We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Opale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Opale to your Saves list
Riad Opale
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   56, derb lahri berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #766 of 1,148 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Have just got back from 3 nights at Riad Opale. There was two families, 7 people in total, had 3 rooms so it was nearly all for us. Staff excellent, couldn't do enough for us. Breakfast simple but sufficient for our needs, kids didn't complain so always a good sign. Had dinner in house one night and it was beautiful. Vegetarians to cater for they did a great job. Rooms always clean, showers interesting once you realized you need 10mins to heat the water. Place very charming and just what we wanted having spent a week in Agadir. Definately need someone to take you there because I doubt you would find it yourself. Pool a little too cold but probably the time of year, kids still went in. Overall would recommend for just a couple of nights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooz1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Just got back from a week at the Riad Opale. The location is great just 15 to 29 mins from the main square and lies just inside the Medina. The staff are very good apart from the night man who should not be in the business. The rooms are kept clean and tidy and the staff are as honest as the day is long. We went out one day and left the safe ( which is free ) wide open with two iPads, passports, credit cards and about a thousand pounds in cash. Nothing was touched and the maid wagged her finger at us in the morning for leaving it open.

Marrakesh is a mad house with one million inhabitants. 95% of whom ride scooters, so the air pollution is terrible, enough to make you feel nauseous. There is always a hand in your face asking for money but as the average wage is so low who can blame them.

I can recommend the Kosy Bar for food but like most of the restaurants in Marrakesh very expensive. We had three courses, the food was excellent, with wine, which is also very expensive. With tip the meal came to just over £90.00. I,m glad we took plenty of money.

If I can knock this Riad it is for the paltry breakfast which in my opinion is served to late.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TerenceSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

This Riad is excellent for relaxation. We visited in early Jan when the daytime temperatures were a lovely 18-20 degrees making the rooftop terrace a superb place to sit with a book. The rooms, whilst a little dark, are comfortable though be aware that there is no "heating" to talk of and if you leave the a/c on in the winter, it will leave the room feeling damp. Staff are excellent and friendly. Close to amenities (20 min walk to main square with plenty of small eateries on route for a change of scenery). It is easy to find with no narrow streets to navigate. Just around the corner from the Royal Palace (which is always closed according to the locals!!). Great place, highly recommend a stay in this Riad.

Room Tip: There are only 7 rooms, all bar one are classed as junior suites. You can't really get it wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aylesburypilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed for four nights in February, I loved Marrakech and especially this riad. A friendly oasis of calm and tranquility, perfect in the hustle bustle of the city. It was easy to find and only a short walk to the Place de Ferblantiers (Cozybar, and some shops) from which you could take three ways to the main square. The pool was to cold to swim in in winter but i can imagine it is just the thing in summer, when a cool off is needed. The roof terrace is peaceful and the day beds are very comfy. The staff were all friendly and helpful, having only seven rooms means that they're not to busy to stop and chat. The room was very comfortable, the showers were hot but did have to run for a few minutes to get going. The hotel was not busy when we were there but the other guests were very pleasant.

We had an excellent time here i would go back and I would recommend others stay here too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerryGarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bovey tracey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

just come back from a short break at thisRiad,highly recommended,real attention to detail

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I will start my review by saying that I have been to Marrakech 7 times and stayed in both riads in the medina and large resort hotels in the new area outside the medina. The good things about this riad are: very easy to find as it's not down any narrow alleyways which if it's your first visit then this will probably be a good thing! Yes the big square is about 20 mins walk, but that's fine - one of the best things about Marrakech is walking around and experiencing new things. The roof terrace is large and has plenty of beds and a lovely huge berber tent to chill out. The riad itself is lovely and the pool is one of the largest I have ever seen in a riad. Our room was lovely too - yes there is only one window but I actually thought that our room was well lit with lamps and light so did not find it dark. However this is how riads are built - you do not have lots of natural light. Breakfast was typical for a riad, however not the best I have experienced, but it was ample - pastries, bread, jams, yoghurt, orange juice and coffee. We had lunch one day in the riad which was lovely. Rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels. Although the staff were helpful if you asked a question, they could have been more attentive - when we were up on the roof terrace we had to keep going down to get a drink - no-one came up to us. At night they could have made more of the riad - lit candles and lanterns around the pool area. At night we found the riad to be very quiet - the night watchman was very quiet. It was the birds at 5am that woke you up - but you get that with most riads as they are open air!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mjools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I booked this for a surprise for my 30th birthday, i arrange Transfers with Laila which on arrival there was a taxi waiting for us that took us straight to out hotel. We arrived at the hotel which was down a small road ( didnt look like a hotel at all from outside) we were greeting with tea. when then got took to our room which was nice.

Breakfast: was the same everyday, we didnt have dinner there, if you do require dinner you have to order in the morning after breakfast.

My partner and i was going into town and wanted a drink before heading out - wer were waiting around for 20 minute with noone about to ask for a drink - this happened alot not many staff around it was like help yourself....

Location: out the way about 15 - 20 minutes from town.

There is a pool which is inside with a open roof top - i recommend sunbathing there after 11 as it gets very hot on the roof top
Would not return..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeahSEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
4.2 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#351 of 491 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#260 of 491 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 491 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,489 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Kenzi Farah
Hotel Kenzi Farah
#327 of 491 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Opale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Opale

Address: 56, derb lahri berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #766 of 1,148 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Opale 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream, an infinity charm and prestige. Located in the heart of Marrakech, fascinating imperial city red and ochre, Riad Opal is close to the Royal Palace and the famous place metalworkers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Opale Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing