We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hammam visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Save Saved
You added Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Tyne & Wear
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“hammam visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

visited during a 2 weeks stay in Marrakech, the spa facilities were very luxurious and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. There was actually no guests staying in the hotel on the day we visited and they did offer us a great discount to stay the night there! I cant comment on the hotel itself only that the rooms looked very nice. I agree on some reviews that the pool is tiny and I expect the Riad it could be a bit of a nightmare to find on foot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    80
    19
    12
    11
See reviews for
47
182
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ternat, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed one week in this Riad from July 14th till July 21nd 2013.
The room and bathroom were very clean and spacious, a good bed with clean sheets, they changed the towels every day.
We had breakfast on the lovely terrace every morning, (little variation though)
The staff was very friendly and always present.
We had one meal in the riad which was very nice, compared to the local restaurants price is rather high. (same for the spa)

We advise to buy a detailed map of Marrakech (medina) in a local store (maps in travel guides are not detailed enough), once you orientated yourself, finding the riad even in the evening is not difficult at all.

For excursions and taxi rides you can make better deals by negotiating them yourself, rates in the riad are high.

When you stay in Marrakech during the ramadan, like we did, you should bear in mind that the sights of the town and shops close early.

We would surely recommend this riad to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwyz, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We’re four friends from Switzerland and had a fantastic stay at this Riad in February 2013!

The room and bathroom were quite large and very clean. Wi-Fi in the room is not optimal, in the lobby it works really well.

The service and kindness of the staff were great. Taxis were organized for us to our full satisfaction. The staff always helped us with all our questions.

On the terrace of the Riad there is a magnificent view of Marrakech. There are beach chairs where you can sunbath wonderfully a few hours.

We took breakfast (a standard one is included in the price) in the sunshine on the terrace and twice we ate there in the evening. For dinner the best way is to inform the lobby in advance, so you can already halfway order your food. The prices are more expensive than the standard in Morocco or as it is on Jemaa el-Fnaa, but the atmosphere and the lovely service we’re worth it. Quality of the food is great by the way.

We can therefore only recommend this Riad. Surely it is very useful if you know exactly the location of the Riad in advance. It is quite hidden in the alleys. It’s possible to achieve the Riad with a small taxi, walking distance from Jemaa el-Fnaa is ten minutes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalesund
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a one week stay at this beautiful riad two weeks ago. Nice and central location in the Medina with short distances to main attractions and restaurants. Being a family of 4 we had 2 rooms the Sahadienne and Bahia. Both rooms were nice and clean. The only minus were the showers as there could be low water pressure and not warm enough water.
The riad has a marvelous sun terrace where in fine weather the breakfast is served. The hotel staff has been very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at the riad on our arrival day. The food was good but small amounts and somewhat pricy compared to many other restaurants in the Medina. The nearby Le Foundouk is a better choice with very good food in a pretty, candlelight atmosphere for a reasonable price.
Anyway, we had a very pleasant stay at this riad and would choose it again when coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent four nights at Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc last week and loved it! It was really interesting to stay at a Riad in the Medina - much more interesting than a hotel. We found the location good, great room, fab bathroom (we stayed in the Bali) and very clean. In addition, the staff were brilliant - friendly and very helpful - nothing too much trouble. We would definitely recommend it and would go back and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is not a five stars holiday place, please do not be fooled by the home page which gives you an impression of a fancy house – which it is not. On top everything the Riad offers is heavy overpriced!

The location of the Riad is in the slum of Marrakesh. The roads to the place are very narrow, dark and full of poor people. Taxis can drive to a certain point after which we have to walk on your feet to reach the Riad.

Our room was big, the furniture were old and had black stains, one of the bed sheets had a hole and the towels were old and hard. No fridge, phone or a closet were there! There was a small inner cold and humid room for the clothes and bags.
The bathroom was big but we could not enjoy a shower as the water temperature kept changing from very hot to cold.

The WiFi was promised as part of the standard room facility but it turned out to be available only in one spot in the hallway - no wireless in the room, restaurant or balcony – and that was a big disappointment.

Breakfast was a big disappointment as well. It was very basic and was the same every morning: a plate of small fresh bread, two small pots of jam and one of butter, a glass of orange juice for each , tea-bags and a small bowl of thin chopped apple and banana or a small yoghurt for each.

The manager decided in the morning for a local dish as the dinner for the evening. The staff would serve a starter, main course (local dish) and a dessert. We did not have an option for any alternative dishes.

The outdoor swimming pool is a joke – a water basin of 2 * 4 mt in the middle of the opened hallway is not an outdoor pool!

The spa and hamam facilities were also very pricy.

The positive about the Riad: (1)the staff were nice and friendly. (2) very nice sitting on the roof while enjoying the sun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location is not so convinient speially when returing to hotel late in the evening. However the hotel arrange taxi for you.

The hotel and the spa was very good, staf was very friendly,

overall peacefull and nice hotel

Room Tip: Room Menara har en veldig god plassering, med liten balkong og fine sol forhold
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Address: 12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#93 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#179 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un des joyaux de la Médina à l’abri des regards...Un Palais du XVIII, où règne la magnificence des mille et une nuits … 10 chambres, Spa de 200 m2, salle de fitness : culture du bien-être. Les plaisirs de la table avec son Restaurant «gastronomie marocaine».Un moment magique avec son Jardin sur la grande terrasse.La plénitude de ses 3 patios dont un avec Piscine. Retrouvez un lieu privilégié dont le nom,"Esprit du Maroc"exprime le raffinement de sa décoration sortie tout droit d’un rêve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad & Spa Esprit Du Maroc Hotel Marrakech
Riad And Spa Esprit Du Maroc
Riad Esprit Du Maroc Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.