We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Tranquil Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Sofia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Sofia to your Saves list
Riad Sofia
179, Derb Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Near Dar El Bacha Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Beautiful and Tranquil Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I had a lovely three-night stay at the Riad Sofia. We arrived via taxi at night, which was a bit intimidating. Without a map it was impossible to find, unless you have explicit directions. Locals will swarm you asking if you need them to take you to where you're staying, which will require payment. We gave someone 10 dirham (1 euro) to show us and once we arrived everything was lovely. The decor is authentic, really intricate and beautiful; the terrace was peaceful and sunny, and the breakfast was delicious. The staff were incredibly kind and helpful, and the location was great (walking distance to the hustle and bustle, but enough outside it to relax). We would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
16
34
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend and I have just returned from a fabulous few days in Marrakech staying at Riad Sofia. The Riad is in a great location, all the attractions and the square are walkable, and there are some great restaurants nearby. The Riad itself is a tranquil escape from the hustle and bustle of Marrkech, the rooftop terrace is gorgeous and we slept amazingly! Can't recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: First floor where we stayed seemed the best as the ground floor terrace in the middle is where break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went with my boyfriend for a 4 night stay and we had a lovely stay. The riad is very beautiful and in a great location - less than 15 minutes from the main square. The rooms are large and comfortable, the ensuites are really lovely and the pool is good (unheated, but in 32C+ weather, it was welcome). The staff are friendly, though difficult to find at times and we struggled to get hold of them to get things done. On the first day we had ordered breakfast earlier than normal, at 7am (as we were insured online was possible) but it never came and our driver tried to call and they never answered. We had to get breakfast on the way which was annoying. Otherwise very helpful, we were able to pay before we left as we left early in the morning and pay in both dirham and euro which was handy to use up our dirhams.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are most private
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

I am quite impressed with the riad. The patio and resting areas are absolutely stunning. The rooms are very clean and very nicely decorated. The only downside is the access to the riad, through a quite dark and "skeetchy" street, but anyways is Marraketch, and we did not have any problem whatsoever, so for me, once you get used to the street and how to get there (a bit tricky), everything is allright. You would not expect such a beautiful place there for sure!

The stuff is very nice and the breakfast is perfect! I would highly recommend this riad, the price is good, and it is like an oasis in the middle of the chaos of the citiy, very calm and quiet. The only downside for me is that the bathroom did not have toiletries included, but that is a minor detail for me.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

Raid sofia is simply lovely, wonderful breakfast on the roof terrace, great place near to centre, wonderful staff. The Riad is just outside the medina so perfectly located for a quiet nights sleep. each room decorated with individual style. It is also great value. I've stayed here twice and can highly recommend it. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

My mother and I returned from Riad Sofia a few days ago.
I can say the instantly friendly manner greeting us was one of comfort and warmth. Instantly we felt welcomed and regarded as friends/family. The staff made it quite clear we were home from home, and offered a service to meet our needs. Very helpful information and sound advice regarding places of interest and main landmarks/attractions to visit were given, which broadened our experience and confidence in relation to exploring further.

The raid is decorated throughout to a lovely, visually pleasing standards. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, clean, and traditional. The courtyard an oasis for peaceful dining, socialising and wining (providing your own alcoholic beverages-if you like a glass or two) . Socialising with Omar and integrating with other guests is of importance to the ambiance that he creates (not for everybody) however we intermittently spent short intervals (inbetween the coming and going) sharing experiences and socialising and what a lovely way to feel at ease/home during your stay.

Hot beverages are on offer at your request. Breakfast is of good standard, served in the courtyard, lunch and early evening meals are also freshly served on request, although after late there is no dining or drinks choice (its a matter of eating out/purchasing own) on an occasion on request I was guided to a local food establishment so I could eat out and take back to the Riad.
The roof terrace a terrain for soaking up the peaceful climate, such a lovely outdoor space, I can imagine a gem for soaking up those rays in soaring heats and bathing until your hearts content.

Nothing is too much bother. The manager Omar and assistant Akeem aka Jimmy Hendrix were very accommodating. The two ladies that provided food services and much more (although not English speaking) often greeted and provided us with whatever else requested in the absence of Omar/Jimmy.

We would not hesitate in returning to the place we can call Morroccan home from home.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellagio, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2014

I stayed at Riad Sofia from the 25th November 2014, for three nights with my three friends and we all really enjoyed our stay! The Riad is very clean and confortable, wi-fi works perfectly, breakfast is gourgeous and for italian people to say that, in a country outside Italy, it is very unusual! But the most perfect thing is the staff, everyone is attentive to the guests' requests, very polite and professional. Thanks for the wonderful stay! We will be back!! Marina, Anna, Annamaria and Roberta.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Sofia

Address: 179, Derb Arset Aouzal | Bab Doukkala Near Dar El Bacha Medina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Sofia invites you to discover the Moroccan way of life in a traditional setting with all modern comforts recently installed. The architecture and decor are elegant and restrained. There is a, swimming pool a Berber tent on the roof terrace and a Moroccan hammam and massage. The Riad comprises 7 air-conditioned rooms, each one with a sitting area and a bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Sofia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Sofia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.