We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Derb Chtouka, 21 | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-81851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Montpellier, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We came in for a romantic lunch before leaving Marrakech. What a beautiful setting right in the Medina of Marrakech. It's pretty amazing how luxurious the gardens are in the middle of this wonderful setting, the name of the restaurant is well deserved! It seems at least 10 degrees cooler, and the relaxing atmosphere overlooking the pool and the gardens had us feeling like royalty as the server brought us our delicious (and not watered down!) drinks. We enjoyed the service and the meal thoroughly, and we wished we had come earlier in our stay, we definitely would have come for dinner as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    181
    42
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
471 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“A Lovely Evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We just came in for a drink (one of the few offered during Ramadan)...this was a great idea...wonderful service, tasty treats and lovely setting...a bit pricey...but worth it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaumont-Gistoux, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow, awesome dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

For our final evening in our 2-week-holiday in Morocco we decided to make our last dinner special. And we were brought by fate to Les Jardins de la Medina and the awesome experience still linger in our memory. First, the service from the very start to the very end was impeccable. Everything and everyone seemed to be so well-coordinated that our glasses were never empty and the timing from one service to the next is just so much in harmony. People were not only clearly excellent in their work but they were all so pleasing and kind and one can only imagine that these people love what they do. Secondly, we had excellent recommendations for wines, and the wonderful lady who acted as the "sommelier" advised us the best Moroccan wines and indeed they were! It was also so special to think that she would offer us the option to taste test a bottle and if we don't like it (not necessarily if it has corkage problem, just simply if we don't like it that), she will recommend and open another bottle for us. Wow, what flexibility! But all the wines she offered were among the best we've had so far. And thirdly, the food was Michelin-star good! My starter was a layer of aubergine and avocado and my hubby had a typical Morrocan dish with a twist and both were a delight. We both had Tanjia de souris d'agneau safranée aux pommes grenaille, served ceremoniously like in most starred restaurants and it was melting in the mouth with all its spices and savor. Not to forget that before we had our dishes, the excellent lady offered us a bowl of their delicious Ramadan soup (Harira?) which they share for free to hotel guests. Oh we were pampered! We dined in the terrace surrounded by greenery and serenaded by a gentleman playing traditional music to which every now and then the waiters would hum or sing softly along with. Superb ambiance! So romantic too! We told all the people we met the next day to try this restaurant because we love to share great experiences. Les Jardins is now in our highly recommended restos and in our to-go-back-to-list the next time we're in Marrakech! Thank you and bravo!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really nice place but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great food and service if a bit on the pricey side. Not a good place for families or youngish girls as you have to get down some pretty rough streets to get anywhere. No problem if you are happy to use taxis they are reliable and fairly cheep

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rainforest in the middle of Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Loved it. Amazing food. I got duck and it was amazing. The atmosphere and decorations were so nice, reminded me of having a nice romantic dinner in the middle of a rainforest. Definitely recommend it!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Jardins de la Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.