We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel in the crown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bel Haj

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Bel Haj
60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | Ksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A jewel in the crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed at Riad Tzarra, owned by the same people, and came to Riad Bel Haj to check it out for our next visit to Marrakech. This place is a gem, located in the best part of town, close to the square but not too close and within easy reach of all the restaurants. Great view from the terrace - next time we come here, we will choose this riad for it's amazing location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Riad Bel Haj has a charming atmosphere, is very intimate and welcoming. The rooms are beautifully decorated with a lovely ambience. The location is ideal being just round the corner from the souks and lively restaurants making it very convenient. Breakfast on the roof terrace are served by the friendly attentive staff. I would look forward to going back to the riad at the end of the day with because of its wonderful homely feel. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed for one night on this property after having stayed for three nights at the Riad Adore which is also owned by the same family.

The location of the Riad Bel Haj is excellent - a one minute walk from the closest car drop off point (Bab Ksour) and a very close walk to Jemaa El Fna. The staff is very friendly and pleasant to deal with.

There were only two issues with the room.
a) The A/C unit wasn't cooling the room even though it was working full blast for a long time.
b) We weren't told that the shower drain had a cap that had to be lifted in order to function properly. As a result, the shower didn't drain properly.

Overall the excellent location and the great value for money made the Riad a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

This riad is perfectly located within the Bab Ksour neighbourhood of the Medina. Handy for the square and souks, but also within walking distance of the new town of Gueliz. A peaceful haven, with friendly attentive staff. Everything we needed for an week's stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Except you dont go through a wardrobe door, it has the same effect though...... This was our second visit and it retains all the charm and quality of our first visit.

An absolute must

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Superb riad just around the corner from the square (they call it the "place" in Marrakech). The riad is beautifully furnished - simple but very chill-out with the most comfortable beds ever. The staff - Meriam, Kadijah and Mohamed were wonderful and look after us so well, we were treated like royalty! Excellent breakfast in the courtyard next to the pool and unbelievably good dinner on the terrace (best meal we had in Marrakech). Also took advice when we booked to take the hammam massage at Riad Tzarra owned by the same people (30 Euros instead of 40 if you book before arrival - so well worth it) - great experience in another beautiful riad. We'll be back again one day !

Room Tip: Rabat room is the best and has a big bathtub in bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

We love this Riad - so friendly - we felt right at home from the word go. The staff are superb and everything was perfect. Great food on the terrace and lots of dips in the pool after the hot walks in the souks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Bel Haj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bel Haj

Address: 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | Ksour, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #160 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cool, calm riad situated only moments from the bustle and excitement of the Place Jemaa el Fna, Riad Bel Haj is a haven of peace and tranquility in the Medina of Marrakech. The riad has been lovingly renovated and beautifully decorated to create a contemporary yet comfortable home for visitors to Marrakech. Traditional Moroccan materials and craftsmanship have been used to great effect and there are all the modern refinements guests would expect such as air conditioning, free WiFi Internet access and iPod docking stations. The riad is perfectly located in a well lit and easy to find derb, close to Bab Ksour and only two minutes from the Place Jemaa el Fna or the entrance to the souks. The nearest vehicular access is 50 metres from the front door and Riad Bel Haj is also close to the shops and restaurants of modern day Marrakech in the Gueliz district. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bel Haj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Bel Haj to your Saves list