We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Quite as Expected” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Alhambra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Alhambra to your Saves list
Dar Alhambra
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   33 Zaouiat Lahda | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #421 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not Quite as Expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We chose to stay in this Raid due to the good reviews on this site, so we booked our holiday in Morocco for 5 days and four nights. We arrived late in the evening, with our pre booked door to door transfer dropping us off in a square as you cant drive to the front door of the Raid. The thing was they got a "porter" to deliver our bags and us to the Raid, and on arrival with the door open they started to demand a much higher price than agreed. The lady at the Raid left us to argue this. Anyway we were shown to the room - the positive being this is a lovely Raid that has been done up to an exceptional standard, and our room was lovely and clean. However it was on the first floor next to the kitchen, and being late and tired after a long journey we tried to sleep, but the noise from the kitchen and downstairs was such that we couldn't get to sleep for a long time. At some point later another couple arrived at the front door and we heard the same argument we had about paying for assistance to getting to the Raid. It is also worth noting this Raid is next to a mosque which plays the call to prayer at 4.45am for about half an hour, totally expected in this County but it is very loud and you need to be prepared to be woken by this. Due to all of the good reviews on here we also booked half board, breakfast was bread everyday, with some other stodge, cake one day, pancakes for two and croissants. we had a yogurt one day and offered an omelette on the day we had a trip booked two minutes before we had to leave !!. Breakfast was therefore very limited and not good. It is also worth noting that the two ladies working there, are very nice, but speak no English. Hamid was hardly there for the whole stay and spoke very limited English. If you cannot speak reasonably good French i suggest that this is not the place to go, and we really struggled to communicate. We had to ask about dinner every night, and was really good, however at the end of the stay Hamid tried to charge us for this despite our pre paid half board. When we showed him this, he charged us for the water we had with our meals at 20 Durhams a bottle!! (glad we didn't have the wine he offered one night). Also we did get a lot of hassle walking in the area around the Raid until we got to the Tourist areas, with no ability to communicate we struggled to get around and on the last day one of ladies did take us to our transfer pick up point reluctantly, but a much quicker way than the way we had walked all week, and even then despite the transfer company speaking to Hamid directly they took us to the wrong place. Hamid did book a trip for us, But the driver just took us on a several money spending stops. Overall we did find Morocco an experience, but was disappointed with our Raid which meant that we didn't enjoy our holiday as much as we could have.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viking51, Owner at Dar Alhambra, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in Riad Dar Alhambra - the team tries very hard to please, successfully in most cases. The transfer service you booked was not through the Riad - we recommend all customers to reserve through the Riad which will bring you to the door of the Riad, without any hassle! The price of €2 for the mineral water is normal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    17
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
63
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked this Riad online because of a last minute deal and location. The photos looked great, but for the first time a long time they fell short of the reality of this beautiful Riad. We had an airport transfer arranged via online booking, with a driver who spoke good english (as well as french, arabic, berber). Mint tea while check in procedures sorted, relaxing in the tranquil centre of the Riad. Stayed in the suite on the first floor: beautiful, peaceful, cool and luxurious. Lovely staff, though french much better than their english. Very helpful with what requests our poor french could muster. Beautiful rooftop terrace (though a little hot at this time of year) with views of the Ali Ben Youssef Minaret and the medina. Breakfast delicious. Stayed 3 nights, would stay another week without thinking. Thanks Hamid and Team! Swimming pool not filled at this time, understandably in dry season in a city where water is not in abundant supply. We didn't eat dinner here only because of lack of time, but the word on the street is that it is fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Hamid and the three Ladies look after guests well at this very confortable Riad. Once you get used to the hustle and bustle of the Souk, and the fact that you will get lost every time you venture out, then this is an experience to enjoy for those who like a little edventure. The food in the Riad is very very good, and Hamid will supply good local wine. The local restuarants are also good -Le Jardin, the spice terrace and L'Arabe are nearby (Le Jardin is the best for lunch and dinner).
Try a trip to the Atlas mountains (Hamid will arrange for Mohammid to take you - a good driver).

YOU MUST organise a prebooked taxi from the Airport -otherwise you are open to excessive charges -and finding the Riad in the Dark is not for European visitors. Beware.

Room Tip: Get a suite as the other rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulloxhill
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Dar Alhambra is perfectly located in the Marrakech Souk with easy access to Marrakech's many places of interest. The hotel itself is an amazing building with rooms on three floors surrounding a genuinely beautiful atrium with comfortably located alcoves and rooms off for dining. But even more impressive than the outstanding architecture and beautiful décor is the quite remarkable hospitality and genuine concern for and interest in their guests shown by the staff. Hamid, Fatima, Aziza and Khadija were not just our hosts, they became our friends going well beyond the normal call of duty to assist us in any way they could.
While in Marrakech my wife had an accident and had to be hospitalised for 10 days. Hamid, Fatima, Aziza and Khadija visited her every day bringing with them magnificently prepared meals and providing company for us both.
My wife and I would recommend the Dar Alhambra to anyone who wants a genuine experience of Moroccon life and hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Booked there in February for 4 nights. After waiting half an hour for the manager, we and 2 other couples (all different agents) were told they were double-booked. No real apology but they tried to fob us off with a room in a private house round the corner! When we said no thanks, we were left on our own. Thomas Cook rep was pretty rubbish and after 4 hours we ended up in a cheaper hotel (no refund from Thomas Cook) and paying twice for transport. Double booking is apparently a common scam among some small hotels in Marrakech. Plenty of other places in the world are far better.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A little oasis in the madness of the Medina in Marrakech. Lovely staff - very friendly and welcoming. No hammam or spa facilities and no pool. A bath with shower in the room and baths/spa/hammam nearby. Breakfast good. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

V disappointing room ( see our photo). We chose to stay here for a special Easter weekend away based on all the good reviews on here and booked a suite. On our 1st night we were told we would be in a 'standard' room but would be moved the following night. We weren't but were again told on our 2nd night we would be moved for our final night. Were we? You guessed it. We chose a riad because we wanted authentic, not a westernised hotel. But this room was cramped, dark, noisy, shabby, required us to bend over constantly as ceilings so low, it had no door (ie no security), and required us to take a torch to bed every night in order to find the light switch which was in another room to the bed (see the photo if you don't believe us - would you pay 110 euros for this room?). To be fair, if the manager had told us they had messed up the first night, we would have accepted the situation. It was the constant offers to move us (so we never unpacked) but then not doing so which left a bitter taste in our mouth (they did give us the difference in money back but only after 'conversation' and only on our final day and only in dirham - pretty useless on our final day). On the bright side, the roof terrace is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Alhambra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Alhambra

Address: 33 Zaouiat Lahda | Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #421 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Alhambra 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent 16th-century Riad, a haven of peace in the very heart of the Medina, lovingly restored in the pure Moroccan tradition - painted cedar ceilings, sculpted stucco, zelliges, marble floors...Impeccably clean, all rooms with private bath, and air conditioning. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Superb 360 view of the Medina, the Koutoubia and the snow capped Atlas mountains. One hundred yards from the Medersa Ben Youssef and the Marrakech museum, 15 minutes from Place Jemaa al Fna. Excellent cuisine! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Budget Places, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Alhambra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Alhambra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.