We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of calm and tranquility in marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Beldia

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Beldia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Beldia
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   9 derb houara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 1,036 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bali, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An oasis of calm and tranquility in marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We choose this Riad from it's photos on the website , it was so lovely to arrive to see that it was far nicer than the photos, the Riad is so tastefully and immaculately decorated, every attention to detail. The room was beautiful and so comfortable, the bathroom so quaint, the pool and central area was so calm and peaceful. It was so lovely to arrive home from the heat and chaos of the city, to jump into the pool and cool down, while listening to calm music, a perfect end to the day. Simo and staff were all so friendly and helpful. Breakfast was served with such grace, we still talk about it! The roof terrace was lovely to have a nightcap and listen to the sounds of the city. It was too hot to sit up there during the day. We had a wonderful time at Riad Dar Beldia and would highly recommend it. It was great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    34
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
114
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently returned from Marrakech, our first visit to Morocco, and stayed for one week at Riad Dar Beldia.

We had organised an airport transfer via the Riad which was a relief upon arrival and very sleek indeed. Once at the Riad we received a warm welcome from Simo, one of the fantastic Riad managers, with a warm smile and a refreshing mint tea.

The Riad itself, its staff and surroundings is faultless. It is remarkable that from the exterior the building is unassuming, but once inside is truly stunning and every detail is considered and covered. The decor is authentic, tasteful and understated and is maintained to such a high standard. We stayed in the Sultane bedroom, the smallest of all the rooms, but we cannot fault it. It has everything you need: an excellent and comfy bed, storage space and a great bathroom and was perfect for us (couple in our early 30s) who were out during the day and were able to relax and sunbathe on the rooftop terrace in the afternoon.

The service - Simo and Karim (and their team) - were outstanding hosts. True professionals, they were discreet and friendly at all times and nothing was too much trouble. Their English was very good and they were always on hand to offer sound advice on day trips and things to see and do. Simo recommended the excellent Les Bains De Marrakech for a private hamman which we cannot rave about enough, you must try! An hr and a half of perfect luxury and pampering.

Overall, our stay at Riad Dar Beldia was stunning and we cannot recommend it enough as a peaceful retreat from the hectic hustle and bustle of the Medina. Excellent value for money, wonderful and filling breakfasts, and such kind and fantastic hosts. This is a must for any one visiting Marrakech! Thank you again Simo and Karim, we shall be back to visit again soon.

Alicia and Paul, London UK

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

When first chosing a place to stay in Marrakech it was overwhelming. We chose this Riad based on its location, the prompt replies by the managers to our emails and the reviews we read online. Everything we read was true and we were very happy during our stay. It was myself (33 and my mother 60's), so we wanted something that would appeal to both of us.
Key points:
1) The stairs going to 2nd level are steep - but perfectly manageable (even for my mother in her 60's)
2) Rooms were good sizes, beds comfortable, bright, windows that opened into the courtyard.
3) the riad is close to the main square and close to a lot of the attractions you will want to see in the Medina. Yet, it is on a side street and then down a quiet road so once you are inside the riad it is very tranquil and you can't hear any noise from the city.
4) Rooftop terrace is beautiful and nice place for breakfast.
5) Breakfast is simple, yet very fresh, healthy and tasty.
6) management is very friendly and able to communicate it multiple languages.
7) Management can organize tours for you (we did a trip to Essaouira with a private driver, general city tour, Fantasia dinner and show and a cooking class - we also did a camel tour but booked that on our own before we arrived - the Riad graciously held onto our luggage for us while we were away on camel tour)
8) The Riad is an old building with all of the architectural charm you would expect. The water did stop at one point, but the manager was able to fix it in under 5 minutes. This was likely because it was at full capacity and too much preassure on system at once.
9) I emailed the management with lots of questions and they were always friendly and quick to reply. this was one of the main reasons we chose this riad.
10) extras that were nice to have - internet access, complimentary mint tea, access to hair dryer, knowledgable staff.

