We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty courtyard, but meh everything else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tim Tam

Riad Dar Tim Tam
42, 44, rue Rahba Lakdima, Marrakech, Morocco
212 24 391446
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #352 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $15 - $23
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pretty courtyard, but meh everything else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Looks shady from the outside and the boys who try to get you inside look homeless. But went in to check it out. Was pretty inside with a nice open courtyard.
Set menu they first give is a joke. Ask for a la carte. Has usual Moroccan food on it. My chicken targine was a bit dry.
Also try and sit in the sun. The tall walls make it cold if you're in the shade for a few hours. Especially as no wind gets inside.
Bathrooms are okay here too.
Didn't try dessert.
Service was fine but slow. Brought out standard bread olives dip whilst we waited. The bread I must say was delicious. Really hot and obviously fresh. So well done on that.
Wouldn't go again though. Can find much better food at that price elsewhere in the city.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    20
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Dinner in an old palace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

From the outside, this place looks very unprepossessing. You walk through a rug shop, a passage, and then you come out into the most beautiful charming old palace with a huge open courtyard and ornate decoration. It's a bit old and crumbling but that is part of its charm.

The night we went, it was relatively quiet and we had friendly and prompt service, which ended with us meeting the riad's resident cat! The food was very good value and they gave us bread with the most phenomenal harissa at the start. (Note that it is a dry restaurant!) A lovely little place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A place to stop for refreshment during the shopping trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Located in the middle of the souk area it is great place to stop for mint tea - if you have not been given so much tea that you are fit to burst during the purchase of all your goodies in the souks

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arbroath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not so nice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Myself and 6 other friends all ladies were wandering through the Souk and were invited in....ONLY to look and to see what the restaurant looked like...we decided to sit and drink some tea..a man whom I can only think was the boss was very charming until when on paying the bill...expensive for tea...we decided not to reserve a table. I can only guess at the profanities were as they were spoken in Arabic but I know they were not nice. I would be very careful here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deepajv
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A nice break from the souks, but a little overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stumbled in after wandering around the souks. The food was average, the service was horrible. All of our requests were met with a sneer from the staff, but maybe that was just his face?
The ambience was lovely amongst the roses, but the food was not the best we had in Marrakech. Worth popping in for a tea (expensive) and some photos.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riad Dar Tim Tam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Riad Dar Tim Tam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tim Tam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.