We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven in the madness of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Guest & Spa

Save Saved
You added Villa Guest & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Guest & Spa
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Quartier Targa, Douar Sidi Daou | Propriete Koalal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 179 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A little haven in the madness of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Villa Guest is a lovely guest house in a residential district called Targa. It’s a nice concept – a private villa in peaceful surroundings but close enough to the sights and main action when you want it.

There are only about 10 guest rooms in the villa so you feel part of a small ‘family’ with the services of a cook, private driver, cleaner etc.

We spent the first few days of our stay sightseeing in Marrakech so made good use of the villa’s driver Nordine. He chauffeured us around wherever we wanted to go, gave us insights into Marrakech and the local area.

Staff at the villa were very accommodating and most had a basic understanding of English. Even though we arrived early, our room was ready and waiting for us. We enjoyed a calming mint tea on arrival before a personal welcome, tips and local information from the manager.
Food at the villa is very nice and we say a huge thanks to Fatima the cook who seemed to work from dusk till dawn to serve all the guests. Breakfast was varied slightly each day and best served on the veranda overlooking the gardens (not a bad start to the day!).

We had lunch and dinner at the villa several times during our stay. We found the food very tasty and reasonably priced (mainly a Moroccan menu with the usual salads, tagines, couscous etc). Particularly recommend the chicken and lemon tagine which is one of the best we tasted during our stay in Marrakech. Do be aware that meals are prepared fresh to order so it can take 1.5-2hours to arrive. We found this to our peril on our first day but soon got the hang of things by day 2 (tip – order in advance and you’ll be fine).

As other reviewers have mentioned, alcohol is not served at the villa’s restaurant. But the driver is happy to take you to the supermarket in Guilez which has a good choice of alcohol so you can buy your own.

The villa’s chauffer service is very useful and we used it most days. Priced about 50 dirhams each time you go into the city. We found it a good service and very reassuring knowing you have a safe journey back to the villa after an evening out or day in the medina. It also saved the hassle of haggling taxi prices. The chauffer service was available every day during our stay but the last pick up from the city at night was around 8.30-9pm.

Onto the room – we stayed in a Senior Suite on the first floor. It was a comfortable triple room with en-suite shower, toilet and sink. Plenty of storage for our clothes in the wardrobes and towels were provided and changed daily. Beds were comfortable with extra pillows dispatched quickly on request.

If you book through ‘booking.com’ as we did, please note the room information on this site is rather exaggerated. For our senior suite it promised a private balcony (we got use of a shared one along the corridor); a mini bar (we had an empty fridge in the room which was useful but all drinks had to be ordered from reception), free toiletries (just a small bar of soap daily). There was also none of the promised free bath robes, a safety deposit box in the room, an iron or radio. We were able to get a hairdryer from reception after asking though. That said, these weren’t show stoppers and didn’t spoil our stay as we’re pretty easy going and they weren’t essential items. However you can’t help feeling a little short changed at not receiving things that have been advertised.

The free Wi-Fi for guests throughout the villa was a useful addition. There was even Wi-Fi reception at the swimming pool should you need!

The garden areas are well established and cared for and perfect for loosing yourself if a book or enjoying a lazy lunch. On cooler days, there is a large lounge area inside as well.

The large balcony on the first floor has two large seated areas overlooking the gardens. The downstairs verdanda is also a top choice for breakfast or lunch out of the hot Moroccan sunshine.

The pool area was nice and there were free sun loungers and umbrellas available.

Most staff had a basic understanding of English so we didn’t have any major problems. French and Arabic is also widely spoken.

Marrakech itself is an exciting and mesmerising city so make sure you take time to explore. Jemma Del Fna is about 15-20 mins drive from Villa Guest and we recommend you sample the changing atmospheres at day and night. For evening meals, we recommend Guilez (the new city) as it had a wide choice of places to eat, most serve alcohol, and it’s only a 10 min drive from Villa Guest. For a quick bite to eat within walking distance there is also a pizza takeaway and restaurant about 10 minute walk from the villa.

The owners seem to be marketing the place as a ‘luxury’ mansion with spa. As lovely as it was, I’d say this was a little exaggerated as we felt it was somewhere between a homely guest house and a 3 star hotel. And from what we could see, the spa was a man who was available for hammam and massage a couple of days a week. Don’t go expecting 5* luxury otherwise you will be disappointed. But if you want a relaxing base for a stay in Marrakesh it is ideal and we would definitely book again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
16
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solbergelva, Buskerud, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

First of all a big Thank you to MR Rakini,MR Nordine and Fatima for exellent service.
The room was maybe average and needs a little upgrade but the staff made this tripp a great succes for us.
A special thanks to Fatima who helped us a lot regarding foods and special orders.

