We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le TOBSIL

Le TOBSIL
22 Derb Abdellah Ben Hessaien | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
00-212-524-444-052
Update restaurant details
Ranked #60 of 508 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $0 - $76
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The restaurant is in traditional riad with seating in the interior courtyard and upstairs too. (When we were there, the courtyard was covered.) The interior is fantastic: Moroccan carpets, candles, live music etc. The food was also very good. We were offered the set menu which was 4-5 courses and included the wine (that was not the best i have ever had). It was a little expensive (by local standards), around 50 eur/person, but we really enjoyed our night in this restaurant and would recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    112
    68
    25
    17
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic new year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If you never thought you'd see Baloo the bear dancing, get there for a New Year party and watch the waiters join in! Great food, super evening. A swine to find - get them to send someone out to the road to lead you in or you'll never find it.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So so!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Not a bad experience, but it could have been better if the service was more attentive. This restaurant is located in the old Medina of Marrakesh and it has been quite difficult to find it. The Moroccan set menu was great in terms of taste, but too much... and after the first 2 dishes we had only few morsels of the rest. The decor and atmosphere are nice with an ethnic band playing a bit too noisy music.
Rather expensive especially when you pay for dishes that you haven’t eaten

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great locale, good and plentiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The locale and ambience is unbeatable. If you're a couple, this is an amazing date place. It is the type of restaurant you would only find in Morocco. The menu was fixed and came with wine. There was a lot of food. The salads were tasty as were the tagine and couscous. The food was not as good was Al Fassia or Ksar Es Essouan, but it was still good. Make sure you go hungry because the portions are rather big and the courses keep coming.

The one bad thing was that they had these two musicians come by each table (the music was good and the guys were funny) buskering for money. For me it kind of cheapens the experience and is somewhat tasteless to be solicited for money while you are trying to enjoy your meal. The restaurant has a more serious atmosphere than other restaurants we went to, such as Ksar Es Essouan, that were more laid back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Loads of different beautifully cooked courses kept coming. And they kept bringing more wine and water. We thought it was good value for all we ate and drank. Wonderful surroundings. The only problem is that it is very difficult to find. If you get close, someone will guide you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le TOBSIL also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le TOBSIL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le TOBSIL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.