We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hidden gem-highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Kantzaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Kantzaro to your Saves list
Dar Kantzaro
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 1,137 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A beautiful hidden gem-highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Having stayed at Dar Kantzaro last year with a group of girlfriends, we came back for more with our husbands! Our return visit did not disappoint! Mehdi & Emilie, the owners, were very accomodating and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were all wonderful and attentive and the food was of an exceptionally high standard. Set in lush gardens dotted with olive trees, Dar Kantzaro is truly a gem away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Superbly decorated and so comfortable we felt relaxed from day 1! Taxi's were arranged for the 20 minute journey into the Medina and the drivers were at our disposal for when we wished to return. We will definately be back and I would highly recommend for groups, couples and families.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

As a group of 11 adults, with most of us on our first trip to Marrakech, I can only add to the other positive reviews of this beautiful property.

All of the bedrooms are exquisitely furnished - as a group of 11 we took over the whole place, so were able to be nosey into eachother's rooms!

The staff cannot do enough for you and the food that they are able to prepare was lovely and very plentiful - even with some seriously big appetites.

The swimming pool area is a great size and asset, especially after a hectic trip to the souks!

I cannot praise this property enough and would be more than happy to answer any questions that anyone has.

Room Tip: You wont be disappointed by any of the rooms! They are all beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed at Dar Kantzaro after reading the other reviews on trip advisor and now want to add to the glowing reviews. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are lovely and really helpful. No one in Marrakech seems to speak much English but the staff there were the nicest and most accommodating around (but bring a french dictionary if you dont speak it) - really going out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The place is quite a bit out of town and we were nervous to get the car bill (as we used the hotel car service), but it actually worked out better and the rate was reasonable so we would use it again. Our driver was also really funny!.
We decided to have a few drinks by the pool on our last night and the staff kindly put on music and lit up the garden just for us (the other guests had departed by then) so it was really nice.
Overall it was a great stay and we would definitely recommend this to anyone - brilliant service, genuinely lovely people, clean, and it was worth being out of town for. Very relaxing!

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

This guest house is stunningly beautiful - furnished and decorated to a 'palicial ' standard.
Situated in a relaxing garden setting, ideal for short breaks to recharge the batteries.
Service and food is of an exceptionally high standard, with friendly, attentive but unobtrusive staff who have the uncanny knack of knowing exactly when your poolside drink needs topping up.
Ideally placed for experiencing all the sights and smells of the Medina and only a 20 minute taxi ride back to this oasis.
Ideal for couples - especially if they can leave the kids at home for a few days!.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

There are two ways you can stay in Marrakesh; in the Medina, in the midst of all the action or outside the city. If you prefer to relax away from the craziness, Dar Kantzaro is the place to be. Our very unique stay started with an upgrade to an giant suite (it was our 10-year anniversary) beautifully decorated with terrace overlooking the huge garden and pool. The place feels so removed from the city (yet not that far) and the only thing you will ever hear are the birds chirping. Service is outstanding and each meal was a delight. They even cooked a delicious pastilla just for us. The place feels more like a luxurious private residence than a b&b and so our whole stay felt like we were visiting rich friends. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

The service was discreet and exemplary - nothing was too much trouble. Our room was very pleasant - well furnished with a bowl of fresh fruit was always supplied. The riad is situated 10 km south of Marrakesh and is very small and quiet; it has peaceful gardens and a lovely swimming pool with comfortable sunbeds, umbrellas, fresh towels and hats available. Breakfast (sreved outside) was excellent - no need for anything more than fruit for lunch - and dinner typically Moroccan. Tea (mint or English) was always available at no extra charge and the mint tea was accompanied by small Moroccan cakes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2009

We have just returned from staying at the Dar Kantzaro, just outside Marrakech - we were lucky enough to be the ony guests for our entire week there! It is a perfect hotel/guesthouse if you want somewhere relaxing and quiet rather than being in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech itself. Although the owner has arranged special rates with a travel firm if you do want to go out and about - we did this on one day and foundt he driver to have good English and the Mercedes was clean and seemed in very good condition compared to many of the cars we had seen out and about!

We had all our meals in the hotel, which were a delight - we chose to have no say in what we had, instead letting the cook decide for us, and we had something different for every meal (lunch and dinner). Although by the end of the week we were finding 3 good meals a day a bit too much for us! We had everything from chicken, beef, lamb, kidneys, liver (although the owner checked with us before the cook did any offal), in a variety of forms, with many excellent salads/side dishes to go with the meat. We had tagines, couscous and pastillas throughout the week for evenings meals. All the soft drinks were free throughout the day, although it would have been helpful to have a list of what was on offer. The freshly squuezed orange juice was very nice!

The staff were really friendly and helpful, the only downside was our lack of good French as Ibrahim's English wasn't that good and the cook spoke no English at all. The owner did have good English though and he (or his wife) visited every day to check that we were OK. The staff tended to keep out of your way unless you wanted them or they thought it was time you had a drink in the day!

The hotel looks out onto the Atlas Mountains in the distance and is located in an olive grove, with lovely flowers and plants as well, a gardener seemed to spend his whole time watering flower beds and the lawn.

We made use of the Scrabble set and playing cards provided in the lounge area. I would recommend perhaps taking a couple of CDs to vary the selection that they had playing.

The room was very nice and spacious, with a nice en-suite bathroom - we were taken on a tour of the entire place the first night and could see that all the rooms were different but equally nice. I personally was glad we didn't pay extra for a suite as the shared areas (although we were there alone) were sufficient for our needs.

The pool is unheated and as a result was too cold to really use during our time as the week before hadn't been that warm and it needs a good few weeks of hot weather to warm it up - after about 4 days the top inch of the pool was an OK temperature, but the rest can't have been more than about 10 degrees. I would imagine if you go more into April/May etc the pool would get hotter.

The hotel only accepts Morrocan Dirhams (which can't be obtained outside of Morrocco) or credit cards. They do not exchange travellers cheques or sterling for local currency. There are 2 money exchanges at the airport, and if like us you hadn't done this the driver when we took our trip into the Medina only needed paying after we had got backt ot he hotel so we could change our travellers cheques in the medina.

We would certainly return again if we wanted somewhere relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#90 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#124 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
7.4 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#290 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
6.5 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#5 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Kantzaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Kantzaro

Address: Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 1,137 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Dar Kantzaro 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Kantzaro lies at the heart of an olive grove of 2.5 acres, a stone throw away from Marrakech’s top attractions and faces the Atlas Mountains range. An ideal location for ultimate relaxing, for special events celebrations (weddings, birthdays…), or more simply for exotic holidays with friends or family. At Dar Kantzaro, we strive to make our guests' stay a true experience of Moroccan hospitality and our staff will go out of their way to ensure your stay is remembered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dar Kantzaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Kantzaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.