If you want a quiet place with marrocan style rooms I would realy recommend this villa.
Just ask MR Rakini if you need any information or trip advise around Marracesh.

Thank you from Tvingsholm, Norway

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen Lancs
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

They dont come any nicer than this lovely guest house, Absolutly beautifull, Excellent gardens lovelly pool, great rooms ideal peacefull location,
We hardly left in our three days here , as the weather in january was perfect to sunbathe
again the only problem with this area is no alcohol on site, but the mini cab driver will pick it up from the supermarket for you. not much around here , a small supermarkt just 100yrds along the road, and i managed to find a great pizza place about 15mins walk away,
the staff are fantastic, couldnt do enough for us, we had a couple of meals in the hotel, that was ok, breakfast was good,
had a run into the centre both nights, the hotel charges you £4 to go , its about 15 mins drive, you need a taxi back around £8 ,
Ahmed the owner speaks good english aswell as the cab driver, but only heard french spoken everywere else

Room Tip: they all look great but i noticed a cracker at the back overlooking the pool it had a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here with my daughter in March for a relaxing holiday with sun. The accomadation is set in a quiet district about 10 mins outside of Marrakesh. The accomadation was basic, however very traditional morrocan with low lighting and outside verrandas. The pool was clean and quiet, so if your looking for some sun and relaxing, this place is ideal.

We used the hotel car to take us into Marrakesh and found this to be reasonable priced and as 2 women on our own, we felt safe.

The breakfast was slim in choice, however always tasty with good coffee.

Unfortuately, could not say the same about the restaurant and only ate thier once. Cafe de la poste, in new town Marrakesh is worth a visit. Food always good and alcohol served.

Just a note to say that Morroco is a dry country and therfore no alcohol served in 95% of places including the hotel. However, thier is a supermarket 5 mins away, which you can purchase alcohol to drink in hotel. The hotel driver knows where this is.

Would like to mention, that the staff here where fantastic from the girls in the kitchen and the boys who clean the pool to the hotel manager. There where always eager to help, even if they sometimes did not understand a word we where saying. Nordine gets a special mention, as he was our chauffer, bag carrier, etc etc and really looked after us. I had real problems with my phone in Morroco and the staff helped me out and even let me borrow thier phone. Great customer service.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

We (two adults and one 17-year old) stayed here for five nights to get away from Northern Europe's February. As we had arranged beforehand by email to have the hotel collect us at the airport, it was a welcome site to see my name being held on a sheet of paper after we had come through customs..
The hotel is about 8 km away from the centre of Marrakech which has it's advantages and drawbacks. The advantage is that you are away from all the noise and smells of the centre. However, it does mean that it is more difficult to nip back to the hotel with purchases. The hotel will drive you into the centre (or elsewhere) for about the same price as the local taxis whithout having to haggle.
The hotel itself is set in it's own gardens with a high wall and, although it could do with a coat of paint, is very nice. In addition to the owner and physio who are present for a few hours a day, there are three or four staff who are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel also has a pool area with sunloungers at the rear and tables, chairs and sunshades to sit at in the front garden.
The room was a bit on the small side but, as we were not planning to stay in it for long periods of time, that is not really a problem. My wife and stepson found the beds hard but we all managed to sleep OK.
There are a small supermarket and a pharmacy about 100m away if you require them. It does help if you can speak a bit of French.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pershore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

we have stayed in hotels all over the world but this must be the strangest arrived in the morning and left in the afternoon (need i say more!!!!!) rooms were very dark and unusual
might suit backpackers

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

This place was amazing! I cannot begin to describe how wonderful not only the people were, but their hotel as well. This hotel used to be a mansion that a couple of men bought and turned in order to make a business. They are very into their job and take it very seriously. They wait on their guests hand and foot and make sure that you have everything you need. I truly felt like a princess when I was there. Their breakfast is outstanding and the hotel itself is clean and beautiful! I would hands down recommend this place to anyone who wants a nice, locale, decently-priced hotel in Marrakesh. It's a little out of the way, but either the driver can take you into town, or they will personally call you a taxi! I love, love, loved this hotel!

  • Liked — How friednly the staff was!
  • Disliked — Simply that it was far from town
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Guest & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Guest & Spa

Address: Quartier Targa, Douar Sidi Daou | Propriete Koalal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 179 Specialty lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Guest & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Guest is a small luxury hotel located in a very quiet district only 10 minutes away from the city centre. With its traditional architecture, it is built amidst a large garden with a swimming pool. The villa is only composed of 9 rooms and suites, each one with its own character. They are all comfortable and equipped with shower, air-conditioning, satellite TV, mini-bar, safe and direct dial telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Villa Guest & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Guest And Spa
Villa Guest Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Guest & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.