We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two evening meals in beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Derb Chtouka, 21 | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-81851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 611 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Two evening meals in beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015 NEW

We ate twice here though stayed next door at the Villaa Makasarr. The riad is stunning, beautiful setting. Tranquil gardens and wonderful service. The dining room is really impressive with log fires, tasteful decor and superb menu options. Really enjoyed both visits. Faultless!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    157
    35
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Rhiad experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

Well cooked and served though a limited menu. Decor of the restaurant is superb and adds to a wonderful 'whole' experience. In addition, comparing cost to outside restaurants, good value and as in the hotel, used the restaurant 5 out of 7 nights given quality.

I would have liked more choice but all meals were well presented and enjoyable.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015 NEW

Nice surroundings, especially enjoyed the resident turtles. Food was average but inoffensive, it was however over priced, especially the drinks.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“An oasis in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

Les Jardins is an oasis in the Medina. It is a green garden and you will find/see several artistic and cool details. The food was good and so was the service. Inside you also have a store, selling womensclothing designed by the owner of the store. Will recommend having lunch at this place.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“More style than substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015 NEW

We were wowed by the entry into the restaurant - lovely ambiance and elegance, with a great garden (which we were, unfortunately, not able to use because of light rain).
Staff were really attentive and friendly, informal without being intruding.
Nice seating area by the bar for aperitifs with a log fire.
We enjoyed the wine we ordered - Ait Souala.
After our food order was taken we were given a taster of vegetable soup in a shot glass. To our taste buds it had no seasoning and was very bland.
Starters of aubergine fondant (a terrine really) and harira were lovely, though the harira did need the juice from the slice of lemon that was on the side of the dish to "lift" the taste.
The main courses were slightly disappointing. I had lamb tagine. It's not often I find fault with the quantity, but it was four c4cms massive cubes of lamb. Far too much! The textures were different, so they had obviously been cooked in different batches or added at different times. The sauce was slightly too sweet for me - but that's a personal thing. But there were no vegetables, just nuts. My wife had a chicken and pear tagine. It was a leg of chicken which was not tender - it was rubbery and tough to cut - probably not been cooked long or slow enough. (We'd had a chicken tagine in a homely riad just around the corner the previous evening which was cooked better.)
The meal was spoilt at the end by the head waitress who asked us to complete a feedback form and then asked us, in what we found to be an aggressive manner, why we had rated the food as good rather than excellent. And then proceeded to spend ages trying to get our email address correct.
This might have edged a four-star review because the place is lovely and the service was great, but the experience at the end means we can only give it three stars.

  • Visited March 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L F, Manager at Les Jardins de la Medina, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for your detailed and relevant comments. Although it may seems curious, we value customer feedback, even if can sometimes be unpleasant to read, as this informs our constant efforts in improving all aspects of our services.

We ask all our guests to fill in feedback forms at the end of the meal so to ensure all details of their experience are still fresh in their minds, so as to help us in our unrelenting quest for still better service.

We would like to respond to your comment about the chicken: we use farm-raised chickens, the meat of which is not a soft as industrially raised chicken, which explains the difference in texture.

We invite you to contact us before your next visit so we may display how your feedback as been taken onboard and provide you with the excellent service you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.