We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some highs, some lows” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
22 Derb Abdellah Ben Hessaien | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-44052
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $72
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: Inside a traditional house of the Medina, warm atmosphere, carpets, rose petals and candlelights for a tasting menu of moroccan specialities with the unobtrusive sound of 2 Gnawas musicians. (closed in July-August)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Some highs, some lows”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We ate here our first night in Marrakech as the suggestion of our concierge.

We very much enjoyed the ambiance - a traditional raid feel with live music, clustered tables and a smokey wood fire in the background. The decor was spot-on and the service was great, the manager's husband checked on every table throughout the course of the meal and the wait staff were courteous and friendly.

The food was good, but not great. We enjoyed the Moroccan salad starter due to the sheer number of plates and opportunity to taste different dishes, but the tangines were relatively average. We preferred the chicken to the lamb, which was a bit tough. The dessert was another high point, as was the mint tea.

The prix fix menu is set a bit high compared to other top restaurants in Marrakech. All in all, good for a long meal if money is not a concern but you could probably do better if you're only in town for a few nights.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    97
    42
    20
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very expensive for the quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were rather disappointed as we went here for a special meal. The food was pleasant and plentiful but unimaginative and ridiculously over-priced. The atmosphere felt rather contrived and touristy. The following night we had the same amount of similarly tasty food at another beautifully furnished restaurant for half the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

It was just round the corner from our hotel and what a beautiful place. Too much food for me, but felt like a royal princess !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun experience, food not fabulous but better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our riad managed recommended Le Tobsil, however it was also listed in a few guidebooks, so we thought we would give it a try. Only after making the booking did I read all the ordinary/ bad reviews on TA. So I was pretty worried that we wouldn't like it, as we have pretty high standards and eat out a lot.
Challenging to find, as everyone has said. We did walk there though and ended up bumping into one of the guides who took us the rest of the way. Greeted briefly by the owner on arrival, which was nice. Tasteful traditional Moroccan interior, tables with rose petals, candles, lanterns etc. I enjoyed the live musicians - style and volume of music was appropriate. Service quite cool and professional, not invasive, could be slightly warmer but overall very attentive and efficient. Loved the red velvet waitresses' outfits!
Included house wine ok, not great. Slightly more inspired snacks to go with drinks would be good ie we had two types of green olives and some sultanas - maybe switch one of the olives for something different. Moroccan salads were mostly quiet good, didn't enjoy the overly sweet carrot salad much. A bit disappointed that we didn't get pastilla - would have preferred this to the 'chicken in pancake' dish. Lamb tagine tasty and meat reasonably tender. Couscous with vegetables also pleasant and I enjoyed the spice of the accompanying sauce. As others have said, there is a lot of food provided. We found the salads manageable and also the lamb, but the chicken portion was too large for us. Desserts a bit disappointing, a nicely poached pear but very sweet and a small pastilla. As others have said, we enjoyed the atmosphere, service and overall experience but it is pricy and food is better elsewhere. Perhaps time for some fresh ideas in the kitchen?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thoroughly over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked in advance and went for dinner on Christmas Eve. The atmosphere was absolutely great and we had a nice evening but the food was a HUGE disappointment. We ate better in 'holes in the wall' in Marrakech. The starters were impressive in number but not terribly imaginative. The chicken and onion tagine was virtually inedible (being MUCH sweeter than dessert). The lamb was the only tough lamb we had in six days of eating a lot of lamb! The vegetable couscous was correct but by then we had already been served far too much food. The poached pears and 'buche de noel' were notable only for being less sweet than the chicken tagine. The wine was rough. It's thoroughly overpriced. Not a restaurant I would recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le TOBSIL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.