Pointers -
1) The map provided was not very detailed, it is the general city map that all hotels use. hard to find small roads. Bring your own from a tour book or buy a city map when you arrive.
2) blankets on bed are thick, if you like cold while sleeping bring light pjs.
3) bring allergy pills if you have allergies - incense burns and courtyard is open so if people smoke outside you can smell it.
4) book the airport transfer - it is expensive but worth it to find your riad on the quiet hidden street.
5) we didn't have hand soap in bathroom, but had brought a bar from a previous hotel we stayed at to use.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oriental room. It was on 2nd floor near stairs, so convenient and quiet. The inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a fantastic five nights here. Staff were very friendly, we loved our room (a superior double - great décor, and immaculate), and the riad itself is perfectly situated for exploring the old town. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

September in Marrakech is hot and noisy. This little riad on the edge of the Mellah, the ancient Jewish quarter, is an oasis. We had the Sultan room, the smallest but nicely decorated and adequate for two. It's about 15 minutes walk to the main Square and 5 minutes to Place Forblantier where there are cafes. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is not the largest I've eaten but OK to start you off on your journeys. It's down an alley opposite the Mosque Berrima and best got to by taxi from the airport as the bus leaves you about a mile away in town.
Apparently it's owned by a French rally driver if you're interested.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive room for space. Steep stairs if you have mobility issues, but this is true...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived in Marrakech in August amongst the sweltering heat and humidity, taking a taxi from the Airport to the Raid Dar Beldia for 100 Dirhams. Once we arrived we were made to feel welcome by Chahine who made us mint tea and showed us around the well designed Riad (A fusion of Moroccan and French styles).

The room was beautifully decorated with pebbles on the bedsheets and towels which had been folded into swans and was well-equipped with air-con and a flatscreen TV. We had the room on the ground-floor which meant that we made use of the dipping pool which was great for cooling off after a stroll around the Medina, a perfect escape from the heat and activity of it all. Breakfast was delicious with pastries, fruit, bread, jams, fresh juices and coffees all served by the very friendly staff.

The hotel's location was good, it was only a ten minute walk from the main square, and because it is located next to the Royal Palace there were always police guards along the road that we walked along to get there, so we felt very safe walking back late at night.

I would not recommend using the Riad's transfer service as it is twice the price of the taxi's located outside the airport, however I can see the transfer as being less stress free than haggling for a price, on our return journey to the airport we found that the price for a petit-taxi on a meter was 25 dirhams!

Overall I would strongly recommend staying here. The staff are friendly and warming, the Riad itself is well-styled and perfect for a piece of relaxation amongst the hustle and bustle of Marrakech's medina.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Just returned from a four night stay in this riad and could not recommend it enough.

The riad is in the heart of Marrakech and a short walk to the square and the souks, so it's in a great location.

The room we had was big, beautiful and immaculate. Fully equipped with air conditioning and a LCD TV for those sleepy afternoons. The bathroom was decorated in a traditional Moroccan style and the power shower was lovely.

The Riad itself is pretty, roomy and has a splash pool that cools you down instantly after some exploring in the sun. The rooftop terrace has great views of Marrakech and is lovely place to relax.

My favourite thing about this Riad is the atmosphere. Simone, Kareem and Chahine are simply fantastic! They were kind, genuine and could not do enough to help us. When we mentioned that we wanted to go to Al Fassia, one of the busiest restaurants, they telephoned ahead and reserved us a table. You really do feel at home in this riad and nothing is too much trouble. On our last day, despite the fact that we had checked out of our room, Simone was more than happy for us to mill about in the Riad and use the splash pool until our flight.

Through the riad we organised a trip to the Atlas Mountains which was one of the best experiences of my life! The riad organised our own personal tour guide who gave us a unique insight into the realities of living in the mountains. We also asked if we could dine in the Riad when we returned from the mountains which they were more than happy to organise. We ordered two tagines the day before and returned to find that a beautiful three course meal had been prepared for us. The ingredients tasted fresh and the food was hearty and wholesome. It was a lovely experience.

It would be crazy not to mention the breakfast at this riad. Every morning we were presented with fresh fruits and pastries which were delicious! The ladies that come to make breakfast are so kind and accommodating that you really do feel at home.

I could not recommend this riad enough. If you're looking for a chic riad that's beautiful, clean and with a warm atmosphere, then Riad Dar Beldia is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Beldia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Beldia

Address: 9 derb houara, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 1,036 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Beldia 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad dar beldia has wonderful location, its accesses easy, not far from the badi palace and legendary square "jamaa el fna".its comprises six doubles rooms with full equipment, set around an interior patio with heated swimming pool.at night-fall, having visited the famous bustling jamaa el fna square, strolled for a long time in the busy souks, experienced the profusion of colors and scents of the medina, let yourself be guided by the magic of this pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Beldia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Beldia Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Beldia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.