We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Save Saved
You added Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #219 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Write a Review

274 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    79
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
45
180
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Riad staff took great care of us during our stay. Food was amazing except breakfast after the 2nd morning, its included in the cost and they service the same thing every morning. We stayed in the Bali room which has an awesome bathroom with a HUGE tub. Our bed was as hard as a rock. I did not sleep comfortably the entire stay. The rooftop terrace was always nice and relaxing and never overcrowded. The furnishings were quite dusty but something I could live with. The staff offered towels. Navigating the riad can be quite daunting at first but you easily get the hang of it. We were offered a guide (his name was Aziz, he was like the Godfather - everyone knew him) for our 1st day in the souks and square. The hotel arranged for him at 450DH, which was probably a little expensive for about 4 hours of walking. However having him was invaluable, he took us to the shops where the craftsman make all the items in the souks and bazaar. AMAZING experience!
Back to the riad, do not eat there. It is totally overpriced and you can eat for about 25% of the cost elsewhere. Also, beware of the "taxes" they charge as they are overpriced as well and can be negoiated. We didnt find this out until we had already paid. The manager will ask you to pay in cash, but we paid our entire bill (4500DH) by credit card. Beware of what you are ordering because they do not give you a bill after each meal like normal hotels, you have to keep note yourself and compare at checkout. Two more compliants, ONE channel on cable in english Al-Jazeerah and wi-fi only works in the corridor by the riad entrance. No wi-fi in your room or on the terrace, major disappointment.
Lastly, staff was amazing!!!!!!!! Hassan treated us like family, always greeting us with a smile and friendly conversation. He really made us feel at home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I spent one week in Riad esprit du Maroc and I had a very pleasant time.
Staff is very nice, they take care of you.
Food is great, especially breakfast with fresh juices and home made bread. You can choose to eat in the restaurant, on hte swimming pool or on the terrace. Rooms are comfortable and clean. There is also a small SPA where you can have hammam or relaxing massages. Definitively a nice place to stay in Marrakech!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This Riad is tucked away in the alleyways of the old town but once you get your bearings(which is not easy unless you have a very good map) it is an 15 minute walk down Rue Mouassine to the main square.The Riad is just as you see in the pictures but the chairs in the room were grubby ,the wall by our bed was very dirty and the towels are like sandpaper.Do not expect the designer toiletries which were detailed int the hotel description as the only toiletries provided were bath salts ,soap and body lotion which were basic to say the least.We stayed for 1 week and breakfast was the same every day : a very small glass of orange juice,coffee or tea from a thermos jug , a plate of bread accompanied by 2 small pots of jam for 3 of us and 3 small bowls of chopped apple with the peel on .
Do not make the mistake ( as we did ) of eating dinner in the hotel.We had our first dinner in the hotel but were not asked to sign anything on completion of the meal.Towards the end of our stay we asked to have our bill in advance so we could change enough currency.The staff seemed fearful of the manager and could not do anything before she arrived the following day.She presented us with the book to write a review then presented us with the bill.
We were charged almost £100 for a below average meal (charged £7.50 each for starter - 4 samosas each 3 cm in length,lamb tagine with cous cous and small bowl of chopped up fruit for dessert). There was also a Moroccan tax which amounted to £50 for the 3 of us for the week so beware.The manager insisted on being paid directly whilst she was still at the building so we were hassled to pay before we were ready to check out.
Our air conditioning broke down in the middle of our stay so we spent one night in stifling heat,before we moved to a different room where unfortunately we found cockroaches.The TV which we were advised would have free movie channels on booking only showed Al Jazeera. We could get the World BBC channel without any sound and when we asked if this could be fixed we were told it was due to a fault of the BBC that we had no sound!
Most of the staff at the hotel were polite and friendly.They wanted to know each night what time we wanted breakfast in the morning and where, as you can eat in your room or in 2 or 3 other locations around the Riad. I could understand this if they were providing a freshly cooked breakfast but as the breakfast was so basic and the chopped apple could be prepared in minutes I do not know why we were pinned down to a time.Some days the staff knocked on your door if they felt you were late ,other days we sat around waiting well after the time we had suggested and nothing happened .One day we tried to sneak out without having breakfast( we had not given a time the night before) and were caught only to be told breakfast was ready and then we waited ages before it arrived!
Do not book the trip to the Atlas mountains through the hotel as we were shown only a small berber home and a small waterfall .The driver handed us over to a guide at the waterfall as he said his English was not very good .We went to tip the guide who hardly spoke to us and he insisted that we pay more in addition to the money we had already paid (we refused!).
Marrakech is a colourful ,interesting place for a short trip but we would not stay in this Riad again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This Riad is situated in a perfect location to explore the City. The property is beautiful and the staff made us feel very welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The Spa is lovely, and I would definitely go for the reflexology. If you are looking for a stress free break then I would certainly recommend booking the Espirit du Maroc.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. I loved my stay here. It really was an oasis. The rooms were beautiful and the service was outstanding. It is in the heart of the Medina and very handy to the market. Sylvia is a very outgoing and caring hostess who will take care of all your needs, including Taxis and local shopping advice. The staff are extremely helpful, professional and accomodating. The Spa is a real treat and extremely relaxing so make sure you book yourself into the experience. I do not hesitate in recommending to stay here if you want an authentic and gorgeous experience.

