We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Experience with Riad Alhambra” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Alhambra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Alhambra to your Saves list
Dar Alhambra
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   33 Zaouiat Lahda | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #329 of 1,072 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Experience with Riad Alhambra”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed 1 night in Riad Alhambra in June 2013.
The owner is very nice and is always happy to help you.
We came straight from the airport and if you know Marrakech a little bit it is very easy to find and well situated in the Medina. Do not let yourself be "guided" by a young person. Ask your way but insist on not being taken there as they will most probably take you somewhere else.
The staff is very nice.
The breakfast was lovely and as always the "welcoming" tea is very nice.
The Riad itself is quite beautiful.
The bed is comfortable.
The pressure in the shower is perfect and the water warm although you will probably not need it if you go during the month of June like us !
It is not noisy in the Riad - when we were there it was full but we felt as if we were on our own.

Nous avons passé une nuit au Riad.
L'hôte est très sympathique et très informé sur Marrakech et sa région.
Nous sommes venues directement de l'aéroport et si vous connaissez Marrakech un minimum, le riad est facile a trouver.
Le staff est très gentil,
Le petit déjeuner copieux et délicieux, tout comme le thé de bienvenue qui fait toujours son petit effet.
Le Riad est très beau.
Le lit très confortable.
Pas de problème au niveau de la pression dans la douche ni de la température.
Le riad n'est pas bruyant.

Room Tip: There is a difference between the "small" rooms and the "big" rooms. The main di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    15
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
55
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked our accommodation at Riad Alhambra from the 12th to the 15th July 2013, we had booked a triple room as i was sharing with my mum and her friend. The Riad is well positioned next to the souks and approx 10/15 mins walk to Jemma el FINA square. We booked through travel republic and the transfer was with a2b who were very efficient, someone was waiting on arrival at the airport and the transfer mini bus dropped us off near the pharmacy which is the closest point that taxis can get to the Riad (or so we thought but some reviews state otherwise). The Riad (Hamid) had arranged for Ali (who runs the shop next door to the Riad) to meet us at the taxi drop off point, we followed Ali on foot for about 10 mins and arrived at the Riad.
On arrival we were given some Mint tea and later joined Hamid and Ali for soup, bread and drinks, what a lovely welcome.
After having read the other reviews on here, i was wary when Hamid told us that i would have to stay in the Riad next door for the first night (on my own, as there was a room ready for my mum and her friend Jean) and that he would have a room ready for all us tomorrow. I said i would like to see the room, we were led outside and around the corner to another Riad. What a nice surprise, the room offered to me was beautiful, my mum and Jean asked to stay in the same Riad and were shown another room so we all stayed together. This Riad also has a lovely pool.
By way of apology for not having out room ready on the first night, Hamid invited us for food later at midnight after we had visited the main square, we had beef Tagine which was amazing. Ali showed us the way to the main square, wandered around with us and led us back later, we would definitely have got lost on our way back had we been on our own.
The next day we went back to the Alhambra in the morning for breakfast whilst out room was being prepared. The breakfast consisted of the some sort of Moroccan bread that is made in a frying pan (good when hot but goes hard when they cool), along with jam, marmalade, tea, coffee and fresh orange juice, tip > i asked for an omelette one morning which was lovely and was served with fresh baguette.
The hospitality that we were shown was fantastic, both Hamid and Ali are very personable and Hamid did all he could to make us welcome and more, the ladies that work there are lovely and we felt like it was a home from home and a peaceful retreat after a hectic day wandering the souks. We would definitely stay there again and i am looking to book a return trip very soon as there was so much to see that we didn't get round to doing.
There is a restaurant very close to the Riad called Le Fondouk which is worth a visit, we went twice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viking51, Owner at Dar Alhambra, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
The best solution for your first visit is to send an email or call Hamid if you would like a taxi to take you direct to the door of Riad Dar Alhambra: Phone +212667644990 or CONTACT@DARALHAMBRA.COM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This Riad was booked by my husband as a surprise 50th Birthday present. He had been arranging this trip for so long secretly and was looking forward to revealing my big surprise. I was excited to be going to Marrakesh and delighted that he had booked a riad, On the flight he mentioned that our accomodation had not had any recent reviews and was quite worried about that.

We arrived and was given breakfast which was a really nice surprise. The lady (there are two) speak little English and understand about the same. Not saying that everywhere we go should speak English but communication on the first day was difficult until Hammid arrived on day two.

We were shown to our room which my husband immediately pointed out was not what he had booked and paid for. This was greeted with confusion but eventually we were shown a slightly larger room but again my husband said he had booked the suite for my big birthday and this is not it. I was upset that my husband would feel he let me down, so I said lets not worry about it and enjoy our stay. My husband reluctantly agreed.

That night we returned from dinner my husband had booked in another beautiful riad and our rep was waiting for us, at about 11pm ( we didn't know we had a rep!) It was then explained that we would be moved the next morning to the suite. (it turns out a french couple were in our room)

Breakfast is ample and will see you through until lunch. There is a different take on it each day. We stayed four nights.

I have since looked at the professional photos of what my husband thought he was booking. And I can see why he booked it. The reality is not the same.

There is no rooftop terrace to sit on. The chairs are covered up and are used to house pillows and duvets. The plunge pool (it is not a swimming pool) is empty and dirty. We were never offered dinner to buy.

Hammid is very helpful and speaks and understands reasonble English. We mentioned that we wanted to get out of the medina and go to the mountains. He said he could arrange a guide for the day (he would need to stay up there as it's so far) for 700dh. Later that evening he suggested La Plage Rouge. We agreed if he suggested it then fine.

