We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing but difficult location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Save Saved
You added Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
“Relaxing but difficult location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The location is not so convinient speially when returing to hotel late in the evening. However the hotel arrange taxi for you.

The hotel and the spa was very good, staf was very friendly,

overall peacefull and nice hotel

Room Tip: Room Menara har en veldig god plassering, med liten balkong og fine sol forhold
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    76
    19
    11
    11
See reviews for
46
178
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baak, Gelderland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We liked this raid a lot. The pictures on internet are a reliabel statement of the Riad. It is in the north of the medina.
The staff was excellent. It was very clean and we liked the food.
Only one problem, drinks are rather expensive. We stayed in the bougainviller room . It had a great and beautiful bathroom. Bed was ok. The roof terrace was lovely in the evening

Room Tip: Bougainviller room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I very much enjoyed my stay at the riad - my room was spacious and clean and the staff were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. The riad had a number of common areas and a rooftop patio where one could relax or take some sun. The patio also served as the breakfast and dinner area. Breakfast was tasty and always more than I could finish (pastries with jam and cream cheese and fruit or yogurt). I had dinner at the riad one night and found the food delicious and again plentiful. I must recommend the hammam and massage - both were amazing and a wonderful way to unwind after a long flight. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Riad staff took great care of us during our stay. Food was amazing except breakfast after the 2nd morning, its included in the cost and they service the same thing every morning. We stayed in the Bali room which has an awesome bathroom with a HUGE tub. Our bed was as hard as a rock. I did not sleep comfortably the entire stay. The rooftop terrace was always nice and relaxing and never overcrowded. The furnishings were quite dusty but something I could live with. The staff offered towels. Navigating the riad can be quite daunting at first but you easily get the hang of it. We were offered a guide (his name was Aziz, he was like the Godfather - everyone knew him) for our 1st day in the souks and square. The hotel arranged for him at 450DH, which was probably a little expensive for about 4 hours of walking. However having him was invaluable, he took us to the shops where the craftsman make all the items in the souks and bazaar. AMAZING experience!
Back to the riad, do not eat there. It is totally overpriced and you can eat for about 25% of the cost elsewhere. Also, beware of the "taxes" they charge as they are overpriced as well and can be negoiated. We didnt find this out until we had already paid. The manager will ask you to pay in cash, but we paid our entire bill (4500DH) by credit card. Beware of what you are ordering because they do not give you a bill after each meal like normal hotels, you have to keep note yourself and compare at checkout. Two more compliants, ONE channel on cable in english Al-Jazeerah and wi-fi only works in the corridor by the riad entrance. No wi-fi in your room or on the terrace, major disappointment.
Lastly, staff was amazing!!!!!!!! Hassan treated us like family, always greeting us with a smile and friendly conversation. He really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I spent one week in Riad esprit du Maroc and I had a very pleasant time.
Staff is very nice, they take care of you.
Food is great, especially breakfast with fresh juices and home made bread. You can choose to eat in the restaurant, on hte swimming pool or on the terrace. Rooms are comfortable and clean. There is also a small SPA where you can have hammam or relaxing massages. Definitively a nice place to stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This Riad is tucked away in the alleyways of the old town but once you get your bearings(which is not easy unless you have a very good map) it is an 15 minute walk down Rue Mouassine to the main square.The Riad is just as you see in the pictures but the chairs in the room were grubby ,the wall by our bed was very dirty and the towels are like sandpaper.Do not expect the designer toiletries which were detailed int the hotel description as the only toiletries provided were bath salts ,soap and body lotion which were basic to say the least.We stayed for 1 week and breakfast was the same every day : a very small glass of orange juice,coffee or tea from a thermos jug , a plate of bread accompanied by 2 small pots of jam for 3 of us and 3 small bowls of chopped apple with the peel on .
Do not make the mistake ( as we did ) of eating dinner in the hotel.We had our first dinner in the hotel but were not asked to sign anything on completion of the meal.Towards the end of our stay we asked to have our bill in advance so we could change enough currency.The staff seemed fearful of the manager and could not do anything before she arrived the following day.She presented us with the book to write a review then presented us with the bill.
We were charged almost £100 for a below average meal (charged £7.50 each for starter - 4 samosas each 3 cm in length,lamb tagine with cous cous and small bowl of chopped up fruit for dessert). There was also a Moroccan tax which amounted to £50 for the 3 of us for the week so beware.The manager insisted on being paid directly whilst she was still at the building so we were hassled to pay before we were ready to check out.
Our air conditioning broke down in the middle of our stay so we spent one night in stifling heat,before we moved to a different room where unfortunately we found cockroaches.The TV which we were advised would have free movie channels on booking only showed Al Jazeera. We could get the World BBC channel without any sound and when we asked if this could be fixed we were told it was due to a fault of the BBC that we had no sound!
Most of the staff at the hotel were polite and friendly.They wanted to know each night what time we wanted breakfast in the morning and where, as you can eat in your room or in 2 or 3 other locations around the Riad. I could understand this if they were providing a freshly cooked breakfast but as the breakfast was so basic and the chopped apple could be prepared in minutes I do not know why we were pinned down to a time.Some days the staff knocked on your door if they felt you were late ,other days we sat around waiting well after the time we had suggested and nothing happened .One day we tried to sneak out without having breakfast( we had not given a time the night before) and were caught only to be told breakfast was ready and then we waited ages before it arrived!
Do not book the trip to the Atlas mountains through the hotel as we were shown only a small berber home and a small waterfall .The driver handed us over to a guide at the waterfall as he said his English was not very good .We went to tip the guide who hardly spoke to us and he insisted that we pay more in addition to the money we had already paid (we refused!).
Marrakech is a colourful ,interesting place for a short trip but we would not stay in this Riad again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Also Known As:
Riad & Spa Esprit Du Maroc Hotel
Riad And Spa Esprit Du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit Du Maroc Hotel Marrakech
Riad Esprit Du Maroc Marrakech
Address: 12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un des joyaux de la Médina à l’abri des regards...Un Palais du XVIII, où règne la magnificence des mille et une nuits … 10 chambres, Spa de 200 m2, salle de fitness : culture du bien-être. Les plaisirs de la table avec son Restaurant «gastronomie marocaine».Un moment magique avec son Jardin sur la grande terrasse.La plénitude de ses 3 patios dont un avec Piscine. Retrouvez un lieu privilégié dont le nom,"Esprit du Maroc"exprime le raffinement de sa décoration sortie tout droit d’un rêve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.