Room Tip: They are all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We arrived at the Riad and were a little put off the long walk to get to the place but don't worry! The location is a little odd but once we got inside the Riad I felt a lot better! We were lucky enough to be offered an upgrade and received a really charming room of excellent size, walk in closet, and massive bathroom with double sinks. Everything was very clean and has retained its authenticity. We did have dinner there one night which was nice but I wouldn't have it every night as the price isn't the cheapest and its good to get around and there are plenty of nice restaurants.. We did have an organised guide which was useful for one day but then its easy to make your own way round.. Breakfast was included on the terrace or by the pool which was very pleasant.. Staff were very nice and its not too big a place so they really get to know you.. There was tax at the end included onto the bill but I think they warn you of that in the small print when you are booking.. We stayed there for 5nights in total and it was a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend it to friends! It was mostly couples when we went and I think that is the kind of place it caters for.

Room Tip: We had the blue superior room! Great choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gérant at Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
dear Megha
Thank you for your comments and praise for our school beauty and service.
You booked on Expedia an internet portal is well noted our recommendation, but apparently you have not read that it was important to control the private transfers directly by mail at Riad knowing that no driver or taxi ride in Medina (old ClTY). Our private transfers from the airport are registered with panel and the car takes you directly to the riad not to walk as you have unfortunately done. We are located in the heart of the tourist area everything is done on foot, which is an advantage. I am pleased to read that you were satisfied with our professional guides who have done you a little medina discover this heritage listed by Unesco
We are glad that you upgrade to a superior room exceptionally pleased you have room in Volubilis.
For the tax which you speak you have the pay the day of departure is the tax you must pay in all hotels worldwide; the tax or resort fee which is donated to the municipality.
I wish you all our best wishes as I think of memory as you were on their honeymoon.
We have a great pleasure to receive you and your spouse.
We hope to see you again with your friends and family at Christmas and rent the riad exclusively as you'd like to.
sincerely
Sylvie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc

Address: 12 a 17 derb Belbekkar | Zaouit Lhardar- Médina, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#84 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#86 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#171 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Un des joyaux de la Médina à l’abri des regards...Un Palais du XVIII, où règne la magnificence des mille et une nuits … 10 chambres, Spa de 200 m2, salle de fitness : culture du bien-être. Les plaisirs de la table avec son Restaurant «gastronomie marocaine».Un moment magique avec son Jardin sur la grande terrasse.La plénitude de ses 3 patios dont un avec Piscine. Retrouvez un lieu privilégié dont le nom,"Esprit du Maroc"exprime le raffinement de sa décoration sortie tout droit d’un rêve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad And Spa Esprit Du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit Du Maroc Hotel Marrakech
Riad Esprit Du Maroc Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.