We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc to your Saves list
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Aalesund
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a one week stay at this beautiful riad two weeks ago. Nice and central location in the Medina with short distances to main attractions and restaurants. Being a family of 4 we had 2 rooms the Sahadienne and Bahia. Both rooms were nice and clean. The only minus were the showers as there could be low water pressure and not warm enough water.
The riad has a marvelous sun terrace where in fine weather the breakfast is served. The hotel staff has been very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner at the riad on our arrival day. The food was good but small amounts and somewhat pricy compared to many other restaurants in the Medina. The nearby Le Foundouk is a better choice with very good food in a pretty, candlelight atmosphere for a reasonable price.
Anyway, we had a very pleasant stay at this riad and would choose it again when coming back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    84
    20
    13
    13
See reviews for
50
187
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent four nights at Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc last week and loved it! It was really interesting to stay at a Riad in the Medina - much more interesting than a hotel. We found the location good, great room, fab bathroom (we stayed in the Bali) and very clean. In addition, the staff were brilliant - friendly and very helpful - nothing too much trouble. We would definitely recommend it and would go back and stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is not a five stars holiday place, please do not be fooled by the home page which gives you an impression of a fancy house – which it is not. On top everything the Riad offers is heavy overpriced!

The location of the Riad is in the slum of Marrakesh. The roads to the place are very narrow, dark and full of poor people. Taxis can drive to a certain point after which we have to walk on your feet to reach the Riad.

Our room was big, the furniture were old and had black stains, one of the bed sheets had a hole and the towels were old and hard. No fridge, phone or a closet were there! There was a small inner cold and humid room for the clothes and bags.
The bathroom was big but we could not enjoy a shower as the water temperature kept changing from very hot to cold.

The WiFi was promised as part of the standard room facility but it turned out to be available only in one spot in the hallway - no wireless in the room, restaurant or balcony – and that was a big disappointment.

Breakfast was a big disappointment as well. It was very basic and was the same every morning: a plate of small fresh bread, two small pots of jam and one of butter, a glass of orange juice for each , tea-bags and a small bowl of thin chopped apple and banana or a small yoghurt for each.

The manager decided in the morning for a local dish as the dinner for the evening. The staff would serve a starter, main course (local dish) and a dessert. We did not have an option for any alternative dishes.

The outdoor swimming pool is a joke – a water basin of 2 * 4 mt in the middle of the opened hallway is not an outdoor pool!

The spa and hamam facilities were also very pricy.

The positive about the Riad: (1)the staff were nice and friendly. (2) very nice sitting on the roof while enjoying the sun.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location is not so convinient speially when returing to hotel late in the evening. However the hotel arrange taxi for you.

The hotel and the spa was very good, staf was very friendly,

overall peacefull and nice hotel

Room Tip: Room Menara har en veldig god plassering, med liten balkong og fine sol forhold
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baak, Gelderland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We liked this raid a lot. The pictures on internet are a reliabel statement of the Riad. It is in the north of the medina.
The staff was excellent. It was very clean and we liked the food.
Only one problem, drinks are rather expensive. We stayed in the bougainviller room . It had a great and beautiful bathroom. Bed was ok. The roof terrace was lovely in the evening

Room Tip: Bougainviller room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at the riad - my room was spacious and clean and the staff were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The riad had a number of common areas and a rooftop patio where one could relax or take some sun. The patio also served as the breakfast and dinner area. Breakfast was tasty and always more than I could finish (pastries with jam and cream cheese and fruit or yogurt). I had dinner at the riad one night and found the food delicious and again plentiful. I must recommend the hammam and massage - both were amazing and a wonderful way to unwind after a long flight. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Address: 12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#105 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#190 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un des joyaux de la Médina à l’abri des regards...Un Palais du XVIII, où règne la magnificence des mille et une nuits … 10 chambres, Spa de 200 m2, salle de fitness : culture du bien-être. Les plaisirs de la table avec son Restaurant «gastronomie marocaine».Un moment magique avec son Jardin sur la grande terrasse.La plénitude de ses 3 patios dont un avec Piscine. Retrouvez un lieu privilégié dont le nom,"Esprit du Maroc"exprime le raffinement de sa décoration sortie tout droit d’un rêve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad & Spa Esprit Du Maroc Hotel Marrakech
Riad And Spa Esprit Du Maroc
Riad Esprit Du Maroc Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.