We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect riad experience - deserves to be ranked higher” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bel Haj

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Bel Haj
Save
You added Riad Bel Haj to your Saves list
60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #303 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Near perfect riad experience - deserves to be ranked higher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

As always the the slightly expensive limo transfer was essential to find the riad for the first time. However, location couldn't be better, right next to Bab Laksour (tell that to the taxi), a stone's throw from the Djemma El Fna and Koutoubia Mosque.

The riad was small, but extremely cosy. If you like your riads huge, covered in mosaics and wood carving, this is not for you. What Bel Haj offers is a sparkling clean, simple and homely space, almost entirely done in tadelakt in the rooms. Rather Zen-like in its simplicity.

We were upgraded FOC to the bigger Rabat room, which was extremely comfortable and well-lit. Lots of pillows and a comfy bed. Bathroom was great, with the exception of bathwater taking forever to drain from the tub even with just a shower -- a major discomfort which the management should look into.

It is nothing short of amazing that the staff can keep an open-air riad in dusty Marrakech so clean and neat. Standards of cleanliness were stratospheric in both the bedrooms and the shared areas.

Style of service seems to be less in-your-face (comparing with Riad Tizwa in Fes), which we liked. Hanane was always helpful but never intrusive, and very quiet (possibly due to our inability to comunicate in French). Imane the manager was very pleasant, even calling to check on us even though we didn't manage to meet her on the first 2 days.

We would highly recomend this riad. Well-priced, convenient, and extremely clean and comfy. I'm surprised it isn't ranked higher on Tripadvisor. Thanks for an unforgettable stay.

Tips for Marrakech: Don't miss Al Fassia restaurant -- it was the best Morrocan food we ate in the country (and we do eat well). Also great ice creams at Oliveri (near Al Fassia, need a map), and Ice Legend in the Djemma El Fna.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo/Krakow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

We've been staying in a lovey old-fashioned style riad in the centre of Marakesh that we enjoyed very much. The place takes you "back in time" with its oriental interior (a large court as well as rooms) and a beautiful view over the minaret at the terrace where we enjoyed maroccan cuisine. The welcoming staff is always there for you,inviting for a very fresh mint tea.The ladies are also prima cooks!The owner is very helpfull with any questions about the city and transport.It feeels also safe at nights as security man is there all night.The riad is situated in the centre at the same in a quiet little gate off the main road.A wonderful experience!
smallsen

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Just returned from a couple of nights in this delightful riad located right on the edge of the souk and slap bang next door to the famous square. We loved the place - the riad is beautifully decorated and has a very inviting splash pool for cooling off - it was very hot during our stay - so this was very welcome. Breakasts and dinners on the roof terrace were sumptuous and not to be missed - as well as a cool glass of wine and the view of the mountains and sunset. Exceptional hotel with great staff - we will certainly recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

In Marrakesh location is key and this Riad Bel Haj was perfect.
Arriving was a breeze, with easy access from outside the medina, it's only 25 metre walk from a street (with car access). Once you're settled into the riad, it's an 8min walk from Djemaa el Fna (main square), 10min into the heart of the souks and 15min to Ben Youssef. (These times are at a strolling pace, there just too much happening to walk fast).
Service was great: We had a nice welcome, given very detailed overview of culture, medina, historic sites, bars, restaurants, etc.
Riad was beautiful, with a casual style, nothing over the top, very welcoming.
We stayed in the Meknes room, on the middle level, it had good space, nice bathroom and comfortable bed. The rooms cleaned daily, to a high standard.
Food was good standard. Breakfast on the roof top was a great way to start the day.

Overall, location was great, raid was great, rooms clean, food was good, service with a smile and the price is very reasonable. We'd definately stay here again and have already recommended to friends, enjoy.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm_UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Just returned from staying at three Riad's in different locations in Morocco and this was by far the best. We stayed in the room on the roof and most of the time had the roof terrace (which is beautiful) to ourselves. The staff team could not do enough to help and would bring mint tea whenever we returned from an outing with no extra charge. We had dinner one night and as it is currently cold on an evening they lit a fire in the doorstairs lounge. The food was great better than we had in some restaurants and the service brilliant. The approach to the Riad is down an alley which is run down and at first unsettling but we had no problems and felt quite safe. We would stay here again if we were to return, Immane (apologies if this is not spelt correctly) the manager booked our transfer for us at a rate of 15 Euro's and the driver was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

We have just returned from a four night stay at Riad Bel Haj in Marakech and would highly recommend this charming riad. Marrakech is a very confusing place but this riad is very easy to find and close to the souks and the main square. The staff were so kind and hospitable and Iman was a perfect hostess. She gave us a wonderful introduction to Marrakech and was always there to book restaurants or give us advice. We had a superb dinner on the riad's roof terrace one night which was probably the best meal we had in Marrakech. The decor is simple but very tasteful and the place was spotlessly clean. Riad Bel Haj is a real gem and we loved coming back to our peaceful riad after a busy day of shopping and sightseeing. Marrakech is a fabulous experience but you need a bit of sanity in the middle of all the madness so Riad Bel Haj was ideal for us.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the hague
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2009

haaaai, We mina and willem stayed for a week in bel haj,and had a quiet time there near the fna square and katoubia , imane booked a trip for us to the oukaimden atlas and in the evening we returned for an excellent meal made by the staff of the riad, amust is to eat here and dont hesitate to ask imane anyting,greatings inshalla!!

  • Liked — great place near the fna and the guiliz and hilvernage and taxi,s
  • Disliked — that everything was good haha
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bel Haj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bel Haj

Address: 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cool, calm riad situated only moments from the bustle and excitement of the Place Jemaa el Fna, Riad Bel Haj is a haven of peace and tranquility in the Medina of Marrakech. The riad has been lovingly renovated and beautifully decorated to create a contemporary yet comfortable home for visitors to Marrakech. Traditional Moroccan materials and craftsmanship have been used to great effect and there are all the modern refinements guests would expect such as air conditioning, free WiFi Internet access and iPod docking stations. The riad is perfectly located in a well lit and easy to find derb, close to Bab Ksour and only two minutes from the Place Jemaa el Fna or the entrance to the souks. The nearest vehicular access is 50 metres from the front door and Riad Bel Haj is also close to the shops and restaurants of modern day Marrakech in the Gueliz district. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bel Haj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.