We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of food, wonderful ambiance, pity about the ordinary flavours” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
22 Derb Abdellah Ben Hessaien | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00-212-524-444-052
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 543 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $0 - $71
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Plenty of food, wonderful ambiance, pity about the ordinary flavours”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife and I went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our hotel and getting there was so much fun we thought we were in store for an amazing treat. You're met at the top of an alleyway by a man wearing a hooded shroud with name badge on it that reads topsil. In perfect english he greeted us and shepherded us down a series of poorly light narrow alleyways deep inside the medina and brought us to a door, a simple wooden door. After a gentle knock the door opened to reveal what I thought was only the stuff of fiction. We were ushered into a 12th century 3 story house light by candles with arabic music wafting though the ether from a corner of the room where two musicians seemed to be in a trance. The tables were beautiful showerd in rose petals and the staff spoke good english and french. But then the food started to arrive and it was clear we had not prepared properly. The entree was 13 plates of food for 2 of us, and then there was 2 tagines, a military sized vegetable couscous dish, desert, a pastry and mint tea!!!! What the food lacked in tastiness was gained through the ambience. Make sure you haven't eaten for a week and remember not to judge all Moroccan food by this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    75
    29
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Christmas Night Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Atmosphere fantastic, food was amazing. Would prefer if there was an alternative to the set menu as just so much food.
Wonderful experience would highly recommend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The restaurant is in traditional riad with seating in the interior courtyard and upstairs too. (When we were there, the courtyard was covered.) The interior is fantastic: Moroccan carpets, candles, live music etc. The food was also very good. We were offered the set menu which was 4-5 courses and included the wine (that was not the best i have ever had). It was a little expensive (by local standards), around 50 eur/person, but we really enjoyed our night in this restaurant and would recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic new year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you never thought you'd see Baloo the bear dancing, get there for a New Year party and watch the waiters join in! Great food, super evening. A swine to find - get them to send someone out to the road to lead you in or you'll never find it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So so!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not a bad experience, but it could have been better if the service was more attentive. This restaurant is located in the old Medina of Marrakesh and it has been quite difficult to find it. The Moroccan set menu was great in terms of taste, but too much... and after the first 2 dishes we had only few morsels of the rest. The decor and atmosphere are nice with an ethnic band playing a bit too noisy music.
Rather expensive especially when you pay for dishes that you haven’t eaten

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le TOBSIL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.