We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab stay in friendly oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Guest & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Guest & Spa to your Saves list
Villa Guest & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Quartier Targa, Douar Sidi Daou | Propriete Koalal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab stay in friendly oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This is a very small but perfect oasis on the outskirts of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Myself and 3 friends wanted a cheap week away and Villa Guest provided this. If you want luxury then this isn't the place for you. It was very cheap but provided everything we needed. A base, a bed, a shower, pool, breakfast, food in the eve if required but most of all a getaway from it all. The Villa is about 10mins from the main square, you can use the Villa transport or get the local bus. A supermarket is just around the corner and there was a fridge in our room to keep drinks and snacks cold for when we wanted them. The gardens are beautiful and the staff really friendly and helpful. We had the place to ourselves for most of the trip. I am writing this whilst still here, sat on the veranda with a cool drink, using the free wifi whilst listening to the crickets. It is basic and yes it could do with a tidy up but there is certainly a charm to it. Having been into Marakech, we are all glad we've stayed on the outskirts, you can actually enjoy some peace and quiet here! Would thoroughly recommend just be aware you get what you pay for and keep the expectations in check. I am going to tell everyone I know about this little piece of Morroccan heaven..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tourtrol, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night (before flying back home). Beautiful gardens and swimming pool (kids jumped in half an hour after arriving). Decor and furnishings really nice. Rooms nice. We had a problem with air conditioning (blowing hot air - when it was 36 degrees). Staff very helpful and changed rooms for us, also arranged for us to have an early breakfast prior to our departure.
Supermarket 2 mins walk around the corner which was pretty well stocked with most things. Fruit and veg stall outside supermarket (5am-10pm daily). Great Pizza place 10 min walk from Villaguest.
We had already spent 4 days in the Medina so didn't feel the need to go into town. Just wanted to relax before heading home. Wished we could have stayed here longer and would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to escape the hustle and bustle of Marrakech life. Great for families with kids and also for large groups.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for a week in this hotel with 2 kids. The hotel is set just outside the old town in a quiet neighbourhood. The staff is very friendly and works around the clock to make you feel welcome and at home. The beds are really good and comfortable. The shower in our room wasn't so great, too hot and then all of a sudden the water went cold. The villa itself could use some maintanence too. A good paintjob and some minor repairs would make the stay even more pleasant.
The pool is very nice. There are free sunbeds but I found them a bit uncomfortable (due to chronic backpains). The garden is very nice and secluded. A pleasant place for reading if you need a little escape from the busy city.
If it is your first stay in Marrakech, do some reading about the culture and customs of the country. Marrakech is fastly becoming a modern metropole so you can find restaurants, shops and entertainment for every budget. Besides a few large aquaparks, there isn't a lot of childfriendly entertainment, but in our case our kids enjoyed themselves everyday with cats and their kittens, found on every corner :-)
There are no hammam or spa-facilities in the villa even though the owner advertises it! You could use those situated uproad but we decided not to so I can't tell anything about it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Villa Guest has pleasant gardens and a friendly welcome from which ever manager seems to be around at the time. January will find the B&B nearly empty. We changed rooms once as there is no ventilation for the bathrooms which are in the room you are sleeping in, causing a lot of damp atmosphere/smell. Given that it is January, the swimming pool is too cold to use, but nice to sit around for reading in the afternoon sun. There is no service for making tea or coffee anywhere in the room. The Hammam/ Spa is not working! This was such a shame as that was the one thing we were looking forward to using on a quiet evening. We used the public Hammam, which cost 12md = .90p which was great and my husband and I really enjoyed. Single sex, steam baths and a wonderful opportunity to meet some of the local ladies. Do not be put off by the scare stories of travelling on the local bus which is 4md into town. It is safe and you must be aware and confident. Day trips are very expensive. We took one as an opportunity for some photography. All it was was a driver on commission taking us to prearranged tourist traps for buying stuff. Very disappointing. The Best thing is to hire a car, 25- 40 Euro pd, buy a good map and be a relaxed and confident driver. The marrakech drivers seem reckless but they aren't, they drive at the speed limits set and overtake carts and smaller traffic, makes sense? Going where we wanted and when without anyone else trying to dictate to us for their own interest was fantastic. We stayed for a week so I became aware of a few issues: Unsafe electrics in shower area of room. Room no4 has a damaged lock and handle. Rubbish is burnt throughout the night and part of the day close to the villa, which gets into your rooms, clothes and lungs. Spa Not working. Evening meals offered overpriced. Night time in Jan cold so take extra woolies. NO SAFE in room. It states on website there is, but there is NOT. The picture of the Pool on the website is not the real one. The young men that work at the Villa on the reception are only allowed to call the deputy manager via a fax machine for anything that you might need help or advice with. This causes delays and misunderstandings. We had our expensive day trip delayed by 1.5 hours. If you decide to stay at the B&B, just use it as a base and be as independent as possible.

