We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you can dream of while staying in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Laila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Laila to your Saves list
Riad Laila
104 Diour Jdad - Arset Ben Brahim | After the Big Taxis Station of Bab Doukkala / Bab Yacout, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #114 of 1,113 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Everything you can dream of while staying in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Riad Laila is a true oasis in the middle of Marrakech. Spacious rooms with beautifull, traditional decorations, amazing garden and pool. Great place to relax after visiting busy Medina. The hosts are very welcoming and create an amazing atmosphere of the place. We recommend Riad Laila to everybody who is looking for a true moroccan place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    16
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Very lovely stay here- beautiful courtyard and nice roof space for chilling out. Very, very helpful and charming staff. Place is kept very clean and tidy. Our room, or rather suite was nothing fancy but perfectly fine with very comfy bed and some nice furniture and plenty of storage.
Breakfast was fine - got a bit repetative after 5 nights and maybe some fruit would be nice as well but the panckaes were delicious and the orange juice was fresh so its a minor quibble.
I would recommend highly to friends - the location is great - very local and away from the touristy south of the Medina but still only a short walk away and lots of nice places to eat nearby like the Riad Mers for wonderful fish in a very romantic setting. Laila's proximity to the Bab Doukhalla grand taxis also makes it very easy to find and navigate back to and also its only walking distance from the Jardins Majorelle!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Riad Laila for 5 nights. After the hustle and bustle of the medina, it was a great place to return to and relax in. The manager, Kamal, got in touch before we left the UK and arranged to collect us from the airport and had a 3 course dinner awaiting us on the first evening.
Nothing was too much trouble and he went out of his way to make sure our stay was as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. He gave us the Riad's address on a card in arabic, which was an extremely good idea, as it's very easy to get lost on those first couple of days! I booked the Jaune Suite, which is ideal for a small family and spacious. Kamal also organised a trip for us up to the Atlas mountains, which was one of the highlights of the holiday. I would definitely recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to experience the sights, sounds and ambiance of life within the Medina walls.

Room Tip: The Jaune Suite is spacious enough for a family of 3 or 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Stayed here with another couple for a short break in Feb 12. The entrance is deceptive - gives no clue to the beautiful and spacious interior, complete with courtyard containing pool and established garden. Rooms were perfectly adequate, although evening and early morning temperatures were low and we really needed the electric heater. A good breakfast was provided on the roof terrace, which we really enjoyed (although again on the cool side).
The manager was extremely helpful - recommending, booking for us, and even taking us, to a superb restaurant that we'd never otherwise have found, and he also made all the arrangements for a day trip to the mountains for us.
Location is very good, convenient for all within the medina, but also close to the wall and the taxi rank for trips elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We really loved our time here - three nights during our honeymoon. We may have been the only ones there and received real royal treatment from the family who runs the place. A beautiful little riad in the heart of Marrakech, just 10 mins walk from the central markets and some terrific restaurants. Our quiet breakfasts here were one of the highlights to our time in Morocco.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Riad Laila proved an excellent choice providing comfort, peace and a rare place to swim and cool off from the searing heat. Kumar, the manager, was excellent and made us feel as if we were sharing his home and nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner at the Riad three times and each occassion it was excellent and far better than could be found elsewhere in the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2008

The worst thing about booking this was Expedia themselves. However, having got through that, the trip to Marrakech was super. When you book Riad Confort El Tradition, you are booking a certain category of Riad, in this case it was Riad Privilege and when Expedia get your booking, they transfer the information to Riads au Maroc, who put you into a Riad according to what you have paid and your requirements(we needed a triple room). I contacted Riads au Maroc and had a lovely email from Aziz who informed me we were staying at RIAD LAILA. On arrival, we found our Riad to be a large, grand beautuful riad and as we were the only ones staying there until the last day, we were able to change our room to a stunning huge suite, which although quite chilly, because of the weather, we had an electric fire which kept us comfortable. Everything was intricate, ornate, pretty and authentic and Najwa and Kamel were the perfect hosts and were very kind. We thoroughley enjoyed our time in this beautiful Riad and would love to go back when it is hot and sunny. It is though located in the top area of the medina about 20 mins walk to the main square (if you don't get lost) but luckily it is quite close to the medina wall and the taxi area.

Big hint for all travellers....Ask your Riad to write down your address or destination in Arabic, as not all taxi drivers speak English, they certainly can't read English and most can't make head nor tail of a map, but if you have something written down in Arabic, Bingo!

  • Liked — Our room, the courtyard, the sun terraces
  • Disliked — Nothing - just the weather
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Laila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Laila

Address: 104 Diour Jdad - Arset Ben Brahim | After the Big Taxis Station of Bab Doukkala / Bab Yacout, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 1,113 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Laila is a stunnin dwelling in the middle of one of the most beautiful garden in the medina. The riad can accomodate up to 18 people while preserving tranquility and privacy for everyone. It has 3 suites and 4 double bedrooms. Its spacious pool and sunny terraces will give youa wonderful view of the city of Marrakech. The riad Laila conciliates Moroccan refinement and coziness sought by the travelers. We find is this unique 840m2 riad the architecture of the previous centuries, mixing tradition and moodernity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Laila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Laila Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Laila, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.