We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis once it is found” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Kantzaro

Save Saved
You added Dar Kantzaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar Kantzaro
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #361 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Guelph, Canada
1 review
“An oasis once it is found”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I along with our wonderful friends Deb and Bill had stayed at Dar Kanzaro from April 14th till April 18th. I can't describe enough the beauty of this property and the excellent service once we had found the place. The home is about 20min from downtown Marrakech. It took us 2 extra hours of circling around the city to find this place as we couldn't get a proper address to locate it on GPS but at the end it was worth it. Once we arrived to the home at 10pm, the staff Badiaa and Jalal were very welcoming and worried about us. Once they heard we were hungry they set up a beautiful dinner table for, us even though the time was late. The rooms were large and comfortable. The place was surrounded with a grove of palm and olive trees. The garden was in full bloom with multiple colors of roses. Breakfast each morning was set up on the terrace where the sounds of birds chipping and the warmth of the sun made us feel like it was heaven. My girlfriend and I had a Moroccan hamam and massage by a lady named Saida who was great. There was also Najieh another staff member whom brother got married on the Tuesday that week and she was very excited to share with us the wedding pictures. we felt very comfortable even for us to join Badiaa in the kitchen while she was cooking Tagine. We really recommend this home to everyone hoping to enjoy the quietness, the beauty of nature and the excellent pampering from staff. I would go back to the same place now that I know how to find it.
I would alert everyone that the sign for this hotel is very small and it is hard to see off the road mostly when driving at night.

Room Tip: Rooms are on the main floor and 2 suites are on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarKantzaro, Owner at Dar Kantzaro, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your opinion on your stay at Dar Kantzaro last week.
I understand that you had some difficulties to find our place and I do apologise for the inconvenience. As you may have noticed, driving in Morocco is difficult and requires special attention at all time. This is partly due to the fact that most roads outside cities here do not have official names and signs. It is the case of Route de Fès where we are located. To ad to this, the road has been recently modified and signboards as well as lightings have been removed and not replaced. In the case of Dar Kantzaro, the signboard was available at the time of your visit but its current position makes it difficult to see from the road, especially at night, I confess.

To finish with, I would like to point out that our "hard to find" location is one of our main assets as you rightly mentioned the quietness and the peacefull environment of Dar Kantzaro.

I would like to apologise again for the inconvenience and hope to see you back in Dar Kantzaro soon.

Kind regards,

Emilie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed three days in April, and we had a very relaxing time. The staff are so friendly, and the food was delicious. The beds are very comfortable, and the interior design of the hotel is just beautiful. I would go there again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Having stayed at Dar Kantzaro last year with a group of girlfriends, we came back for more with our husbands! Our return visit did not disappoint! Mehdi & Emilie, the owners, were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were all wonderful and attentive and the food was of an exceptionally high standard. Set in lush gardens dotted with olive trees, Dar Kantzaro is truly a gem away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Superbly decorated and so comfortable we felt relaxed from day 1! Taxi's were arranged for the 20 minute journey into the Medina and the drivers were at our disposal for when we wished to return. We will definately be back and I would highly recommend for groups, couples and families.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

As a group of 11 adults, with most of us on our first trip to Marrakech, I can only add to the other positive reviews of this beautiful property.

All of the bedrooms are exquisitely furnished - as a group of 11 we took over the whole place, so were able to be nosey into eachother's rooms!

The staff cannot do enough for you and the food that they are able to prepare was lovely and very plentiful - even with some seriously big appetites.

The swimming pool area is a great size and asset, especially after a hectic trip to the souks!

I cannot praise this property enough and would be more than happy to answer any questions that anyone has.

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed by any of the rooms! They are all beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed at Dar Kantzaro after reading the other reviews on trip advisor and now want to add to the glowing reviews. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are lovely and really helpful. No one in Marrakech seems to speak much English but the staff there were the nicest and most accommodating around (but bring a french dictionary if you dont speak it) - really going out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The place is quite a bit out of town and we were nervous to get the car bill (as we used the hotel car service), but it actually worked out better and the rate was reasonable so we would use it again. Our driver was also really funny!.
We decided to have a few drinks by the pool on our last night and the staff kindly put on music and lit up the garden just for us (the other guests had departed by then) so it was really nice.
Overall it was a great stay and we would definitely recommend this to anyone - brilliant service, genuinely lovely people, clean, and it was worth being out of town for. Very relaxing!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This guest house is stunningly beautiful - furnished and decorated to a 'palicial ' standard.
Situated in a relaxing garden setting, ideal for short breaks to recharge the batteries.
Service and food is of an exceptionally high standard, with friendly, attentive but unobtrusive staff who have the uncanny knack of knowing exactly when your poolside drink needs topping up.
Ideally placed for experiencing all the sights and smells of the Medina and only a 20 minute taxi ride back to this oasis.
Ideal for couples - especially if they can leave the kids at home for a few days!.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

There are two ways you can stay in Marrakesh; in the Medina, in the midst of all the action or outside the city. If you prefer to relax away from the craziness, Dar Kantzaro is the place to be. Our very unique stay started with an upgrade to an giant suite (it was our 10-year anniversary) beautifully decorated with terrace overlooking the huge garden and pool. The place feels so removed from the city (yet not that far) and the only thing you will ever hear are the birds chirping. Service is outstanding and each meal was a delight. They even cooked a delicious pastilla just for us. The place feels more like a luxurious private residence than a b&b and so our whole stay felt like we were visiting rich friends. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Kantzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Kantzaro

Address: Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Kantzaro 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Kantzaro lies at the heart of an olive grove of 2.5 acres, a stone throw away from Marrakech’s top attractions and faces the Atlas Mountains range. An ideal location for ultimate relaxing, for special events celebrations (weddings, birthdays…), or more simply for exotic holidays with friends or family. At Dar Kantzaro, we strive to make our guests' stay a true experience of Moroccan hospitality and our staff will go out of their way to ensure your stay is remembered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Dar Kantzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Kantzaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;