We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice riad, with modern style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Beldia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Beldia to your Saves list
Riad Dar Beldia
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9 derb houara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 1,117 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice riad, with modern style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for two night in April 2015. The riad has been immaculately renovated relatively recently, very clean and nice. Breakfast served on the ground floor next to the atrium was quite good. There is also a nice roof terrace with sofas and tables. The room was of reasonable size, with a 26" LCD TV with a lot of channels, a nice clean bathroom in a traditional style. Solely positive things to say about this hotel. Surprising that it was only half full (room rate a bit high for Marrakech?)
The location of the riad was OK, but not optimal. The easy walk to Jamaa el Fna was maybe 10 or 12 minutes, mostly along Rue Riad Zitoun Lakdim. Dar Beldia serves dinner on request (OK, but not great), and closest restaurants are at Place des Ferblantiers about 5 minutes walk away. However, the selection of restaurants there is not best possible (a bit touristy!), with most of the better restaurants found quite a bit longer walk away, or in Gueliz (3+ km, requiring taxi.)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    45
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
137
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights and were definitely happy with our stay. The hotel car picked us up at the airport. We walked in and its just such a cute place. Small, quaint, well kept, clean with some of the nicest people. Tariq (?) was the receptionist and he was such a great guy. We met some other travelers here as well so had a great time overall. Amazing value for the money. Close to the main square/souks.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015

We have just returned to Denmark after a full week stay at Riad Dar Beldia. My wife and I went togehter with her parents and we had a wunderfull stay. From my first initial booking request to we checked out everything was really nice. Simo and his team (especially Karim we spoke a lot with in the evenings) took really good care of us. We had our room upgraded which is really apreciated even though I am sure all 6 rooms are great. We had booked a pick up in the airport which can be recommended to save the hazzle. Everything went perfect. The Riad is a half riad with 6 rooms so you feel very private. The rooms are quite small but Again for us we were only in the rooms to sleep. The breakfast was nice and traditional moroccan with bread, pancakes, youghurt etc. we left full every morning. the Roof terrace and sundbeds are nice and there is a fantastic view to the snow covered Atlas Mountains. The best anyhow is the service. Always helpfull allways smiling. The value for Money at Dar Beldia is outstanding. We have stayed in Marrakech a few times before, but surely Dar Beldia is the best value for Money Riad we have found, and we will for sure be back.

Wifi was working perfect during the entire stay on all levels at the riad, which was important to us as I needed to do a bit of Work in the mornings.

The Riad is Located in the South of the medina in the Berrima district which Means approx a 20 minutes walk to Djemaa el Fna or the Rahba Kekima (spicy market). But a nice one passing the royal Palace etc.

We can´t wait to go back. Thanks you Simo, karim and rest of the team to take good care of us.

Kind regards
Lars

Room Tip: we stayed at the bahia room which was very nice on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2015

We stayed there for a leisure trip. I took us ages to find the hotel as it is located in a narrow street. If you don't know it it is difficult to find, so I will advise more indications on the main street. Despite this, the staff is very nice and friendly, the rooms and the hotel itself are well decorated and the breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stayed here for a week over our wedding anniversary, and I think it would have been difficult for us to find anywhere better suited to our needs.

I knew before I started looking at hotels that I wanted a Riad experience, rather than the usual hotel, I had visited Marrakesh before many years ago on a day trip and had promised myself that I would return for a longer stay, so a stay within the Medina and the old town with its wonderful atmosphere was for me, rather the new town area.

The Staff here are excellent, and you will be warmly welcomed with mint tea, a map of the city and a chat about orientation and layout of the city.The Guys who work here have great English and are very happy to answer any questions or organise excursions for you.

The Ambiance within the Riad was lovely, beautifully lit in the evening, and I loved the scent of the orange blossom oil so much that I purchased some to take home. Another real plus point is that because they only have 6 rooms there will only be a maximum of 12 guests so it feels quite exclusive, we rarely had to share the breakfast room, and any time we spent on the terrace was totally private.

I loved the location too, there are some really good restaurants within a short walk, (la Tanjina, with belly dancers and Kosybar, that also serves drinks only,were both excellent, just inside the lantern makers square), taxi rank, ATM and convenience store are all within a 5 min walk.

