We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun experience, food not fabulous but better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
22 Derb Abdellah Ben Hessaien | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-44052
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 590 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $71
Cuisines: Moroccan, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: Inside a traditional house of the Medina, warm atmosphere, carpets, rose petals and candlelights for a tasting menu of moroccan specialities with the unobtrusive sound of 2 Gnawas musicians.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun experience, food not fabulous but better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our riad managed recommended Le Tobsil, however it was also listed in a few guidebooks, so we thought we would give it a try. Only after making the booking did I read all the ordinary/ bad reviews on TA. So I was pretty worried that we wouldn't like it, as we have pretty high standards and eat out a lot.
Challenging to find, as everyone has said. We did walk there though and ended up bumping into one of the guides who took us the rest of the way. Greeted briefly by the owner on arrival, which was nice. Tasteful traditional Moroccan interior, tables with rose petals, candles, lanterns etc. I enjoyed the live musicians - style and volume of music was appropriate. Service quite cool and professional, not invasive, could be slightly warmer but overall very attentive and efficient. Loved the red velvet waitresses' outfits!
Included house wine ok, not great. Slightly more inspired snacks to go with drinks would be good ie we had two types of green olives and some sultanas - maybe switch one of the olives for something different. Moroccan salads were mostly quiet good, didn't enjoy the overly sweet carrot salad much. A bit disappointed that we didn't get pastilla - would have preferred this to the 'chicken in pancake' dish. Lamb tagine tasty and meat reasonably tender. Couscous with vegetables also pleasant and I enjoyed the spice of the accompanying sauce. As others have said, there is a lot of food provided. We found the salads manageable and also the lamb, but the chicken portion was too large for us. Desserts a bit disappointing, a nicely poached pear but very sweet and a small pastilla. As others have said, we enjoyed the atmosphere, service and overall experience but it is pricy and food is better elsewhere. Perhaps time for some fresh ideas in the kitchen?

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    97
    42
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thoroughly over-rated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We booked in advance and went for dinner on Christmas Eve. The atmosphere was absolutely great and we had a nice evening but the food was a HUGE disappointment. We ate better in 'holes in the wall' in Marrakech. The starters were impressive in number but not terribly imaginative. The chicken and onion tagine was virtually inedible (being MUCH sweeter than dessert). The lamb was the only tough lamb we had in six days of eating a lot of lamb! The vegetable couscous was correct but by then we had already been served far too much food. The poached pears and 'buche de noel' were notable only for being less sweet than the chicken tagine. The wine was rough. It's thoroughly overpriced. Not a restaurant I would recommend.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sensational ambience and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant on a wet evening in January. Getting there was half of the adventure...... should defo have gone in wellies though as the dark alleyways were mud baths! The restaurant itself was amazing..... we weren't entirely sure what to expect, nor whether or not alcohol would be served. Gentle arabic music was wafting around and a fabulous open fire sat in the corner of the room, embers glowing brightly. All of the tables were drenched in rose petals. Staff were lovely and spoke perfect English. After an aperitif we were given the choice of wines (all included in the price) and then the food arrived. A have to say that although very nice there was far too much of it and the chicken tagine was far too sweet. It is certainly an experience not to be missed though but just wished the food could have been better! Also there was no indication of price at the beginning of the meal - it was rather expensive!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“Great ambience and service, shame about the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It's worth going to Le Tobsil just for the ambience and the live music, plus the excellent service. We really enjoyed watching our waiter pour the Berber whiskey (mint tea) - an experience in itself. However, the food was only average - we had a chicken tagine which was overly sweet and a lamb tagine which was OK but nothing to write home about. The mezzes served at the beginning was good though. The meal was quite expensive compared to other places we'd eaten at in Marrakech. If I only had a limited number of days in Marrakech, I would not put this restaurant on my list, but as we were there for a week, I'm glad we went.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Plenty of food, wonderful ambiance, pity about the ordinary flavours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel and getting there was so much fun we thought we were in store for an amazing treat. You're met at the top of an alleyway by a man wearing a hooded shroud with name badge on it that reads topsil. In perfect english he greeted us and shepherded us down a series of poorly light narrow alleyways deep inside the medina and brought us to a door, a simple wooden door. After a gentle knock the door opened to reveal what I thought was only the stuff of fiction. We were ushered into a 12th century 3 story house light by candles with arabic music wafting though the ether from a corner of the room where two musicians seemed to be in a trance. The tables were beautiful showerd in rose petals and the staff spoke good english and french. But then the food started to arrive and it was clear we had not prepared properly. The entree was 13 plates of food for 2 of us, and then there was 2 tagines, a military sized vegetable couscous dish, desert, a pastry and mint tea!!!! What the food lacked in tastiness was gained through the ambience. Make sure you haven't eaten for a week and remember not to judge all Moroccan food by this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le TOBSIL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.