We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad dar Alhambra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Alhambra

Save Saved
You added Dar Alhambra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Alhambra
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   33 Zaouiat Lahda | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Riad dar Alhambra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just returned from a visit to Marrakech, we stayed here for 4 nights, it is beautiful. The food is good, the rooms amazing, the staff friendly and the location is great. When we first saw the street we wondered where we had come to but when the door opened the riad exceeded our expectations. Not much more I can say, we'll worth a visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    13
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our 4 night stay in Marrakech was considerably enhanced by Hamid and his team for whom nothing appeared to be too much trouble, including the wonderful meal we were given on the evening we arrived. Hamid was exceptionally helpful in organising trips and taxis . All arrangements made by him were faultless. Excellent suites and a beautiful roof terrace which gave us fabulous views of the city and helped us to orientate ourselves amidst the labyrinthine medina.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viking51, Owner at Dar Alhambra, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hamid, Fatna and Assisa take great pride in trying to make every guest feel at home and enjoy their stay in the Riad. We are overjoyed that you are satisfied!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Fantastic stay in this beautiful riad. We found the staff to be charming, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We were made very welcome, our suite was stunning, the food incredible. Marrakech is a busy chaotic city and the Alhambra is an Oasis of peace in the middle of it all. Would definitely book to stay there again and can highly recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We've just returned from 5 fabulous days & nights at Dar Alhambra.
Hamid, Aziza and Fatma are excellent hosts - relaxed, engaging, and happy. It really is like one big family - guests just don't disappear to their rooms, the relaxing atmosphere and style of this beautiful Riad encourages guests to chat & share hidden gems & discoveries. Charming, comfortable bedrooms with Air conditioning and a really relaxing roof terrace.
Aziza & Fatma serve fresh tasty breakfasts every morning and the kettles always on for a welcome mint tea or coffee.
Hamid will organise and advise on trips to the mountains, coast or other area with Mohamed the Riads careful and knowledgable driver. Don't forget to EMail ahead of your stay and arrange for Mohamed to meet you at the airport - only 150DM return for us 4. Don't worry about the language either - Hamid speaks mainly French but plenty of English too, as does Mohamed.
Excellent base -we will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: There is a suite off the central courtyard if you need easy access but all the rooms are lovely and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Lovely Riad lots of character,great roof terrace.Had evening meal there which was great.Hamid and the ladies were wonderful.Hamid is the man to arrange your trips he uses a great English speaking guide Mohammed.As others have said it is well worth asking Hamid to arrange your airport transfer untill you become familiar with the location it is not easy to find.It seems that flights from Britain arrive quite late at night so if you want food a good place to visit is Kui Zin very close but closes at 10pm.We would go again.

Room Tip: Worth having a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This entry to the riad is just a door in a wall, but once you move inside you will find a large cool building decorated in beautiful traditional style. The pictures on the website really don't do justice to the beauty of this Riad. The rooms are large and It is a joy to wake up in a comfortable bed. Breakfast is typical Morocccan style with delicious orange juice and great coffee. Staff were friendly and always willing to help with any queries or small problems. My bags were stored while I went to the desert for a few days. Hamid, the "main man" speaks good english. The riad itself is situated close to historical sights and the souks. One tip: Study your maps well to identify a couple of routes back and forth to the riad so you can look confident and avoid the "helpful" people offering to guide you back to the riad .... for a price of course.

Room Tip: The rooms are all fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked our holiday to Marrakech to celebrate my 40th with my 5 best friends. We had two rooms, 1 for 2 of us and the other for 3.
The rooms were lovely and our whole experience was magic. Hamid with Aziza and Fatna were wonderful and catered for all our needs. Whatever we wanted, we just had to ask and it was done for us. The weather was amazing as well, so every night we spent the start of our evening drinking 'sun-downers' on the roof. Would highly recommened this Riad. You'll feel safe, looked after and most of all relaxed. Thank you everyone for making it a holiday to remember. xx

Room Tip: Just beware of call to prayer at around 5:30. By Day 3 we didn't really notice it it, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Alhambra

Address: 33 Zaouiat Lahda | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Alhambra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 16th-century Riad, a haven of peace in the very heart of the Medina, lovingly restored in the pure Moroccan tradition - painted cedar ceilings, sculpted stucco, zelliges, marble floors...Impeccably clean, all rooms with private bath, and air conditioning. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Superb 360 view of the Medina, the Koutoubia and the snow capped Atlas mountains. One hundred yards from the Medersa Ben Youssef and the Marrakech museum, 15 minutes from Place Jemaa al Fna. Excellent cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Budget Places, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Dar Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.