We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khalil is a "Guide Extraordinaire!"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marhbabikoum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Marhbabikoum to your Saves list
Marhbabikoum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Derb l'habib el magni, Marrakech 40400, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Khalil is a "Guide Extraordinaire!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate to spend two weeks in Morocco recently, and were introduced to Khalil by the folks at the Berbere Palace in Ouarzazate to guide us through Southern Morocco. We had researched the area thoroughly, and hoped to cram a great deal of exploring into 6 days. Khalil was a superb guide, organizer, motivator, historian, narrator, anticipator and he excelled at covering as much ground as we had hoped. The trip was even more than memorable. We highly recommend Khalil for anyone who wants to experience "authentic Morocco." Paul

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amys60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were a small group (10) of friends who stayed and toured Marrakech and then went to the Sahara for 5 days with Khalil as our guide. He was really fabulous, showing us everything we had asked him to see, and more! His English and French are perfect, his world perspective is sophisticated and he had a great sense of humor. We organized the whole tour with Khalil before we arrived and we found him most responsive to emails, planned everything with us so when we arrived in Marrakech, everything was totally organized. Besides Khalil, he had two outstanding drivers for our Sahara tour, both of whom spoke excellent English and were most accommodating as well.
As a world traveler, I feel that I can safely say that Khalil is tops in his field and will ensure that your trip is as good as ours had been!

Room Tip: Speak with Veronique or Khalil, they will advise you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hbso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This riad is simply excellent! We highly enjoyed our stay at Marhbabikoum, a very clean and cute riad, which is furnished and decorated with love. We also slept extraordinarily well. The riad is both very calm and peaceful, and situated close to the place Jamaa el Fna, the souks and the main historic buildings in midst of the Medina. During cold days, you can sit in the couches next to the cheminée, and on hotter days you can enjoy the sun on the terrace on the roof. Don't miss out on the optional home-cooked meal, it's delicious, as is the breakfast! "Marhbabikoum", which means "welcome", is really the feeling you get being at the riad. The owners Khalil and Véronique are at once very friendly and discrete, and Mohamed, who has recently started looking after the riad, has a natural feel for being a wonderful host. A big thank you all for having made our stay so enjoyable - we are already looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank brigolily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schagen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

For the first time I went to Marrakech and I was guest in ryad Marhbabikoum. After a very short time it felt like my second home. The atmosphere is very open and friendly and helpful.
It's easy to walk to all the interesting places= souks, Bahia Palace, el Fna squaire and yuo can feel the Marrocan way of living and working. The owners Khalil and Veronique and the manager Yassin are very nice people and they have a very good cook. I can recommand it.

Lies2210

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tijmen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Marhbabikoum. It was a short walk from the Main Plaza where all the activity and the souks are, but in the riad it was cool and quiet. Yessine the owner is friendly and hospitable. He made us a fresh breakfast every morning at whatever hour we came downstairs and was cheerful, conversational, and good with tourists. We felt very at home; there was a lounge with WiFi and couches and the upstairs terrace is beautiful. It's a great escape from the chaos of the city but well connected at the same time. I give my thanks and high recommendation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuengirola, Spain
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

As a group of 5 we were offered a choice of rooms which met our needs perfectly. As a first visit to Marrakesh, Veronique, Khalil and Yassine gave us excellent advice on places to visit, where to find a drink and restaurant recommendations. Yassine not only made Hammam appointments but escorted us in 2 groups to Hammam Mille & une Nuit. Khalil recommended and made accommodation booking for us in Fes which saved us time to enjoy our stay. We spent 3 nights there and 1 of our group who arrived with a bad stomach problem was taken care of by all at the Riad. The Riad is a lovely quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle of the Souks. Definitely recommend the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Apart from the peaceful house itself many of the potential stresses of Marrakech are removed at this riad. From pick up at airport or train station, all our questions were answered and good recommendations of restaurants, hamam and places to go were given. I have no hesitation in recommending the place and the people who run it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisrfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#25 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#124 of 490 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marhbabikoum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marhbabikoum

Address: 43 Derb l'habib el magni, Marrakech 40400, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Marhbabikoum 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Marhbabikoum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing