We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad and fantastic service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Opale

Save Saved
You added Riad Opale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Opale
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56, derb lahri berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #678 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad and fantastic service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Just come back from 5 nights at the Riad Opale I went with my mother and after reading tripadvisor I was a bit worried by the reviews!

I should not have been the Riad is beautiful! Has an amazing pool and fantastic roof terrace. The rooms had tv with English channels(do not know why people would want them when Marrakech is on your doorstep!!) The riad in some places is a bit rustic but for us that was part of the charm of staying in a riad in Marrakech!! Breakfast was yogurts lots of different types of bread and jams. We went on a cooking course and actually found out these breads/pancakes are what morrocans eat for breakfast.

Finally the service from all the staff was amazing nothing was too much!! Very helpful. A special shout out goes to abdou and Redwahn for making our stay even more special! (Left abdou a tip just hope he received it!!)

If you want a European hotel that could be in any world city with an English fry for breakfast do not choose this hotel. If you want Moroccan charm with great hospitality (inc mint tea on arrival:) choose riad opale!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
10
33
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This Riad is a little out of the way, right on the edge of the medina, average 20 minutes walk to the centre. The rooms are small, even the suites . The place is a little worn around the edges considering the price. Very cold in January when we went as the only heating in the whole place is the air conditioning units in the rooms. The terrace is nice but all the covers need a bit of a clean. Wifi and room safes all a bit hit and miss. 'Indoor heated' pool wasn't and probably never is so was impossible to use. There is no heating in any of the communal spaces, i.e breakfast and dinner area, so we had to put on our thermals to eat! Food was good but expensive compared to some of the restaurants. Stayed for a week and on the Friday before our departure on the Sunday we were asked to pay our final bill in cash, as the credit card machine was 'broken' and could not be fixed before Monday!! We tried to get the cash, which was a lot of money, but were unable to do so and our cards were skimmed in a cash machine somewhere - beware!! After a lot of hassle which included a 2nd tour of cash machines on Sunday morning with the under manager on the back of his moped we returned to the hotel to find surprisingly that the credit card machine was now working as there was no alternative to us paying!!!! This spoiled the last few days of our stay as we were worried about paying and went to a lot of trouble and inconvenience to find the cash which was clearly not necessary in the first place. The owner of the Riad is a Frenchman who lives in France and we have our suspicions that this could be some kind of deception against the owner.

Room Tip: If you stay do not choose one of the small rooms as you cannot swing a cat in them. The largest sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay for 1 night to experience staying in a riad. Had none of the things we had been advertised - no wifi, indoor heated pool not heated, no English speaking channels on tv except GOD channel & Bloomberg, and no dinner available (has to be ordered at breakfast in advance). We had our 3yr old son with us and had to return to our main hotel so we could all eat. Don't go as only useful as a place to sleep but much cheaper and friendlier places available closer to the main square than this. A complete rip off - we were charged the full 99 euros even though we didn't stay overnight, use any of the facilities or have breakfast

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hmmmmm. Not sure. The Riad is away from the noise and bustle of Marrakech and is an oasis of calm, but the rooms are dark, not very comfortably furnished, the bed was hard and there is just a curtain between the bedroom and bathroom. They were clean and serviced every day. The WiFi never worked and the TV only had a negative picture and only one English speaking channel out of hundreds. The Managere couldn't care less about things not working. Breakfasts were adequate, if rather samey. We didn't sample the in-house dinner. As other reviewers have said,m the main square is a 20 minute walk away, but there are good restauants serving wine and beer closer than that. Be warned: the manager will try to get 44 Dhms per person per night out of you for taxes just as you are leaving. This is fine if you are an independant traveller, but if you have gone with a company ie Thompsons etc check that you don't need to pay these. We were stopped frrom leaving the Riad until we had paid the tax as we couldn't get hold of our Rep and now we have the hassle of claiming it back. We saw it happen to other couples, so it is a regular occurrance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Riad Opale on a recent visit to Marrakech and agree with other reviewers, staff good, rooms nice, ok location wise (if a little far from centre 20mins (yeah do it twice a day both ways)). However I dont get the "must see" Marrakech thing. ok its as different as your gonna get this close to europe but once youve seen the square the mosque the markets its all a bit samey! I had wanted to see Morroco for many years and was excited at the oppourtunity but I have to say I was a little dissapointed. I would recommend staying at a resort style hotel on the outskirts of the city and should you want a more traditional feel check in to a riad for an overnight, this way you get all the holiday comforts away from the city and youve also done the "must stay in a Riad" thing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 7 nights at Riad Opale in August. First of all the building and decor are beautiful. There is a lovely little pool (perfect for cooling off) and a roof terrace complete with a covered area and sunbeds (unfortunately they were quite stained).

The room we stayed in (Saphir Suite) was nice. The bed was huge and the furniture was beautiful and very traditional. You are only provided with one very flat pillow each, but there are cushions if, like me, you like to sleep with more. There is a TV and DVD player in the room, but it is impossible to get any UK channels, also, the WiFi is very patchy unless you are on the roof.

Our main problem was that there are NO LOCKS on the bedroom doors! On our third day my brand new Galaxy S3 was stolen from our room whilst we were in the swimming pool along with 400 dirhams (approx 40E). We reported it to the manager, but there was no apology whatsoever and only a comment about how it could not possible have been one of the members of staff as they are not authorised to enter bedrooms. The safe in the room was not working.

All other members of staff were lovely and the evening meal we had was delicious. Unfortunately breakfast is the same every day and is just a selection of breads and jam. The maid only cleaned our room twice and most days just handed us a loo roll.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Warm welcome and a clean room. Nice retreat to come back to away from the hussel bustle. Graduate couple age 23.

Pros:
Almost empty, relaxing, traditional, sun deck, safe, lovely bathrooms and decor.

Cons:
Dark rooms, no lock, poor recommendations from staff for over priced restaurants and bars...

Romantic rating: 8/10
Party rating: 3/10
Location rating: 5/10

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Opale

Address: 56, derb lahri berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #678 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Opale 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream, an infinity charm and prestige. Located in the heart of Marrakech, fascinating imperial city red and ochre, Riad Opal is close to the Royal Palace and the famous place metalworkers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Riad Opale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Opale Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Opale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.