We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A CHARMING AUTHENTIC DAR” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tah Tah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Dar Tah Tah to your Saves list
Riad Dar Tah Tah
8 Derb Tah Tah | Rahba Kedima, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #823 of 1,120 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A CHARMING AUTHENTIC DAR”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for four nights during late October 2011. It is a wonderfully authentic Dar (small Riad) located within minutes walk from the the Souks and Main square. Inside is a delighful central glazed courtyard - lovely for breakfast (which was great, and included), a Salon and Roof Terrace. Our Room (four) located on the top foor, had a private terrace. Staff were so friendly and helpful, and whilst not on site all day and night (a bonus for us), emminently contactable if required. The property isn't high lux, however we'd highly recommend Riad Dar Tah Hah for anyone seeking an amazing value, extremely central, authentic Marrakesh experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed in Room 4, small double room with own roof terrace area and air-con, would definitely recommend this room ahead of all the others. A liitle bit worn perhaps, particularly the flooring/shower area, but otherwise well-furnished in traditional style. Good simple breakfast in the courtyard, friendly helpful staff, somewhat dark but roomy sitting area. Communal roof terrace with sun loungers and seating.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

After a two week trip around Morocco,the volcano in Iceland had the audacity to erupt the day before our return home closing european airspace and leaving myself and three children stranded in Marrakech.We were found Dar Tah Tah by 'Naturally Morocco' our travel company.We stayed 6 nights in this simple and pretty Riad and were grateful for its location,in the heart of the Medina,cleanliness,economical price,hearty Moroccan breakfast and the helpfulness of the staff who catered for our needs very very well.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

I visited Dar Tah Tah at the end of March as part of an adult family group of 5. Getting out of the taxi straight into the heart of Jemma El Fna at 9pm on a Saturday night threw us straight into the middle of the madness that is Marrakech!! Fortunately we had a porter who duly loaded our cases into his wheelbarrow and guided us down the winding alleys for the 5 minute walk to the riad.

The riad is basic but good value for money and in an excellent location. It's close enough to the main square that you can be in amongst the madness in a few minutes, yet peaceful enough to sit and chill out on the terrace if you prefer. The living room area is quite dark and dingy but the weather meant we spent very little time in there.

We had Room 4, which is the terrace room at the top of the riad with air-con and it's own terrace. The rooms are small but functional and are cleaned daily. Residents can use the kitchen facilities if they want, although the food was so good elsewhere that we only used the fridge. While we were there, the fridge was also stocked up with water (10DH), beer (30DH) and wine (100DH) which you could charge to your room if you didn't want to go out to source this locally (we couldn't be bothered!!).

Breakfast was served 9-10am and normally consisted of fresh bread, butter and jam, pastries, something warm (e.g. omelette, pancakes) plus freshly squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee. We had dinner on the first night (180DH) which was lovely - salad/veggies to start then a delicious tagine with bread followed by fresh fruit!

The staff are often on site and, if not, are usually at the sister riad (Villa El Arsa) or ca be contacted on their mobile. Brahim and Hussaine both speak English and French and were very helpful in terms of hints and tips for where to go/what to do/what to avoid. They can also organise trips for you - we want to Ourika Valley which is beautiful and well worth the journey. Brahim also recommended an excellent Hamam (more of a 'tourist' one) just around the corner, which was bliss.

Would definitely recomment as a good value, basic place to stay in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

Me and my boyfriend stayed 6 nights in Marrakech and had a wonderful time. We had initially booked Dar Tah Tah, but because the toilet was broken in our room we got transferred to Riad Villa El Arsa, without any problems or extra cost. We also stayed one night in Dar Tah Tah, after coming back from the west coast at the end of our trip. Both places are beautiful. We felt home instantly. We were welcomed with a mint tea and baklava by Brahim. All the staff is very nice and helpful. Both places are located centrally in the souks. Breakfast was served on the terrace and included a variety of bread, croissants, pan au chocolat, pancakes, jams and fresh orange juice. Because both riads only have 4-5 rooms, socialising with the other guests is easy. Brahim gave us loads of tips for sightseeing and eating. We also booked a one day trip to the Atlas mountains through Brahim. It was a highlight of our holiday and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

I and my girlfriend spent the most enjoyable 4 nights in Dar Tah Tah. It was very comfortable and friendly - we were able to chat to others there about our experiences in the souks etc! over a delicious breakfast. Dar Tah Tah suited our needs perfectly as we were not looking for 5* hotel standards just somewhere where we could experience the moroccan way of life in Marrekech in a truly authentic way. The location is extremely good being so close to the Souks. The staff were so helpful and charming and I highly recommend staying in this most characterful and attractive Riad.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

We booked a four night break at Dar Tah Tah because it seemed nice and central, and wasn’t too expensive (we paid £308 for four people for four nights bed & breakfast). The house is hidden down a narrow street off Rue Rahba Kedima, which leads into the old spice market. The position is great, being close to the main square of Jemaa El Fna and only yards from the souks, yet still beautifully quiet, which you need after braving the souks!

Through the large wooden door, you enter a passageway through to the glass roofed courtyard, where there’s a table & chairs for breakfast. Also on the ground floor is a twin bedded room with a small shower room, the kitchen and sitting room/salon with fireplace, tv, board games, books and a few videos. We were welcomed to use the fridge & coffee making facilities.

Our rooms were on the first floor, rooms 1 & 2, which comprised the “family suite”. Room 2 opened off the central terrace, had 2 fairly narrow single beds & a tiny shower room/toilet. There was a wardrobe but unfortunately, the fact that there were two beds there meant it was impossible to open! Luckily, that wasn’t a hardship for my two (adult) children – they were happy to live out of suitcases.

Room 1 was up a short flight of stairs, and had two single beds pushed together, and a roomier shower room with toilet & bidet. There was another single bed so the room could easily have slept three, as it was enormous, with very high ceilings. The window was quite high up, so you couldn’t actually see out. The room was also air conditioned & had a radiator for colder months, plus extra bedding in the wardrobe.

Up the stairs from the first floor was a little roof terrace, with a table & chairs, a divan with cushions & a parasol, & two sunbeds. There was another room up on the terrace, which would be a lovely place to stay (as long as you don’t mind stairs!).

You get your own key to the front door, as the staff don’t stay overnight, but are always contactable by phone.

Breakfast is adequate, continental style (French bread/croissants/jam/butter etc)

The whole dar was nicely decorated in Moorish style and had a homely feel to it – it would be great to hire the whole house for a family or group of friends.

We were looked after by Ibrahim, who couldn’t have been more helpful & also spoke very good English. He arranged our transfers to & from the airport, and also a day trek to the mountains, which turned out to be the highlight of our visit.

Dar Tah Tah was very good value for the price, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — The central location
  • Disliked — No locks on internal doors
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Tah Tah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tah Tah

Address: 8 Derb Tah Tah | Rahba Kedima, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #823 of 1,120 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tah Tah is hidden down a narrow which leads into the old spice market of Rahba Kedima. Its position is exceptional, being close to the main square of Jemaa El Fna and only yards from the souks, yet remaining a quiet haven in which to retreat from the bustle of the Medina. Five bedrooms, one sleeping up to 4 pers, all with private shower/wc. Relaxed and unpretentious atmosphere with helpful and friendly staff .English spoken. Tiny Lilliputian courtyard, large salon with chimney,roof terrace with table and chairs. 3 rooms have air-con. The others have fans. Trekking in the High Atlas and Desert trips arranged. Airport transfers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Dar Tah Tah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tah Tah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.