We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Demeures d’Orient - What makes this place so special is the Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Demeures d'Orient

Save Saved
You added Demeures d'Orient to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Demeures d'Orient
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   10, Arset Ben Nasser | Riad Laarouss-Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Demeures d’Orient - What makes this place so special is the Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

The staff of this place were warm, welcoming and very pleasant. I was feeling a bit ill and the server brought me some sort of tea that totally made me feel better. All of the staff had a big smile, and wanted to ensure that the stay was memorable. The rooms, suites, and bathrooms were well decorated. Terrace, rooftop well equipped. Spa comfortable with well trained masseuses. We saw the hotel staff deal with an angry guest, an dealt with it professionally and pleasantly.

The only thing that I could see as a problem for some, is that I wouldn't want to walk out the door in the evening and go for a stroll. It's a bit of a distance...There are some shady looking people, and its a bit hard to find the place. You need a car and a driver to go out to eat. We did that one evening, and it was nice to change it up a little.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    18
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
36
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here as part of an organised tour and were a bit concerned about the location - was it too far from the action? The riad is perfectly located on the edge of the medina and is accessible by car. For first timers this is great because your taxi actually takes you to the door of your riad. The medina was actually in close walking distance and the riad was a great place to escape the hustle and bustle of the medina. The rooms are spacious and clean plus we had the opportunity to sit around the pool to relax. The outstanding and memorable part of our stay was the staff - nothing was too difficult and everyone wanted to ensure that our stay was enjoyable. When we needed to find a bank ... we were driven on a motorcycle to the closest ATM. When we wanted to go out to a particular restaurant in the medina ... a porter walked us to the restaurant and arranged for the restaurant to call when we were ready to come back and walked us back. All part of the service, with a big smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I originally booked to stay here for 3 nights but left after 1 although was charged for 2 nights, after a 3 hour argument with staff and the owners daughter! I have never come across such rude and uncaring staff in a hotel.
So to start, when we approached the riad the area didn't feel safe. Lots of unsavoury looking characters hanging around and aggressive youths shouting at our driver. Guy on reception didnt speak any English so we didn't get any sort of welcome, guide to the area, etc. we were given a mint tea on arrival but then had to ask to go to our room as we were left for over 30 minutes. We were not offered dinner/snacks although arriving at 8.30pm, just as well we had a table booked elsewhere.
We wanted to walk to the restaurant but the driver who picked us up from the airport said it was too far so wanted to take us, this I believe was more because of the dodgy area rather than being too far to walk, as again we got shouted at from youths outside the riad.
Breakfast.....a slice of toast, 2 mini crossaints, small pot of yogurt, coffee and a OJ! Not great for a riad that charges 190 euros a night. Plus the waiter took the crockery and cutlery from the USED table next to us, yes, we were given dirty plates. By this stage we had had enough and wanted to leave, which resulted in the manager saying he didn't really care that we were not enjoying our stay and would still charge us for the 3 nights booked even if we didnt stay. We then waited an hour for Sophia(owners daughter) to turn up, who then had better things to do before speaking to us and again was not bothered that the staff were rude and unfriendly. She was more concerned about getting the 3 nights money from us.
I wouldn't recommend anyone to stay here, this was my 3rd visit to Marrakech and there are lots of fabulous places to stay at half the cost, which are in a better and safer location. Also there is no fitness centre as advertised

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The Riad is beautiful - the pool is not really useable as it was a little too dirty for my liking and the water was cold. The rooms are very nice but not so nice as to justify the price. I was expecting more for the money charged. They quote in Euros but charge in Dhirams so you lose on the exchange rate. The prices are London/New York prices and you can get a better priced room elsewhere in the area. Our room had a fireplace which we lit each evening - the draw on the chimney is not good at all such that, during the course of the evening, the room became "smokey" . They try very hard with the service and the staff are a delight. All in all, an average experience made memorable by the local characters!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not the easiest place to find, down many twisty turny side roads and at the end of a newly paved street the Demeures d'Orient is a very pretty old town Riad. An enormous pool in the central courtyard with rooms on two levels of varying degrees of opulence, all exquisitely done and very well maintained. Slightly unnervingly we were the only guests for the entire stay. It was a little quiet. It's a very good choice for the old town, the staff are absolutely adorable, Towfik who serves breakfast (and dinner and all the bar drinks and mint tea) is charmingly shy but has a fantastic memory for what people like and delicious little bowls of olives and shortbread biscuits and steaming pots of mint tea things appear every time you sit down. Other members of staff will happily show you the way to and from restaurants in the old town or down into the souks. The Hamam is very efficient and luxurious hidden behind vast ancient Indian doors. On cold evenings they'll make up great blazing pine log fires in each room which crackle and roar efficiently through the night. We celebrated a birthday while we were there and a vast homemade chocolate cake appeared for breakfast with flowers and smiles. It was adorable. A good choice for the old town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in early November. All very good: friendly staff, good rooms, breakfast very nice. Only a couple of things to be straightened: telephone in the rooms do not have a call list so to call the reception is trial and error; the design TV stand is really an eye sore in a room completely and well decorated in arab style.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Quite a spectacular example of its type. Very large rooms, well appointed. Fireplaces, huge beds, down pillows. Like everywhere in Morocco, poor light for reading. The evening meal we ate there was great - typical Moroccan fare but better than most restaurants. Breakfast is a set menu of fruit, yogurt, pastries.

Room Tip: If you want a frire in your room, they come to start it. And they don't know how to. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Demeures d'Orient? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Demeures d'Orient

Address: 10, Arset Ben Nasser | Riad Laarouss-Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Demeures d'Orient 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"DEMEURES D’ORIENT LUXURY RIAD & SPA" located in the heart of the old Medina, accessible by car, remains open in the East of 1000m2 serene blue sky. Around the vast vaulted patio and flowers, the freshness of its pool and fountain, is arranged the refined elegance of eleven luxury suites. Each one is an invitation to travel in countries of the East ... On the ground floor, the great library, bar and restaurant tadelak with warm colors and three luxury suites open onto the garden. Intimate and mysterious, fun place of water purification, Hammam, two massages rooms have been made in the pure oriental tradition. Access to the balcony of carved wood on the first floor by a large marble staircase and Zelig serving six beautiful suites and a luxury apartment. Finally, the immense panoramic terrace adorned with turquoise tiles opens off the snow-covered Atlas, the Koutoubia and the colorful medina of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Demeures d'Orient reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Demeures d'Orient, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.