We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but beware - so much food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
22 Derb Abdellah Ben Hessaien | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00-212-524-444-052
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $0 - $74
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great but beware - so much food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We went here for our wedding anniversary. It's a bit pricey but the food is excellent! The waiters are friendly and the owner came and spoke to us, he was great to chat to.

Te service was exceptionally quick and the food was delicious, the lamb tangible would have to be the best lamb I've ever had!

It's tucked away in the medina and we needed someone to help us find it but overall we were very happy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    130
    75
    29
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Only rather expensive set menu!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Small Moroccan restaurant in the medina, rather difficult to find. Compared with Pepe Nero where we ate the previous night, the place didn't impressed us in the same way. The service accompanied by a group of ethnic musicians a bit too noisy, is good and attentive, but guests are obliged to have a set menu whatever is their appetite...Good traditional Moroccan cuisine, but we felt embarrassed by not being able to finish our food because of the too many dishes. The bill was rather expensive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rip off”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Dark dingy with a musician who seem to be stock on one tune all evening.
Food was ok but did not reflect the price. We had to go with a local guide through dark ally ways and dirt roads to find the place. The food was average Moroccan chicken and lamb nothing out of ordinary but the prices was Mayfair prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Authentic ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

A charming riad within the medina. I have visited several times with friends and family and have never been disappointed. Good authentic Moroccan cuisine, subtle atmospheric music by local musicians. A great venue for a romantic dinner.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A treat but don't eat for a couple of days first!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our Riad Manager recommended this restaurant for our final meal in Marrakech and it didn't disappoint. It is a little touristy but then we are tourists and there is only so much avoiding places designed to appeal to us that makes sense, otherwise what point are you trying to prove?

The restaurant is in an old Riad and is available through reservation only. Hidden in the tangle of the medina you are met by guides who bring you to the door.

Meals are set menu and the £60 per head includes your wine and all food. There is plenty of food. First course was a delicious selection of Moroccan salads, followed by a chicken tagine, then lamb tagine, then poached pear, then a small desert pastry, coffee or tea and a moroccan liqueur. I hope this conveys just how much food was presented.

It was raining outside but by UK considerations mild temperature but the heating was on full and the fire blazing in the grate beside our table. Combined with the vast quantities of food and the hypnotic live music the thought of curling up and sleeping in the sofa type seating was very appealing.

We barely needed to eat the following day either!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le TOBSIL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.