We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a beautiful Riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Chennaoui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Chennaoui to your Saves list
Riad Chennaoui
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Marrakech | Marrakech, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #344 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Gradara, Italy
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just a beautiful Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Riad Chennaoui is located at only 7/8 minutes walking from the Djema el-Fna, the Marrakech's main square. The owners are very kind and polite, and every time we came back they offered us mint tea. The riad is lovely, clean, with majolicas, a fountain and beautiful doors. Price is honest. Recommend!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
13
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were really happy with Riad Chennaoui and would highly recommend it if like us, you are on an middle-range budget. We were only going to stay for 2 nights but stayed for 5.

The manager and family that live there are warm and welcoming. We found the manager, Abdul to be extremely helpful, flexible and kind. I a city where it's difficult to trust strangers he was a treasure and went out of his way to make our stay the most comfortable and helped arrange our activities.

Most of the rooms are beautiful and the atmosphere is laid back. Don't expect entertainment, the Riad seemed very quiet but accommodation of the fun you bring.

Some of the rooms are stunning and for a very good price, it would be worth discussing this with the manager to see what's available. There is a great roof terrace (which was usually empty when we were there). The Riad wasn't the most clean and tidy but the space is still great.

Breakfast was good value value for money.

We highly recommend Riad Chennaoui! Great value for money!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are much quieter than 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Myself and my wife had planned to stay for 4 nights over the new year but left after our first night – something we have never had to do in many years of international travel. Our room, and indeed much of the hotel smelt of sewage (which can happen in city's with less developed infrastructure – what was unacceptable was the denial by staff that this was a problem), there was no working lock on the door to our room (again apparently not a problem!). When we gave our reasons for leaving we were forced to pay for a second night as staff would not release our luggage or let us leave until we did this.
Other than these immediate issues the hotel is hugely overpriced, has a run down, chilly and pretty grim atmosphere. A real shame as the building is a rather grand old riad which could have potential. One to avoid (even if desperate) as there are plenty of far, far better accommodation options in wonderful Marrakech.
We ended up in a far more convivial Riad which had friendly staff, a warm atmosphere, was better located and (incidently) cost almost half the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stopped off in Marrakech for four days, and, at the suggestion of a friend we met in Casablanca, we went to Riad Chennaoui. Amazing experience. The Riad had great wifi, a very comfortable room, a very cool air conditioner, and a beautiful courtyard. The Riad was in the middle of the medina, and only a quick walk away from all of the tourist stops. Abdul, the hotel worker, was very nice and accommodating. The price per night was very reasonable.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay in Marrakech, thanks - in no small part - to Riad Chennaoui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Deutschland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Good located beautiful Riad in the Medina near Palais Bahia. Very friendly staff - especially Abdul.

And nobody try to sell anything ore wants to make any business ... ;-)

The rooms are simple, but nice and not so small.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here in Sept 2011 as part of our honeymoon tour of morocco. We wanted somewhere to just freshen up and sleep. We spent all day and night out and about.

We got to pick what ever room we wanted. we choose the largest room upstairs, one kingsize bed, with Moroccan sedari/beds used for additional guests. The Shower was really nice and large, the sink was traditional. As for the toilet, moroccans are never any good with designing those things! Was a beautiful room. Air con worked.
One down side the very large beautiful wooden doors did not close properly and therefore you could not close it from the inside. There is a thick curtain, i was worried about privacy and more about belonging. However, we had no problems at all. There were only 3 other people down the hall. And our belongings were fine. No one came in!
Ironically the owners quarters are locked up with a HUGE lock and key with chains.lol

We found this place while walkign around the small narrow streets. There was a much nicer riad 3 houses away but was very expensive. This suited us fine. We didnt eat in as its much cheaper to eat outside.
its about 10min walk through the narrow streets to get to jama al fin'a. Which kicked off at around sunset. Before then its pretty quiet. They have lots of good shops, cheap things if your local or Moroccan. If your a tourist you will be ripped off i am afraid.

Its very difficult to visit the country without the language or prior knowladge of the area as people will see £ signs when they look at you.
Me and my husband came across two english girls who were lost, and looking for the Earth cafe, a worker at a resturant gave them wrong directions on purpose. When we interrupted as we were concerned what games he was playing. He was not too pleased as we obviously ruined his evil plans! We gave the girls the correct directions as earth cafe is near this Riad. So becareful if your female and traveling alone or without a male chaperone.

We got a good deal on the riad an room, my husband from the surrounding area so we were not taken any rubbish from the owners. so they gave us the actual price which we brought down. We paid £23 for the night, and had the largest room.

Would reccomend for families as the rooms can accomadate 7+
The roof terrace is beautiful we only went up to explore the morning we were leaving we had an hour to kill. there was no one up there, very quiet and over looking the city.
I would come here again due to location, price and room size. But also open to try another Riad.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms before settling with one. haggel on the price and try get breakfast thrown in wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We went there a couple of times when coming to Marrakech and it is a wonderful riad, not too far away from the centre of the medina. The terrace is great and spacious, with good views of the city. The inner courtyard is classic and beautiful, a very relaxed, chilled place to spend the evening after a busy day. Staff are welcoming and go out of their way to help you out. There is also wifi access and a widescreen telly if you need to catch up on some news. We booked a double for 250 MAD, which isn't bad for being Marrakech and would definitely come back again.

The only downside was the desert excursion the riad recommended, it is sourced to an outside company (Mami tour excursions) so none of their fault really, but the tour was a bit of a disappointment and lacking in many ways.

Otherwise, great place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#397 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#216 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#111 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#304 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#266 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 113 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#263 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Chennaoui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Chennaoui

Address: Marrakech | Marrakech, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Chennaoui 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Chennaoui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Chennaoui Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Chennaoui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.