We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hosts and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Masa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar El Masa
no 35 Derb jdid, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent hosts and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at this riad for four nights in December 2012 with our 7 and 9 year old kids. We really enjoyed our visit here and was able to relax. The riad was beautiful and clean. The hosts Jamal and Fatima were really very nice but not overwhelming. The value was great because they let our two kids stay in the same room without charging extra. Jamal went out twice to get us medicine at night and didn't even want to charge us. It is the small things that make you feel the good service and this was one of them. I would def. stay here again.

One suggestion- more variety for breakfast.

Thank you Jamal and Fatima. We miss you already!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
31
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Arranged to be collected in a moden 4WD that took us close to the riad where Jamal met us to guide the rest of the way.

Jamal looked after us throughout the trip.

The rooms are clean and nicely decorated.

Had a meal here and it was quite tasty.

They have a pool but too cold at that time of the year - the sun terrace was nice though.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peekskill, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

After a snowy 8 day trek through the High Atlas this was a welcoming place to warm up, shower and recouperate for the next portion of our 35 day trip. Expect friendly and knowledgeable service. You are only a brief walk from the main souk minutes from the Djemna el Fna close enough to every thing that you can duck back into your "base" have a cup of coffee, mint tea or what ever you fancy served cheerfully all day by the wonderful staff. Nice, well appointed rooms. Pre trek we were supposed to stay here but a nasty storm delayed our arrival and we were moved by Marc and Odile to an other place around the corner - also very nice - and felt well taken care of. That night we were invited for dinner with Marc and Odile and some of their friends and guests, Fatima cooked a delicious meal followed by Odile's dessert. A sparkler and some nice wine rounded out a perfect evening. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had arranged another Riad which was fully booked during my last night. So I moved to this Riad which was arranged by Laurent from Aguerzame.Riad Dar El Masa looks brandnew/freshly renovated, Abdullah is very helpful-THX.Nice rooms, good breakfast-always very kindly service.My 1. week in Marrakesh in 3 Riad's.Special experience.Will visit all Riad's again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encamp
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Marc and Odile made us feel as friends sharing their home. Abdallah, Fatima and Raja were helpful and attentive. The rooms are wonderful, the breakfast freshly prepared, the dinner (to order) delicious. This riad is a welcome haven in such a bustling city.

Room Tip: Kahwa or Douria would be my choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We found this Riad by Antoine through Riad Aguerzama, it has few rooms and great staff , they do all their best, always helpful with a smile. Thank you Jamal & Aziz for the great hospitality and also to our driver Aziz who brought us to the Berberian villages.

Rooms are cool & clean which is the most important points in Marrakesh, fresh juice and mint tea for the breakfast, centerraly located in the old city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I stayed here for 4 days togehter with my mother. From the first foot step in the riad to the last foot step out off the riad the service was heart warming and excellent. And we felt so welcome.

The (choclate ) room was a pleasure to sleep in . Big room, good bed ,nice bathroom ,very clean, quiet at night for a good rest. Breakfast is good typical morraccan.
The riad situation is only a few steps away from the Jamaa El Fna ,so this can not be better.

But the riad and his decorration is not the main factor, why I can highly recommand this riad . The hosting skills of Jamal and his staff are highly professional .
It was an honour to stay with them.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar El Masa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Masa

Address: no 35 Derb jdid, Marrakech, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riad Dar el Masa:- Very well located in the heart of Marrakech- Swimming pool- Traditional homemade Moroccan Cooking- Sunbath on roof top ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar El Masa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar El Masa to your Saves list