travelling with our 6 year old son, we were lucky enough to tip a server into giving us one of the VIP tables. We had our own table and had Harrira soup to start, chicken and vegetable cous cous, an entire half of lamb (a carcass mind as there is not much meat on, it weren't leftovers, it was a whole half of a lamb - it must have been malnourished - I would have hated to see what condition it were in alive) and for desserts a huge platter of unprepared fruit - oranges mainly, but I think there was the occassional fig. If you don't like this waste, then perhaps this isn't for you. The alcoholic drinks were suprisingly cheap, approx 25 Dirham for a beer. The dinner isn't a quiet affair, you are seated and expect to remain so, dancers, singers, drummers, by the dozens circle your table, one group after the other - Literally! I think I stopped counting after about 20 They will hum, sing, shout, trample, drum and dance all over your food and then expect money. Don't expect to each much of the food because you can't eat when someone is humming in your ear and dancing on your plate. I am not asking for silence, just lessening the tribes perhaps and breaks between them.

The show itself involved sitting on concrete steps or in our case we just sat in the viewing dock - no one questioned us, well the show started, it was THOSE tribes again, yawn. They marched round this huge area the size of a football pitch. All chanting, tapping, screaming, humming, shaking and shouting their various dins that they did at dinner - There was really no need to roll these tribes out through dinner and again at the start of the show. Then in the distance somewhere in the dark in the light of a torch there was a little platform with a belly dancer on - it was like looking at a fly on a very big wall. If you went expecting belly dancers as advertised then here was your belly dancer - there were belly dancers at dinner but if you are a 15 year old boy beware these belly dancers are old tribal women fully clothed. LOL.

There was about 4 minutes worth of horse stunts and gun stunts, which were amazing, but it could have lasted longer.

Then those tribes marched on out again whilst the man with the white camel offers kids in the crowd rides around the arena on his white camel... For a fee of course. Whilst those tribes... Still marched on with all their noise...

I found it inappropriately hillarious. Don't rule out Fantasia because this is a real gem in the right company. Don't go expecting Arabian Nights, go expecting to see a Moroccan Tommy Coopers Disneyland. My 6 year old enjoyed it too and Marrakech has few things for little ones, so if you have your little ones in tow in Marrakech don't hesitate.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Ali also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Chez Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Ali, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.