We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bel Haj

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Bel Haj
Save Saved
You added Riad Bel Haj to your Saves list
60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 1,057 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Riad Bel Haj was stunning. We were greeted by friendly staff who took care of us throughout our stay. We ate here and Riad Adore, which I have to say were the best meals of the holiday. We were completely spoilt! Absolutley stunning riads, I can't recommend enough!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a stunning place to visit. Such fantastic and attentive staff, forever smiling.
We arrived in the evening and found the villa to be so beautiful. We had dinner in the courtyard and could not believe how much food we managed to consume. The staff were so helpful and great to be around. The terrace overlooked so much of the city and was a fantastic place to have a glass of wine and unwind from a hectic day in the souks.

I would recommend this villa to everyone and anyone - it was absolutely fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were recommended this riad by a friend and it was perfect. Beautifully decorated and friendly staff. Delicious food and perfect location. Couldn't fault it except the pool is tiny. If I visit Marrakech again I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Yet another very enjoyable stay. The staff are still fantastic and caring. Will visit again. We also visited the beautiful Riad Adore and had most of our meals there as we were with a party of 44 people from London.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor where there are two rooms. Ours was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Having spent the last week in lovely Riad Bel Haj, I can highly recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in a perfectly positioned, charming riad in Marrakech, with the most attentive and caring staff you could wish for. You are steps away from the Souk and the Square, making it the perfect place to stay to explore this fascinating city. The friendly staff could not do enough to make our stay as comfortable as possible, and the rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished. On the roof terrace you can sunbathe or watch the sun go down while enjoying a glass of delicious chilled Moroccan rose, or have a dip in the pool in the pretty courtyard below. Despite being so central, the riad is quiet and peaceful - a little haven of tranquility to return to after the hustle and bustle of the Souk. I look forward to returning, and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at both Riad Bel Haj and Riad Adore, two of Stuart's 5 riads in Marrakech, from 17-30 April 2013. What a find! These are two 4 and 5 roomed riads that are sumptuously and tastefully decorated, yet still cosy and with a great family atmosphere. The staff are truly amazing and they will help with anything that you need. One of the riad ladies took me to the local barber, sat there while I got my beard trimmed then escorted me back to the riad. The night guard called me on my mobile one night, when I stayed out later than planned, just to make sure I was safe.

The riads are located in the middle of the old city and very accessible to the markets. You will of course get lost in the narrow streets at first but that's all part of the fun! Excellent breakfast served on the terrace or the courtyard and beautifully cooked dinners available at night if required. I would definitely recommend staying at these riads.

Room Tip: In the Riad Bel Haj the room with the best Wi-Fi reception is directly above the living room area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I had a lovely lunch at this lovely riad in the heart of Marrakech's teaming medina. Couscous is a traditional Friday lunch for Moroccans. I must admit that while I have had couscous in the past it is not a favourite dish and certainly not one I would have ever thought to order. But when in Morocco...

Imagine my surprise and delight to discover a delicious meal. The dish was served with an assortment of slow cooked vegetables, and a crisp bread with which to scoop up the meal. The veggies were tender but far from over cooked and the dish was so plentiful I could not finish it. The meal concluded with orange slices sprinkled with cinnamon. Light, healthy and flavourful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bel Haj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bel Haj

Address: 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #221 of 1,057 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cool, calm riad situated only moments from the bustle and excitement of the Place Jemaa el Fna, Riad Bel Haj is a haven of peace and tranquility in the Medina of Marrakech. The riad has been lovingly renovated and beautifully decorated to create a contemporary yet comfortable home for visitors to Marrakech. Traditional Moroccan materials and craftsmanship have been used to great effect and there are all the modern refinements guests would expect such as air conditioning, free WiFi Internet access and iPod docking stations. The riad is perfectly located in a well lit and easy to find derb, close to Bab Ksour and only two minutes from the Place Jemaa el Fna or the entrance to the souks. The nearest vehicular access is 50 metres from the front door and Riad Bel Haj is also close to the shops and restaurants of modern day Marrakech in the Gueliz district. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bel Haj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.