We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Vert Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Riad Vert Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad Vert Marrakech
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   48, Derb Jdid Lakbir | Bab Kechiche, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Guernsey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Well this was our first visit to Marrakech a trip for myself and my friend Sue as a treat for my 40th Birthday. We looked at a number of hotels and Riads and in the end we decided to choose Riad Vert based on the reviews and with it being in the old city to experience true Marrakech.

The Riad was just as we expected, it's in the old part of the city (I will get to more about location below), down a little alley and is manned 24 hours a day to let you in and out. We arrived at 10am before the 2pm check in but Sanna said this was ok as a room was vacated early. We were greeted with mint tea and biscuits whilst we filled out a guest form.

At which point in this review do I talk about the staff, well I think that's quite important so I have put this at the top! Sanna is just WONDERFUL!!! The owners of the Riad are very lucky to have employed her she can not do enough for you, from recommending & booking trips, getting us water and cups of tea when we need it, booking taxi's she works so incredibly hard and is a large piece of why staying at the Riad is so good! She is backed up by three other members of staff all whom work very hard but Sanna is there for at least 12 hours a day!

The Riad is charming with 7 rooms set around a central courtyard and a the lovely rooftop terrace. We had a twin room on the bottom floor right next to the breakfast area, big ornate wooden doors leading us into our cool air conditioned room a welcome after the heat. We had a double bed and a single bed which I imagine you would use as a sofa area if it was a couple staying and our room had an en-suite wet room. There is no hairdryer and my travel dryer turned turbo power there so you would need to take a low voltage dryer with you if you really wanted one. You can hear the children playing outside and people coming and going if you think this might bother you then ask when you book for a room upstairs, this did not bother us we still slept very well.

There is a few areas to relax, downstairs in the courtyard some tables and chairs where you have breakfast, and dinner if you choose to eat there. Next to this is a step into a sofa area, and on the other side an indoor seating area for indoor meals/relaxing. Up the first flight of stairs and there is a veranda where there is another lounge area with books to read, up to the roof terrace and there are lovely sun loungers, some in shade and a cooling spa, it's not like a spa in the UK the jets are not strong we still used it when they were not on as it was nice to cool off.

The Riad is about a 30 min walk (max) down to the Souks and Sanna will show you how to get there on a map, we took one wrong turn, back tracked and found our way just fine. Once you have done it once you get a feel for the place and where you are. We walked there and to the Jardin Majorelle from the Riad with no problems. To get into the square of an evening Sanna organised Ahmed's taxi service to collect us it's Dh50 to get to the square and the same return so about £8. It's worth it I would not want to find my way around in the dark and the taxi's are great they drop you at KFC at the bottom of the square by the mosque and meet you there to bring you back at your requested time. They take payment for the journey's when they have delivered you home! I can not stress enough use Sanna's recommneded taxi service only as they bring you right back to the Riad, others do not, and they charge you a better rate where others will try to charge more. After our Spa break (see below) we did not want to walk back so we asked them to call Sanna for us and in 10 mins our taxi picked us up and brought us back to the Riad.

The breakfast was lovely traditional moroccan style, some toasted bread, pancakes and a little cake of some sort with tea or coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. We stayed for dinner one night on the recommendations here in trip advisor. We were not disappointed the food was lovely, with a bottle of white moroccan wine this was Dh550 which is approx £45 for two people. We had breads with an aubergine dish and a courgette dish with a little fried pastry to start followed by a Chicken and Olive Tagine with sweet potato, then this amazing pudding similar to a strudel with ice cream. It was fun to be fed without knowing what we were going to be given to eat and we were not disappointed.

In all I would stay here again its a great base.

I did get photos but nothing too different to what you see so have not added them.

Whilst we were in Marrakech, we visited the Du Toubkal Parc National, wear supportive shoes for going up! The Jardin Majorelle, The Souks, and The Heritage Spa. All worth a visit but please see my review for the Heritage Spa it was incredible!!!

So we booked everything through Travel Republic, my first hint of advice is don't use the transfer booking option with Travel Republic, we arrived and we saw a man with a sign for Riad Vert, we thought perfect this was easy. A man from A2B said you go with Ahmed and ticked us off his list. Ahmed was not with A2B he is the approved driver for the Riad Vert so we needed to pay twice, very naughty of A2B. You are much better off to book Ahmed directly with Sanna at the Riad he was Dh200 but the best thing about Ahmed is he takes you directly to the Riad and not to the gates of the old city where others expect you to walk. Fine once you have your bearings and understand the alley's. Any other taxi rides you need Sanna will book Ahmed's service for you and it's very good to be picked up from and dropped back to the Riad rather than having to find your way around. On our departure A2B met us at the Riad but we did have to walk to the outer wall with our cases another good reason to use Sanna's chap!

