We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Morrocan restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
22 Derb Abdellah Ben Hessaien | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-44052
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 616 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $72
Cuisines: Moroccan, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: Inside a traditional house of the Medina, warm atmosphere, carpets, rose petals and candlelights for a tasting menu of moroccan specialities with the unobtrusive sound of 2 Gnawas musicians.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quirky Morrocan restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great experience and a beautiful riad. We had the morrocan tasting menu - plenty of food but a little bland. It's definitely worth a visit but when booking ask if here is an al a carte menu as that may be better value.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    92
    39
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We booked this restaurant in advance of our trip as it had been highly recommended. It certainly didn't disappoint and the food just kept coming and coming. Everything served was typically Morrocan and of a very high standard. Our only criticism would be that there was too much food and we felt a little embarrassed at not being able to eat it all! We loved the ambience and the ethnic music. There is no way you could find your own way there in the dark and we were met by a guide to take us through the back alleyways. What a little gem when we did arrive!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great but beware - so much food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We went here for our wedding anniversary. It's a bit pricey but the food is excellent! The waiters are friendly and the owner came and spoke to us, he was great to chat to.

Te service was exceptionally quick and the food was delicious, the lamb tangible would have to be the best lamb I've ever had!

It's tucked away in the medina and we needed someone to help us find it but overall we were very happy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Only rather expensive set menu!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Small Moroccan restaurant in the medina, rather difficult to find. Compared with Pepe Nero where we ate the previous night, the place didn't impressed us in the same way. The service accompanied by a group of ethnic musicians a bit too noisy, is good and attentive, but guests are obliged to have a set menu whatever is their appetite...Good traditional Moroccan cuisine, but we felt embarrassed by not being able to finish our food because of the too many dishes. The bill was rather expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rip off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Dark dingy with a musician who seem to be stock on one tune all evening.
Food was ok but did not reflect the price. We had to go with a local guide through dark ally ways and dirt roads to find the place. The food was average Moroccan chicken and lamb nothing out of ordinary but the prices was Mayfair prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le TOBSIL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.