We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful time in Riad Bel Haj.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bel Haj

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Bel Haj to your Saves list
Riad Bel Haj
60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #353 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Rijswijk
1 review
“We had a wonderful time in Riad Bel Haj.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

The location of the riad is excellent and the rooms are great. The used lots of nice materials and objects for decoration. The personal touch of the peope is heartwarming.
We are looking forward to book this or one of the other two riads in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We had such a lovely time staying in this riad, the staff are very welcoming and helpful.
Nice roof terrace and a plunge pool, useful in the peak of summer.
The riad is owned by a very friendly english man who has three riads in total in the city, all of which we recommend. You can find them on Pure Riads website.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We in fact only came to this riad for dinner, as we were staying in Dar Hanane and Riad Tzarra, it's sister riads. But we just loved this perfect trio of riads and wanted to recommend Riad Bel Haj. The dinner we ate on the terrace at this riad was really great with a delicious selection of Morroccan salads to start and a splendid chicken tagine for the main. The view of the Koutoubia lit up at night was truly beautiful. This riad is smaller and cosier than the other two and we would recommend it perhaps for visitors to Marrakech who are on a slightly tighter budget or who are partciluarly interested in the souks. This riad is as close to the souks as you could wish to be so is ver convenient to get to, right in the middle of all the excitement! If you are planning a visit to Marrakech then really do check out these three riads, we highly recommend them!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

A truely lovely riad, the first we had stayed in but all we could have wanted. Situated 5 minute walk from the old city everything was within easy reach of the riad, we walked everywhere. We were extremely well looked after by the staff and had a fabulous traditional meal on the evening we arrived probably the best meal we expereinced during our trip. Marrekesh is well worth a visit a fasinating place of such huge contrasts - modern day life mixed with ancient ways.
All the travel arrangements worked well including the pick up from the airport arranged by the riad.
We got lost in the souks but then everyone does but as they say in the guide books you will find your way home, don't worry you will!
The riad is a peaceful and tranquil haven away from the crazy world outside on the pavement. Beautiful accommodation and furnishing with a lovely roof terracce to sit and enjoy your breakfast and sit under the stars in the evening. The riad has a small bar stocked with wine and beer which is left to guests to record what they drink and pay for when they leave. A must see is the Yves St Laurent gardens they were beautiful not to be missed. All in all a fantastic short break location well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

This was a great location and we were looked after exceptionally well. Food was wonderful and so were the staff. Would definitely stay here again if we return to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

Whilst staying at Riad Tzarra we were taken one evening to dine at Riad Bel Haj. It was a delight, sitting on the terrace on the roof drinking our aperitifs and celebrating my husbands 80th birthday. The dinner that followed was delicious and wines well selected. The staff could not have been more attentive and welcoming. A lovely evening.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

As always the the slightly expensive limo transfer was essential to find the riad for the first time. However, location couldn't be better, right next to Bab Laksour (tell that to the taxi), a stone's throw from the Djemma El Fna and Koutoubia Mosque.

The riad was small, but extremely cosy. If you like your riads huge, covered in mosaics and wood carving, this is not for you. What Bel Haj offers is a sparkling clean, simple and homely space, almost entirely done in tadelakt in the rooms. Rather Zen-like in its simplicity.

We were upgraded FOC to the bigger Rabat room, which was extremely comfortable and well-lit. Lots of pillows and a comfy bed. Bathroom was great, with the exception of bathwater taking forever to drain from the tub even with just a shower -- a major discomfort which the management should look into.

It is nothing short of amazing that the staff can keep an open-air riad in dusty Marrakech so clean and neat. Standards of cleanliness were stratospheric in both the bedrooms and the shared areas.

Style of service seems to be less in-your-face (comparing with Riad Tizwa in Fes), which we liked. Hanane was always helpful but never intrusive, and very quiet (possibly due to our inability to comunicate in French). Imane the manager was very pleasant, even calling to check on us even though we didn't manage to meet her on the first 2 days.

We would highly recomend this riad. Well-priced, convenient, and extremely clean and comfy. I'm surprised it isn't ranked higher on Tripadvisor. Thanks for an unforgettable stay.

Tips for Marrakech: Don't miss Al Fassia restaurant -- it was the best Morrocan food we ate in the country (and we do eat well). Also great ice creams at Oliveri (near Al Fassia, need a map), and Ice Legend in the Djemma El Fna.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Alamir
Riad Alamir
#124 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#8 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 667 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#32 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#174 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Bel Haj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bel Haj

Address: 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Medina, Riad Bel Haj is situated in the Ksour district, only 5 min walk from Jemaa el Fna square, the Koutoubia mosque and the Souks. Ksour is one of the most required districts of Marrakech for its peace, in spite of the closeness of Jemaa El Fna square. Riad Bel Haj offers an oasis of calm and serenity, rhythmic by the remote calls to the prayer of Koutoubia and birds song. The riad, recently renovated with taste and respect of the Moroccan traditions, offers nevertheless to the visitors a modern and comfortable place to remain in Marrakech. Magnificiently decorated and brightened up with artistic achievements and authentic Moroccan materials, the riad also has modern equipment such as reversible air conditioning, free WiFi access The riad is located in the middle of a quiet and well lightened derb and very easy to find, in Bab Ksour, very closed from restaurants and stores of Gueliz, Marrakech modern district. The nearest access for vehicles is 50 meters far from the Riad Bel Haj door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Bel Haj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bel Haj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.