Outside of the old city walls it's a more modern city, inside the walls it's much older so please if you want clean tidy and roads with pavements, pretty to look at etc then stay outside. If you want to feel Marrakech then stay in the old city :-)

Thank you so much Sanna and staff for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Our room on the lower floor might not suit everyone the back wall is on the street (no windows) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    33
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
15
81
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Lovelly hotel in the villiage so you get a great flavour of the local life. 10 minute taxi ride takes you to the square, cafe's + shopping.
Staff cannot do enough for you. Lovelly fresh breakfast + dinner all home made. Yvonne Liverpool

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The riad is a very wonderful place to stay. We were so wonderful treated by all member of staff and specially Isabel which was a amazing host and friend. I call her friend because There is a difference between the riad Vert and hotels is that all the people who work there are doing what their are doing for love and not as a corporate business. So all the care, love for the details, was absolutely fantastic. Isabel, the owner of the riad, is a amazing person and she really takes care of you. I was treated so kindly and i felt like a home. The food , made by Fatma, was the best thing that i ever ate in my life. Typical Moroccan recipes and made by a local, as they say :“fatma’s hands”. We didn’t order any special thing or used the menu to order.... we let them bring whatever they had to offer and every time was a delightful surprise to my palate. Every single morning we were awaken by the sound of the family birds who made the riad their home , singing so beautifully that you cannot forget the music. Is like Isabel says “ we have birds without a cage”.
For breakfast we had every morning Asis greeting us with such a peaceful smile...that smile makes you feel so welcomed and that you belong there. Fresh bread, homemade jam.... delicious.
After walking during the day around the souks and be very tired we were always offered a mint tea on roof top where you can see the sunset and relax looking an explosion of colours in the sky.
I do recommend the dum dum room ( it’s the red one) it’s a great size for couples and there is a sofa which can be used as an extra bed. There is a door leading to the main balcony where you can relax near the library. Every room has a different decoration from different parts of Morroco ( what makes very special and unique) All the rooms have their own suite, air conditioning and Wi-Fi.

I never felt so blessed to have found on last minute this riad. And i must say that when was my time to fly back to London, my heart was broken to leave that beautiful paradise behind and come back to the grey sky. I truly recommend this place to all of you because it is a treasure!
I am already planning to come back soon, as when i arrived home i redecorated my conservatory in to a piece of RIAD VERT. Its where i can relax the most!!!
Patricia and Paul

Room Tip: Dum Dum Room ( red one) is fantastic and wonderful price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband and I had an uh-mazing 7 night stay at Riad Vert in September 2012. It is in a great location within easy walking distance of the souks & the Djemâa el-Fna square (10-15mins). Riad Vert is so relaxing away from the hustle and bustle. We had a lovely, airy bedroom with a view over the green patio/courtyard.

We highly recommended having a evening meal at Riad Vert...Fatima is an uh-mazing cook and we couldn't resist eating their most nights. Thank you to everyone at Riad Vert for your excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed at Riad Vert for 7 nights an it could not have been better, the place felt great the decor was fantastic. Our room was spacious and light over looking the court yard. Great roof terrace with pool. The owner Isabel was fantastic sorting all our trips and taxis, she even took the time to realise it was my birthday and informed the restaurant so I was treated to happy birthday in arabic a trip highlight. Aziz and all the staff could not do enough for us and were always cheerful. Breakfast was great and on a couple of occasions we had the riad evening meal also great. We would recommend this riad we had brilliant time can, t wait to go back

Room Tip: Get a superior room its worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duras, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Our 3 night stay in Riad Vert was fabulous. It might sound cliched but the moment you step through the ancient door from the dusty street you enter a haven of peace where the only sounds are the birds in the palm trees, the trickling fountains and Sanaa offering a chilled beer at the end of a hot day in the Souks! The decor is sumptuous and traditional, with stylish bedrooms and cool seating areas for relaxation and socialising. It feels like being a guest in someone's home. The home-cooked food is traditional and fabulous. The roof terrace is great for a cooling dip in the jacuzzi , a laze in the sun or star-gazing.
Isabel and Sanna are very helpful. Taxis to and from the airport make transfers easy and stress free. Isabel's maps and advice are really helpful. Believe what she says !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I spent 4 nights at the Riad Vert in March with three friends.
Much has been said about Sanaa and Isabel and they are
extremely helpful and charming and the Riad is excellent
value for money. However for me the location in the north
of the old city is simply to far from the main square. It is
possible to walk to the main square, takes about 30 minutes
you just keep heading south but it is impossible to find your way
back. We tried on several occassions and got lost each time the
old city is a maze. We always had to get a taxi back which is a problem
as some taxi drivers did not know where the Riad was they have to leave
you at the nearest gate into the old city. Marrakech is fabulous and I
would definitely return but as most of the action is around the square
will stay there next time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadvert, Propriétaire at Riad Vert Marrakech, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Janetel_11

we are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Riad Vert and you enjoyed your time in Marrakech
About the location of the riad indeed it's not right next to the main square but at 10mn walking from the souks and Madersa Ben Youssef in a very peacefull and real moroccan life.
i confirm you can walk back from the main square easliy during the day light.
At night it's better to take a taxi which is only 4,5€/way with the taxi service of the riad , that we provide to each guest , and coming to the door of the riad ( 20 meters walking only)
and just for information, not all things happening in Marrakech are in the main square but in the new city also ( Gueliz and Hivernage ) so it's not possible to be nearby everything as Marrakech is a big city
Best regards
Isabel Riad Vert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Vert Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Vert Marrakech

Address: 48, Derb Jdid Lakbir | Bab Kechiche, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #285 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Vert Marrakech 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located ten minutes away from the Djemâa el-Fna square and the souks, in the heart of the medina, you will find a peaceful haven, where green palm-trees strikingly contrast with the whitewashed walls. Welcome home at the Riad Vert.From 49 to 99 euro, according to the seasons, 7 spacious rooms with asserted personalities, a patio in the shade of palm trees, a bouh with larges sofas, a winter loungein subdued lights, a reading room far from the noises of the city, a terrace brightened up all year long, a delicious cooking and Jacuzzi under the sky are waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Vert Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Vert Marrakech Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Vert Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.