The room itself was very nice, spotlessly clean and attended to everyday. It had a safe, small flat-screen T.V and wifi worked depending on your position (2nd Floor). A couple of things I would have liked in the the room were a small fridge and a dish of the traditional black soap perhaps, but this is just being a bit nit-picky!!

Breakfast was good, continental style, with Moroccan flat bread (YUMMY) or pancakes, fruit or yoghurt and a pastry with tea & coffee.

I can highly recommend booking a private tour with the company the Riad uses, Our driver was AMAZING,he arranged for me to try Tanjina rather than Tajine on our day out, also he was so friendly and helpful, I am just sorry that I didn't get the chance to get his email to thank him personally for making our wedding anniversary a memorable experience.

A beauitful experince in a wonderful atsmospheric city, I really did not want to leave, Keep up the great work guys and see you all when I get the chance to return.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2015

We stayed here as a couple in mid Dec 2014 for 3 nights on the first floor, Orientale room.
We contacted the Riad before to book a transfer at EUR20 (215 MAD), and after changing money at the desks near the exit (better rate that inside the baggage claims/duty free) we had a quick & smooth journey with a friendly driver to the Riad. He pointed out sights and places of interest on the way and show handy places to remind us how to get back to the riad when we were out and about.
The riad is on a small back street but it’s the same with many riads in the medina, don’t be overwhelmed! It’s easy to find your way back and forth once you get used to it. On arrival at the riad we were greeted by Simon who checked us in, served us complementary tea, answered any questions we had and called ahead to make bookings for us. He was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay as were the rest of the staff and they make you feel very welcome and comfortable.
The rooms were modern while still having a classic Moroccan feel. The air-con unit also provided heat which was great for the chilly evenings December brings. There was plenty of room, spacious wardrobe with hangers and a TV (which only had BBC news in English, but this was not important to us). The bathroom was nice but I do feel the shower head and pipe needs replacing as it was falling apart and sent water in every direction!
On the 1st floor where we were the free open Wi-Fi worked very well in the room and outside.
The riad is small and intimate with only 6 rooms but as the windows are open with shutters and wooden doors throughout riad, if the other guests are early risers it can have you awake from very early.
We had breakfast every morning before 11am which consisted of fresh juice, coffee/tea, breads, pastries, fruit/yoghurt and a hot pancake.
We walked to the square most days within 15 mins along the main road which was busy but fine. On the last day we discovered another way through souk alley that only took about 8 mins and brought you right out in the center of the square.
We went out each evening and flagged down taxis from outside on the road. You have to haggle with the price but as a guide we paid 20 MAD within the medina and 50 MAD to Gueliz (French/modern part of town) and Ave Mohammed VI where there are bars/clubs.
When we were leaving to get our flight back we got a taxi which we used the night before and it was only 100 MAD.
Overall lovely stay in a traditional riad close to everything. Highlights - jemaa El Fna, haggling in souks, Isis Spa, Al Fassia Guéliz, and Level Five.

Room Tip: Stay on the 1st floor if you want constant Wi-Fi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015

Pros:
- easy, close walk to the Square.
- located in a quiet part of the medina.
- Simo and Karim are great staff members.
- the home cooked meal is made up of a lot of food, and it tastes great.
- patio allows you to overlook some of the medina.
- rooms are tastefully decorated, and well sized.
- wifi is open and works in select areas.
- gives that homely feeling.

Cons:
- None. There's so many riads to stay in in Marrakech, and I'm glad I found a great one to start my Morocco trip.

Highly recommend this place.

Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Beldia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Beldia

Address: 9 derb houara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 1,117 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Beldia 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar beldia has wonderful location, its accesses easy, not far from the badi palace and legendary square "jamaa el fna".its comprises six doubles rooms with full equipment, set around an interior patio with heated swimming pool.at night-fall, having visited the famous bustling jamaa el fna square, strolled for a long time in the busy souks, experienced the profusion of colors and scents of the medina, let yourself be guided by the magic of this pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Dar Beldia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Beldia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Beldia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.