We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bel Haj

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Bel Haj
Save
You added Riad Bel Haj to your Saves list
60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #341 of 1,134 Marrakech B&B and Inns
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a fairly small Riad, just four rooms. Decor is tasteful, rooms are not huge but enough room for storage etc. There is a nice size plunge pool, and a nice upper terrace for relaxing.
The staff are fab and nothing is too much trouble. The Riad does offer dinner and while tasty is expensive compared to elsewhere.
Location really is five mins from the main square, also close to car access so not too far to carry luggage.
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 3 comfortable and enjoyable nights at Bel Haj. The staff were warm and welcoming. From the delicious home cooked roof top lunch upon arrival, to restaurant and tour guide bookings. Their attentiveness was much appreciated. ((They even helped out when our son was sick!)
The Riad location could not be beat. Close to the major sites, easy access to taxis, safe and comfortable to simply meander to and from. Our suites were comfortable, fresh and clean. The small size of the Riad made it feel like it was our own home away from home.
Mandy was immensely helpful. Providing local tips, engaging conversations, and a responsive last minute airport taxi booking. We would not have made our flight without her help.
We have already recommended your Pure Riad to friends back in Canada. Thx very much.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our second flood rooms. Particularly listening to the children playing in the lane late i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

An outstanding personal service enjoyed at Riad Bel Haj , Friendly attentive staff, who never found anything too much trouble. Luxurious furnishings, lashings of hot water, and great attention to detail throughout.

Room Tip: None of the rooms will disappoint -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azzouna, Owner at Riad Bel Haj, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Mark,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Riad Bel Haj. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are delighted that you had such a good time. Your kind words about our staff will be passed on to them and they will be delighted. We hope to see you again in Marrakech before too long.
Best Wishes, Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at another riad in the Pure Riads group but did come to visit this lovely riad which is located so close to the square and the souks - quite perfect. The owner, Stuart, invited us here for a drink before dinner on the roof terrace. It is a beautiful riad and we would not hesitate to recommend it . Thank you for a great evening !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azzouna, Owner at Riad Bel Haj, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Angela,
Thank you for your lovely review of Riad Bel Haj. It was a pleasure sharing a drink with you on the roof terrace and I do hope that, next time you come back to Marrakech, you will stay with us at Riad Bel Haj.
Best Wishes, Stuart, Owner - Pure Riads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed here with friends in April and had a wonderful time. Everything was perfect - from the superb locaton to the superb staff, the plunge pool and the rooms with excellent levels of comfort. Dined at a big dinner at Riad Adoreand had a hammam and massage at Riad Tzarra - both places owned by the same people. Also had a sublime driinks evening ion the roof terrace of Dar Hanane - possibly the best views of Marrakech. All in all, a great experience - huge thanks to Stuart and Mandy for organising such a great trip - we will be back !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azzouna, Owner at Riad Bel Haj, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review of Riad Bel Haj. We well remember your stay with us and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. The dinner party on the roof terrace of Riad Adore was memorable for us too. We are so glad that you managed to visit all our other riads and particularly happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of our hammam and massage experience at Riad Tzarra. We hope to be able to welcome you back to one of our riads again in the future.
Best Wishes, Stuart, Owner - Pure Riads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Riad Bel Haj is wonderful. The staff are v helpful and the situation of the riad is fantastic. It is a haven of tranquility in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We stayed there in July and would definitely come back here as a family or just as a couple. The breakfast on the roof terrace was a lovely way to start the day. We would then go out and look round Marrakech. Coming back to the riad in the day was lovely, as we could bathe in the plunge pool and sunbathe gently in the court yard.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azzouna, Owner at Riad Bel Haj, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
What a lovely review of Riad Bel Haj - thank you so much, it is much appreciated. It makes what we do here so much more rewarding when we get such positive comments from our guests. It also delights our staff to know that they are so well perceived. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to Marrakech again in the future.
Best Wishes, Stuart, Owner - Pure Riads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Lovely, relaxing. very good staff and in the heart of the old town. Very good food and also advice for shopping. thanks we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad Bel Haj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bel Haj

Address: 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 1,134 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located in the Medina, Riad Bel Haj is situated in the Ksour district, only 5 min walk from Jemaa el Fna square, the Koutoubia mosque and the Souks. Ksour is one of the most required districts of Marrakech for its peace, in spite of the closeness of Jemaa El Fna square. Riad Bel Haj offers an oasis of calm and serenity, rhythmic by the remote calls to the prayer of Koutoubia and birds song. The riad, recently renovated with taste and respect of the Moroccan traditions, offers nevertheless to the visitors a modern and comfortable place to remain in Marrakech. Magnificiently decorated and brightened up with artistic achievements and authentic Moroccan materials, the riad also has modern equipment such as reversible air conditioning, free WiFi access The riad is located in the middle of a quiet and well lightened derb and very easy to find, in Bab Ksour, very closed from restaurants and stores of Gueliz, Marrakech modern district. The nearest access for vehicles is 50 meters far from the Riad Bel Haj door. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bel Haj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.