We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khalil is a "Guide Extraordinaire!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marhbabikoum

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marhbabikoum
Save Saved
You added Marhbabikoum to your Saves list
43 Derb l'habib el magni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
1 review
“Khalil is a "Guide Extraordinaire!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to spend two weeks in Morocco recently, and were introduced to Khalil by the folks at the Berbere Palace in Ouarzazate to guide us through Southern Morocco. We had researched the area thoroughly, and hoped to cram a great deal of exploring into 6 days. Khalil was a superb guide, organizer, motivator, historian, narrator, anticipator and he excelled at covering as much ground as we had hoped. The trip was even more than memorable. We highly recommend Khalil for anyone who wants to experience "authentic Morocco." Paul

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were a small group (10) of friends who stayed and toured Marrakech and then went to the Sahara for 5 days with Khalil as our guide. He was really fabulous, showing us everything we had asked him to see, and more! His English and French are perfect, his world perspective is sophisticated and he had a great sense of humor. We organized the whole tour with Khalil before we arrived and we found him most responsive to emails, planned everything with us so when we arrived in Marrakech, everything was totally organized. Besides Khalil, he had two outstanding drivers for our Sahara tour, both of whom spoke excellent English and were most accommodating as well.
As a world traveler, I feel that I can safely say that Khalil is tops in his field and will ensure that your trip is as good as ours had been!

Room Tip: Speak with Veronique or Khalil, they will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

This riad is simply excellent! We highly enjoyed our stay at Marhbabikoum, a very clean and cute riad, which is furnished and decorated with love. We also slept extraordinarily well. The riad is both very calm and peaceful, and situated close to the place Jamaa el Fna, the souks and the main historic buildings in midst of the Medina. During cold days, you can sit in the couches next to the cheminée, and on hotter days you can enjoy the sun on the terrace on the roof. Don't miss out on the optional home-cooked meal, it's delicious, as is the breakfast! "Marhbabikoum", which means "welcome", is really the feeling you get being at the riad. The owners Khalil and Véronique are at once very friendly and discrete, and Mohamed, who has recently started looking after the riad, has a natural feel for being a wonderful host. A big thank you all for having made our stay so enjoyable - we are already looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

For the first time I went to Marrakech and I was guest in ryad Marhbabikoum. After a very short time it felt like my second home. The atmosphere is very open and friendly and helpful.
It's easy to walk to all the interesting places= souks, Bahia Palace, el Fna squaire and yuo can feel the Marrocan way of living and working. The owners Khalil and Veronique and the manager Yassin are very nice people and they have a very good cook. I can recommand it.

Lies2210

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Marhbabikoum. It was a short walk from the Main Plaza where all the activity and the souks are, but in the riad it was cool and quiet. Yessine the owner is friendly and hospitable. He made us a fresh breakfast every morning at whatever hour we came downstairs and was cheerful, conversational, and good with tourists. We felt very at home; there was a lounge with WiFi and couches and the upstairs terrace is beautiful. It's a great escape from the chaos of the city but well connected at the same time. I give my thanks and high recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a group of 5 we were offered a choice of rooms which met our needs perfectly. As a first visit to Marrakesh, Veronique, Khalil and Yassine gave us excellent advice on places to visit, where to find a drink and restaurant recommendations. Yassine not only made Hammam appointments but escorted us in 2 groups to Hammam Mille & une Nuit. Khalil recommended and made accommodation booking for us in Fes which saved us time to enjoy our stay. We spent 3 nights there and 1 of our group who arrived with a bad stomach problem was taken care of by all at the Riad. The Riad is a lovely quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle of the Souks. Definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Apart from the peaceful house itself many of the potential stresses of Marrakech are removed at this riad. From pick up at airport or train station, all our questions were answered and good recommendations of restaurants, hamam and places to go were given. I have no hesitation in recommending the place and the people who run it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marhbabikoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhbabikoum

Address: 43 Derb l'habib el magni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marhbabikoum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.