Room Tip: The room at the back overlooking the pool with a private veranda and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Pleasant gardens with lovely terrace outside Marrakech, this is a large Villa with 10 bedrooms. It is a cab ride to Marrakech but you can use the hotel's cab service ( which is sensible given that everyone seems to get lost in Marrakech so you cant assume a cab driver will know where they are going and it is at least a 10 mins drive). Breakfast basic. Beds clean but hard mattresses. Everyone charming and keen to make you welcome. We had a problem with the smell of sewage from en suite on our first night but they changed our room and it was fine. My Children very relaxed here with pool and away from hectic hustle of the centre of Marrakech. Lots of birds to watch! Staff very helpful.

Room Tip: Lovely bedroom at back of house overlooking pool had own terrace which looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

To start with, I guess the important thing here is to recognise that this is not a hotel. It is in fact a B&B. However, unlike a normal B&B, you have your own ensuite in your room which includes, toilet, vanity basin and shower. The room is fully air-conditioned, which is a necessity.

One important tip. Part of the offering at Villaguest includes transfers from the airport. When we arrived there was no one there to collect us and we paid a premium for a taxi to take us to our accommodation. When I queried this with Villaguest, I was told that you MUST send a specific email to them to advise specific arrival time and date. At no point was this made clear when I made the booking. So make sure this is done and a smooth arrival will be ensured.

On arrival we were greeted with the best tasting Moroccan mint tea, while we filled out their check in form.
While there, we had the run of the house, which is a largish villa with 2 large lounge rooms on the ground floor taking up most of that level. There was only one other family there during our stay so we basically had the place to ourselves.
The large pool at the back of the property was crystal clear and a pleasure to use in the 40+ degree heat.
Rooms are refreshed every day and breakfast is included in the daily tariff. While breakfast is basic it is was very filling and we enjoyed it daily.
The 2 main staff members were extremely helpful, spoke English, and went out of their way to assist. No request was too much and it felt very personalised.
Going into Marrakesh, Medina, made me extremely gratefull to be staying out of that congested part of the city. One way transport into Marrakesh was the equivalent of 5 euros per trip, using Villaguest's own vehicle.
All in all, a great stay and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Villa Guest is a lovely guest house in a residential district called Targa. It’s a nice concept – a private villa in peaceful surroundings but close enough to the sights and main action when you want it.

There are only about 10 guest rooms in the villa so you feel part of a small ‘family’ with the services of a cook, private driver, cleaner etc.

We spent the first few days of our stay sightseeing in Marrakech so made good use of the villa’s driver Nordine. He chauffeured us around wherever we wanted to go, gave us insights into Marrakech and the local area.

Staff at the villa were very accommodating and most had a basic understanding of English. Even though we arrived early, our room was ready and waiting for us. We enjoyed a calming mint tea on arrival before a personal welcome, tips and local information from the manager.
Food at the villa is very nice and we say a huge thanks to Fatima the cook who seemed to work from dusk till dawn to serve all the guests. Breakfast was varied slightly each day and best served on the veranda overlooking the gardens (not a bad start to the day!).

