We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere, food and experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
22 Derb Abdellah Ben Hessaien | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-44052
Improve this listing
Ranked #86 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $71
Cuisines: Moroccan, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: Inside a traditional house of the Medina, warm atmosphere, carpets, rose petals and candlelights for a tasting menu of moroccan specialities with the unobtrusive sound of 2 Gnawas musicians.
Henfield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere, food and experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This restaurant is so hidden away that not only do you have to reserve a table, you have to reserve a guide to meet you to take you to it. When you arrive, all you see is a large wooden door. It is opened quietly & you step down into the most amazing room of dinner tables. At the back is a cosier bank of tables for romantic dining. The smell of woodsmoke pervades from the log burner, rose petals are strewn on the tables and musicians quietly play. There is no menu, just a constant stream of abundant delicious food, Of the 5 courses the first was my favourite, comprising on no less than 12 tiny tasty appetisers. Service was impeccable, the wine & water flowed and it was probably the most romantic meal out I have ever had.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    96
    42
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Christine Rio never fails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Our favorite restaurant in Marrakech. Many restaurants in Marrakech come and go but we can always count on Cristine for the best food, wine and service. Whenever we bring friends to Marrakech, Le Tobsil is our first dinner stop. We've dined here on many a happy occasion and have wonderful memories of this 20 year establishment..all done in a beautiful old Marrakech Riad.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some highs, some lows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ate here our first night in Marrakech as the suggestion of our concierge.

We very much enjoyed the ambiance - a traditional raid feel with live music, clustered tables and a smokey wood fire in the background. The decor was spot-on and the service was great, the manager's husband checked on every table throughout the course of the meal and the wait staff were courteous and friendly.

The food was good, but not great. We enjoyed the Moroccan salad starter due to the sheer number of plates and opportunity to taste different dishes, but the tangines were relatively average. We preferred the chicken to the lamb, which was a bit tough. The dessert was another high point, as was the mint tea.

The prix fix menu is set a bit high compared to other top restaurants in Marrakech. All in all, good for a long meal if money is not a concern but you could probably do better if you're only in town for a few nights.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very expensive for the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were rather disappointed as we went here for a special meal. The food was pleasant and plentiful but unimaginative and ridiculously over-priced. The atmosphere felt rather contrived and touristy. The following night we had the same amount of similarly tasty food at another beautifully furnished restaurant for half the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was just round the corner from our hotel and what a beautiful place. Too much food for me, but felt like a royal princess !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le TOBSIL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.