We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amaaaazing!!! Lovely!!! Marveulleuse!!! Fantastisch! Genial! Increible!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Mora Shalimar

Save Saved
You added Casa Mora Shalimar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Mora Shalimar
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb El Hammam | Bab Aylan, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 1,035 Marrakech B&B and Inns
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amaaaazing!!! Lovely!!! Marveulleuse!!! Fantastisch! Genial! Increible!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

From the moment we arrived at lovely Riad Shalimar we felt at home. Marie Helene is the most amazing hostess and she was waiting for us with a great mint tea that we enjoyed in the amazing patio of the riad. We chatted in a friendly atmosphere while the cook prepared the most fantastic tagine!! I miss her cooking so much! She was simply great! Better than many of the tagines we had in restaurants around Morocco! We stayed in a room at the groundfloor, very comfy, clean, nicely decorated and very fresh and cool for the high temperatures of Marrakesh. We spent our first night there and then headed to the desert and we could not book another room in this riad for our return. Since we had a problem with the other riad we called Marie Helene and her lovely husband Etienne who invited us for dinner that night and helped us out! They were just amazing and fastastic people!! We are so grateful because they made our stay in Marrakesh one of the most unforgettable things in our lives!! It is not very easy to wander around the Medina, you can get lost very easily but they were always there to help us, we could call them at any time and always gave us directions! Look no more, Riad Shalimar is THE place to stay!!! We will definitely return there!! :o)

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2010

This is a very nice , peaceful, clean riad with small , but clean rooms and a beautifull decor!! It is quite difficult to find initially, as it is located in the East part of medina (Bab Ayllen) and it is easy to get lost.It is about 20 minute walk to souk and Jalmal El Fna. However, you get used to it after a few times. We met the owner while staying there and he is a realy nice french guy, who stays in the medina 6 months per year, so if there are any problems you can always seal to him.The terrace is a very nice and so peaceful to have a breakfast there!! The only minus point I would say is that the door to the rooms do not lock, bu they do give you the keys to the main door and also there is a safe in the room. Overall, I would definitely reccomend it!! It is a very good value for money!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Having read about Marrakech we were expecting it to be different but nothing quite prepares you for the madness! The taxi drive from the airport is through tiny streets heaving with people, and then the last bit of the journey is on foot through narrow alleyways. When we finally reached the Riad we were welcomed into a beautiful courtyard, shown to a beautiful room and offered mint tea (delicious). It was tempting to stay in the tranquility and attempting to find our way through the tiny streets seemed more than a bit daunting.

The first time we left the Riad was intense and it took us a while to find the main square, but after we found it once we found it very easy to navigate to and from again. The more we walked the streets the more comfortable we felt - just watch out for the mopeds!

The Riad is in an area where there are few other tourists and can be a bit quiet later at night - there aren't many restaurants nearby so it is a good 20 minute walk back to the square to find places to eat, but there are plenty when you get there. Even though the streets quieten off later at night it still felt safe, even down the small alleyway back to the Riad.

Service was great and we got a different breakfast each day at whatever time we requested, and 3 were tradiitional moroccan breakfasts. We had breakfast on the roof terrace which was pretty. We also had dinner in the Riad one night - amazing Morrocan food cooked in the Riad for 240dirham (about £20).

The Riad is very well kept and very clean. We stayed in the room Lillac and it was very comfortable with a good bathroom and a safe (but we couldn't work out how to use it). At night the Riad is particularly romantic with candles lit. The only problem with the Riad was that we don't speak fluent French and the lady who runs it speaks no English so it was quite hard to communicate sometimes, although she tried very hard to understand us and was very patient! A French phrasebook is a must if you aren't fluent.

If you are looking for a relaxing quiet place to stay the medina probably isn't for you as it is very intense. Gueliz and Hivernage are much quieter and more spatious (and feel much more European), but staying in the medina feels like 'real' Marrakech.

The Riad was a beautiful place to stay and very romantic. It's great value and it feels very homely with great service, just bring comfy shoes for all the walking!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

The hotel is really nice. Rooms are clean and furnished with morocan style. Bathrooms and towels are clean

There is a nice living room to sip mint tea and talk with other guests. The terrace is an excellent spot to have breakfast.

Breakfast is very good, fresh orange juice, crepes, pastries, etc..

We also had dinner one night and it was excellent.

Just a little warning: the riad is on the old town, where there are no "normal" streets . The riad is little bit far from the famous square (20 min walk). It is difficult to get there if you don't know the area. I recommend to hire the airport pickup (20 euros). I was in shock the first time I arrived, because we had to walk through a dark alley to get to the hotel.

but I recommend it if you want to live the morocan experience

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarai2879
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Great little riad with friendly staff. Good value at the lower end of the budget, presumably due to lack of pool and the fact it is a good 25-30 minute walk from the main square (tho a few minutes walk the other way provides plenty of taxis). We loved the terrace lighting (and the stairs up to it) at night and the sunken seating in the lounge. Breakfast was a treat, with variation everyday. Bottled water in room and mint tea on arrival. Good powerful hot showers. Safe in room. Only minus was not being able to pay by credit card.

  • Liked — terrace, colours
  • Disliked — the long walk to the square!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Mora Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Mora Shalimar

Address: Derb El Hammam | Bab Aylan, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 1,035 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Mora Shalimar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inside the city walls of the Medina Marrakech in the heart of the picturesque Assouel district, near Door Bab Aylen, the Bed and Breakfast Riad Shalimar welcomes guests in a beautiful setting, steps from the Ben Youssef Madrasa and the Dar el PachaMuseum. The famous Jemaa El Fna square, the Souk as well as the main golf courses of Marrakech are accessible in a few minute drive. If you travel by car, you can park in the nearby parking facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Tingo so you can book your Casa Mora Shalimar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Mora Shalimar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.