We had lunch and dinner at the villa several times during our stay. We found the food very tasty and reasonably priced (mainly a Moroccan menu with the usual salads, tagines, couscous etc). Particularly recommend the chicken and lemon tagine which is one of the best we tasted during our stay in Marrakech. Do be aware that meals are prepared fresh to order so it can take 1.5-2hours to arrive. We found this to our peril on our first day but soon got the hang of things by day 2 (tip – order in advance and you’ll be fine).

As other reviewers have mentioned, alcohol is not served at the villa’s restaurant. But the driver is happy to take you to the supermarket in Guilez which has a good choice of alcohol so you can buy your own.

The villa’s chauffer service is very useful and we used it most days. Priced about 50 dirhams each time you go into the city. We found it a good service and very reassuring knowing you have a safe journey back to the villa after an evening out or day in the medina. It also saved the hassle of haggling taxi prices. The chauffer service was available every day during our stay but the last pick up from the city at night was around 8.30-9pm.

Onto the room – we stayed in a Senior Suite on the first floor. It was a comfortable triple room with en-suite shower, toilet and sink. Plenty of storage for our clothes in the wardrobes and towels were provided and changed daily. Beds were comfortable with extra pillows dispatched quickly on request.

If you book through ‘booking.com’ as we did, please note the room information on this site is rather exaggerated. For our senior suite it promised a private balcony (we got use of a shared one along the corridor); a mini bar (we had an empty fridge in the room which was useful but all drinks had to be ordered from reception), free toiletries (just a small bar of soap daily). There was also none of the promised free bath robes, a safety deposit box in the room, an iron or radio. We were able to get a hairdryer from reception after asking though. That said, these weren’t show stoppers and didn’t spoil our stay as we’re pretty easy going and they weren’t essential items. However you can’t help feeling a little short changed at not receiving things that have been advertised.

The free Wi-Fi for guests throughout the villa was a useful addition. There was even Wi-Fi reception at the swimming pool should you need!

The garden areas are well established and cared for and perfect for loosing yourself if a book or enjoying a lazy lunch. On cooler days, there is a large lounge area inside as well.

The large balcony on the first floor has two large seated areas overlooking the gardens. The downstairs verdanda is also a top choice for breakfast or lunch out of the hot Moroccan sunshine.

The pool area was nice and there were free sun loungers and umbrellas available.

Most staff had a basic understanding of English so we didn’t have any major problems. French and Arabic is also widely spoken.

Marrakech itself is an exciting and mesmerising city so make sure you take time to explore. Jemma Del Fna is about 15-20 mins drive from Villa Guest and we recommend you sample the changing atmospheres at day and night. For evening meals, we recommend Guilez (the new city) as it had a wide choice of places to eat, most serve alcohol, and it’s only a 10 min drive from Villa Guest. For a quick bite to eat within walking distance there is also a pizza takeaway and restaurant about 10 minute walk from the villa.

The owners seem to be marketing the place as a ‘luxury’ mansion with spa. As lovely as it was, I’d say this was a little exaggerated as we felt it was somewhere between a homely guest house and a 3 star hotel. And from what we could see, the spa was a man who was available for hammam and massage a couple of days a week. Don’t go expecting 5* luxury otherwise you will be disappointed. But if you want a relaxing base for a stay in Marrakesh it is ideal and we would definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Guest & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guest & Spa

Address: Quartier Targa, Douar Sidi Daou | Propriete Koalal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Guest & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Guest is a small luxury hotel located in a very quiet district only 10 minutes away from the city centre. With its traditional architecture, it is built amidst a large garden with a swimming pool. The villa is only composed of 9 rooms and suites, each one with its own character. They are all comfortable and equipped with shower, air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, safe and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Guest & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Guest Hotel Marrakech
Villa Guest And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Guest & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.