We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Narnia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Bel Haj

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Bel Haj
Save
You added Riad Bel Haj to your Saves list
60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 1,102 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A piece of Narnia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Except you dont go through a wardrobe door, it has the same effect though...... This was our second visit and it retains all the charm and quality of our first visit.

An absolute must

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Superb riad just around the corner from the square (they call it the "place" in Marrakech). The riad is beautifully furnished - simple but very chill-out with the most comfortable beds ever. The staff - Meriam, Kadijah and Mohamed were wonderful and look after us so well, we were treated like royalty! Excellent breakfast in the courtyard next to the pool and unbelievably good dinner on the terrace (best meal we had in Marrakech). Also took advice when we booked to take the hammam massage at Riad Tzarra owned by the same people (30 Euros instead of 40 if you book before arrival - so well worth it) - great experience in another beautiful riad. We'll be back again one day !

Room Tip: Rabat room is the best and has a big bathtub in bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

We love this Riad - so friendly - we felt right at home from the word go. The staff are superb and everything was perfect. Great food on the terrace and lots of dips in the pool after the hot walks in the souks.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Loved our stay here - the riad is lovely and right next to the square, so very convenient for all the sights. The staff are wonderful and very friendly and always there when we needed them but not when we didn't. The pool is quite small but very welcome after a hard day walking around the medina. All in all, a great choice - we'll be back !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Thank you Mbarka, Mohammed, Miriam and Hanare – you made our stay absolutely wonderful with your friendly and helpful nature. The Riad, which we were lucky enough to have all to ourselves, was absolutely blissful; it truly was a peaceful oasis just moments from the chaos of the souks and the main square. The room was beautifully appointed with traditional furnishings, spacious and very clean - as was the entire Riad. I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone travelling to Marrakech!! Thank you again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grange over sands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed at Riad Tzarra (same English owners) and came to Riad Bel Haj for dinner on the terrace. We had a wonderful evening - amazing food, great wine and all under the floodlit Koutoubia mosque. The Riad is in a superb location - just around the corner from the square and the souks - all in all, a lovely place with lovely staff. Thank you for a great evening !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

Lovely riad, lovely location, lovely staff, lovely city - that says it all - we loved it !

Room Tip: Rabat room is the best - superb bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azzouna, Owner at Riad Bel Haj, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Guest. Many thanks for leaving a review of Riad Bel Haj. We try to offer a high standard of service and hospitality to all our guests and it is great to read reviews that tell us we are achieving our goals! We hope you will recommend us to friends and maybe return to stay with us again in the future when you will be assured of a warm welcome back from everyone at Riad Bel Haj! Best regards Nikki and Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Bel Haj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Bel Haj

Address: 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine | 60 Derb Moulay Abdellah Ben Hssaine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 1,102 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cool, calm riad situated only moments from the bustle and excitement of the Place Jemaa el Fna, Riad Bel Haj is a haven of peace and tranquility in the Medina of Marrakech. The riad has been lovingly renovated and beautifully decorated to create a contemporary yet comfortable home for visitors to Marrakech. Traditional Moroccan materials and craftsmanship have been used to great effect and there are all the modern refinements guests would expect such as air conditioning, free WiFi Internet access and iPod docking stations. The riad is perfectly located in a well lit and easy to find derb, close to Bab Ksour and only two minutes from the Place Jemaa el Fna or the entrance to the souks. The nearest vehicular access is 50 metres from the front door and Riad Bel Haj is also close to the shops and restaurants of modern day Marrakech in the Gueliz district. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Bel Haj, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.