We were then expected to pay 700 dh for about a 20 minute drive each way (£55). As the language boundary is difficult we reluctantly agreed 500dh (£39)as we were leaving for the airport. The Marrakesh travellers website suggested 200dh return was ample.

The riad is brilliantly located and the staff helpful. My husband arranged a brilliant trip but he still feels let down by the reality of what we found.

Room Tip: book the suite and keep your fingers crossed you will get it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We chose to stay in this Raid due to the good reviews on this site, so we booked our holiday in Morocco for 5 days and four nights. We arrived late in the evening, with our pre booked door to door transfer dropping us off in a square as you cant drive to the front door of the Raid. The thing was they got a "porter" to deliver our bags and us to the Raid, and on arrival with the door open they started to demand a much higher price than agreed. The lady at the Raid left us to argue this. Anyway we were shown to the room - the positive being this is a lovely Raid that has been done up to an exceptional standard, and our room was lovely and clean. However it was on the first floor next to the kitchen, and being late and tired after a long journey we tried to sleep, but the noise from the kitchen and downstairs was such that we couldn't get to sleep for a long time. At some point later another couple arrived at the front door and we heard the same argument we had about paying for assistance to getting to the Raid. It is also worth noting this Raid is next to a mosque which plays the call to prayer at 4.45am for about half an hour, totally expected in this County but it is very loud and you need to be prepared to be woken by this. Due to all of the good reviews on here we also booked half board, breakfast was bread everyday, with some other stodge, cake one day, pancakes for two and croissants. we had a yogurt one day and offered an omelette on the day we had a trip booked two minutes before we had to leave !!. Breakfast was therefore very limited and not good. It is also worth noting that the two ladies working there, are very nice, but speak no English. Hamid was hardly there for the whole stay and spoke very limited English. If you cannot speak reasonably good French i suggest that this is not the place to go, and we really struggled to communicate. We had to ask about dinner every night, and was really good, however at the end of the stay Hamid tried to charge us for this despite our pre paid half board. When we showed him this, he charged us for the water we had with our meals at 20 Durhams a bottle!! (glad we didn't have the wine he offered one night). Also we did get a lot of hassle walking in the area around the Raid until we got to the Tourist areas, with no ability to communicate we struggled to get around and on the last day one of ladies did take us to our transfer pick up point reluctantly, but a much quicker way than the way we had walked all week, and even then despite the transfer company speaking to Hamid directly they took us to the wrong place. Hamid did book a trip for us, But the driver just took us on a several money spending stops. Overall we did find Morocco an experience, but was disappointed with our Raid which meant that we didn't enjoy our holiday as much as we could have.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viking51, Owner at Dar Alhambra, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Riad Dar Alhambra - the team tries very hard to please, successfully in most cases. The transfer service you booked was not through the Riad - we recommend all customers to reserve through the Riad which will bring you to the door of the Riad, without any hassle! The price of €2 for the mineral water is normal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked this Riad online because of a last minute deal and location. The photos looked great, but for the first time a long time they fell short of the reality of this beautiful Riad. We had an airport transfer arranged via online booking, with a driver who spoke good english (as well as french, arabic, berber). Mint tea while check in procedures sorted, relaxing in the tranquil centre of the Riad. Stayed in the suite on the first floor: beautiful, peaceful, cool and luxurious. Lovely staff, though french much better than their english. Very helpful with what requests our poor french could muster. Beautiful rooftop terrace (though a little hot at this time of year) with views of the Ali Ben Youssef Minaret and the medina. Breakfast delicious. Stayed 3 nights, would stay another week without thinking. Thanks Hamid and Team! Swimming pool not filled at this time, understandably in dry season in a city where water is not in abundant supply. We didn't eat dinner here only because of lack of time, but the word on the street is that it is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hamid and the three Ladies look after guests well at this very confortable Riad. Once you get used to the hustle and bustle of the Souk, and the fact that you will get lost every time you venture out, then this is an experience to enjoy for those who like a little edventure. The food in the Riad is very very good, and Hamid will supply good local wine. The local restuarants are also good -Le Jardin, the spice terrace and L'Arabe are nearby (Le Jardin is the best for lunch and dinner).
Try a trip to the Atlas mountains (Hamid will arrange for Mohammid to take you - a good driver).

YOU MUST organise a prebooked taxi from the Airport -otherwise you are open to excessive charges -and finding the Riad in the Dark is not for European visitors. Beware.

Room Tip: Get a suite as the other rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulloxhill
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Dar Alhambra is perfectly located in the Marrakech Souk with easy access to Marrakech's many places of interest. The hotel itself is an amazing building with rooms on three floors surrounding a genuinely beautiful atrium with comfortably located alcoves and rooms off for dining. But even more impressive than the outstanding architecture and beautiful décor is the quite remarkable hospitality and genuine concern for and interest in their guests shown by the staff. Hamid, Fatima, Aziza and Khadija were not just our hosts, they became our friends going well beyond the normal call of duty to assist us in any way they could.
While in Marrakech my wife had an accident and had to be hospitalised for 10 days. Hamid, Fatima, Aziza and Khadija visited her every day bringing with them magnificently prepared meals and providing company for us both.
My wife and I would recommend the Dar Alhambra to anyone who wants a genuine experience of Moroccon life and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Alhambra

Address: 33 Zaouiat Lahda | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 1,072 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 16th-century Riad, a haven of peace in the very heart of the Medina, lovingly restored in the pure Moroccan tradition - painted cedar ceilings, sculpted stucco, zelliges, marble floors...Impeccably clean, all rooms with private bath, and air conditioning. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Superb 360 view of the Medina, the Koutoubia and the snow capped Atlas mountains. One hundred yards from the Medersa Ben Youssef and the Marrakech museum, 15 minutes from Place Jemaa al Fna. Excellent cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Budget Places, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Dar Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.