We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a good experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chennaoui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chennaoui to your Saves list
Riad Chennaoui
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marrakech | Marrakech, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #301 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Almost a good experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The pros:
- excellent location, near Jema el-Fnaa and other objectives, but in an area with a lot of riad hotels, which seemed safe and quieter
- it looks very nice, with an excellent courtyard and basic, but pretty rooms
- the owners were nice and helpful
- the rooftop terrace was not open in February, but it promised to be a wonderful place where to spend your evenings during warmer seasons
- it was decently clean
The cons:
- this sort of place is built to stay colder than outside, which is great during the hot season, but not so great during cooler months; they had an AC, unfortunately no remote control or other way to start it
- the boilers were unable to provide hot water (or lukewarm at least) for a larger group, that is something that they should really take care of
- the breakfast was not too great, the coffee was horrible, and same things every day
- it can be noisy, so beware if you're a light sleeper (though wonderfully crazy Marrakesh should cure that for you)

Since we were a very large group and the prices were negotiated for us by someone else, I can't really judge the price/quality ratio.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
4
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

THE HOSTS:
Mr Ahmed Chennaoui and his daughter Snaa are wonderful and great hosts. This Riad is very much family run and you will get to see and chat with all members of the family including Mr Chennaoui great children.

LOCATION:
Very tricky to find this Riad. You will need a good sense of direction. It is in the heart of an old part of Marrakesh. Jmaa El Fna is a good 15 minutes walk through a very narrow alley lined with many shops. If you are a first time visitor you will most certainly need a taxi from the airport to this Riad. Or better still contact for the Riad to arrange for airport transfer at 150 Dirhams (£12).
At the end of the alley where the Riad is situated, there is a car park, where you will find some taxis.
Around the corner from the Riad there is a small shop handy for day to day items.

THE RIAD / ROOMS:
There are a couple of single rooms, but the rest of other rooms are very much for multiple sleepers ideal for a group of friends. All rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. There are no TVs and the showers are shared. The reception and dining area are impressive with beautiful wall and floor tiles, a fountain and very comfortable colourful and exotic settees where you can sit down and watch TV. There is roof top terrace with few sun loungers and tables and chair. Ideal for watching sunset in the evenings. There is no bar or restaurants in the riad.

BREAKFAST:
Oranges, croissants, jag of coffees and milk. Not much variations, but there are many places for cheap eating in and around Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gradara, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Riad Chennaoui is located at only 7/8 minutes walking from the Djema el-Fna, the Marrakech's main square. The owners are very kind and polite, and every time we came back they offered us mint tea. The riad is lovely, clean, with majolicas, a fountain and beautiful doors. Price is honest. Recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were really happy with Riad Chennaoui and would highly recommend it if like us, you are on an middle-range budget. We were only going to stay for 2 nights but stayed for 5.

The manager and family that live there are warm and welcoming. We found the manager, Abdul to be extremely helpful, flexible and kind. I a city where it's difficult to trust strangers he was a treasure and went out of his way to make our stay the most comfortable and helped arrange our activities.

Most of the rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere is laid back. Don't expect entertainment, the Riad seemed very quiet but accommodation of the fun you bring.

Some of the rooms are stunning and for a very good price, it would be worth discussing this with the manager to see what's available. There is a great roof terrace (which was usually empty when we were there). The Riad wasn't the most clean and tidy but the space is still great.

Breakfast was good value value for money.

We highly recommend Riad Chennaoui! Great value for money!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are much quieter than 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Myself and my wife had planned to stay for 4 nights over the new year but left after our first night – something we have never had to do in many years of international travel. Our room, and indeed much of the hotel smelt of sewage (which can happen in city's with less developed infrastructure – what was unacceptable was the denial by staff that this was a problem), there was no working lock on the door to our room (again apparently not a problem!). When we gave our reasons for leaving we were forced to pay for a second night as staff would not release our luggage or let us leave until we did this.
Other than these immediate issues the hotel is hugely overpriced, has a run down, chilly and pretty grim atmosphere. A real shame as the building is a rather grand old riad which could have potential. One to avoid (even if desperate) as there are plenty of far, far better accommodation options in wonderful Marrakech.
We ended up in a far more convivial Riad which had friendly staff, a warm atmosphere, was better located and (incidently) cost almost half the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stopped off in Marrakech for four days, and, at the suggestion of a friend we met in Casablanca, we went to Riad Chennaoui. Amazing experience. The Riad had great wifi, a very comfortable room, a very cool air conditioner, and a beautiful courtyard. The Riad was in the middle of the medina, and only a quick walk away from all of the tourist stops. Abdul, the hotel worker, was very nice and accommodating. The price per night was very reasonable.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay in Marrakech, thanks - in no small part - to Riad Chennaoui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good located beautiful Riad in the Medina near Palais Bahia. Very friendly staff - especially Abdul.

And nobody try to sell anything ore wants to make any business ... ;-)

The rooms are simple, but nice and not so small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Chennaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chennaoui

Address: Marrakech | Marrakech, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chennaoui 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Chennaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chennaoui Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chennaoui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.