We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a Gem” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Kantzaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Kantzaro to your Saves list
Dar Kantzaro
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #359 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Almost a Gem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is almost excellent...but misses on every level. Arriving on a Friday night for a long weekend, we decided that we would take the offer of a meal, which was probably the worst meal we have had in any hotel. The full time housekeeper turned up the next day and was extremely helpful; an asset to the hotel. The assistant however blew hot and cold, sometimes very pleasant, sometimes almost rude. The rooms and the villa itself with a few adjustments could be beautiful and the setting is almost lovely. For example, the pool was very nice for the six rooms and associated guests but the umbrellas were old, broken and looked like they had come out of the shed. Proper white calico umbrellas would have made it an excellent feature; as it was, it just looked tatty. Lastly, our room was nearest the kitchen and there were powerful smells of boiling lamb almost all the time, which we had to try and ventilate constantly and burn a scented candle to try and clear. Oh and the WIFI internet coverage means you have to sit within about 6 feet of the dongle (no router that I could see) to get a connection. In summary, for a bargain stay, as long as you eat out and aren't expecting the Ritz, its a great place to visit - but it could be very easily so much better. Sort the food out, the internet, the smells and the umbrellas and you could have a 5 star place here.

Room Tip: Don't go for the one nearest the kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    14
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We visited Marrakech for my mother-in-law's 70th birthday and wanted to explore the city but then be able to retreat to relax and recover. And Dar Kantzaro was simply perfect. We were welcomed like family, told to treat the Dar as our home and nothing was too much trouble. We ate home cooked meals throughout our stay lovingly prepared by Badia (not to mention the terrific birthday cake), we pestered Hassan for cool Casablanca beer at all hours and yet he never failed to smile, and Najia and Rachida did a marvellous job of keeping our beautifully furnished rooms in perfect order without ever intruding or disrupting our stay. And the Dar is really stunning. A small palace in the tranquillity of an olive grove and personally the distance from the city was inconsequential as Mustafa and co whisked us back and forth in air conditioned comfort in the Dar's car. All smoothly managed by Naima who was a charming and helpful hostess. We loved the city (Naima arranged for a guide, Mustafa, to show us around, something we would thoroughly recommend to ensure you get to see what you want) although you need to watch out for the mopeds careering around the Medina and Souks. But to come home to the Dar and its lovely pool and a cool beer was the perfect tonic and we can't recommend it enough. In fact we may well come back to Marrakech just to stay at Dar Kantzaro that's how nice it was!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

very good service, very good quality of meals, very nice atmosphere.
It was a dream of 1000 and one night.
Personal was perfect for giving informations and tipps and was perfect for doing arrangements for enterprises all over marrokko.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This Guesthouse was lovely! couldn't complain about the cleanliness or the staff (who were extremely helpful!!!). The rooms were a huge size and this felt more like a home rather than a Guesthouse/Hotel as it was extremely cozy. The only downsides to this hotel was that it is quite far from the city centre of Marrakech (about 20-30mins taxi ride) so you are reliant upon taxis as the buses didnt seem that frequent. Also, there is no fridge in your room so again you are reliant upon buying all your drinks and food from the hotel as the nearest supermarket is quite a distance away (and the price of the food and drinks was a bit steep). Also, Wi-fi is only available in the lounge area and not in your room.

However, if you want a peaceful place away from noise where you can wake up to olive trees and a picturesque view of the gardens this is the place! Would definitely recommend for those who want a secret getaway!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are generally well decorated!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarKantzaro, Owner at Dar Kantzaro, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Mrs Mulika,
Thank you for staying with us this month and taking time to share your impressions about your stay. We take your comments very seriously as they enable us to improve our service to our customers.
You have pointed out the location of Dar Kantzaro as a downside and we understand that you may have found the trip into town a bit long in occasions, probably due to traffic. It usually takes 15 to 20 minutes to get to the main touristic attractions.
In fact, a lot of our guests come to Dar Kantzaro for the calm of quietness of the house and the garden, away from the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our Villa Hotel.

Mehdi Amrani Joutey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Dar Katzaro in April and it was brilliant. Amazing home cooked food (the best we had in Morocco), really friendly and helpful staff and lovely rooms, grounds and pool. Perfect for people who want to combine a city break with a holiday by the pool.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights recently and it was wonderful. The rooms are amazing and the beds very comfortable. The gardens and pool are equally as good and well maintained.

We arrived late and were greeted with some mint tea and they also prepared us a late supper. Namia was very helpful with booking taxis and giving us information about the area and what to see and do.

We visited the "3 valleys" and also went on a couple of forays into Marrakeck medina which is a pretty insane place. I preferred the peace and quiet of the hotel to be honest but still a great experience.

The food at the hotel was pretty good. A few meals were a bit basic but the pastillas and meat balls were great!

The only negatives I would say are that some of the prices at the hotel are very expensive. For example ... 40dhs for a very small bottle of Heineken! Also the taxis are pricey compared to if you book them yourself. Another negative was that it is quite hard to communicate with some of the staff as their English isnt so good, so you have to make it perfectly clear what it is you want otherwise you could end up with dinner when you dont want it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Kantzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Kantzaro

Address: Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Kantzaro 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Kantzaro lies at the heart of an olive grove of 2.5 acres, a stone throw away from Marrakech’s top attractions and faces the Atlas Mountains range. An ideal location for ultimate relaxing, for special events celebrations (weddings, birthdays…), or more simply for exotic holidays with friends or family. At Dar Kantzaro, we strive to make our guests' stay a true experience of Moroccan hospitality and our staff will go out of their way to ensure your stay is remembered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Kantzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Kantzaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.