We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner with great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Jardins de la Medina

Les Jardins de la Medina
Derb Chtouka, 21 | Quartier de la Kasbah, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-81851
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $27 - $47
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean, French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner with great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Le Jardin was the most romantic venue we have been to in our week in Marrakech. The decor was very fun and green. The food was delicious (I had the beef and penne, which had a very nice Asian flavor to it). Some other reviews have noted the service being slow, but that was not at all a problem on our visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Great restaurant, great service.
Like many things in Marrakech, its tucked away, but get a taxi there and yoyu wont regret it.
My meal was fantastic (lamb shank) and the desert was so good.
I cant recommend it highly enough.
Great ambience too.
Go go go!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rishil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location A Refreshing and Relaxing Change”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by our Riad owner. A peaceful and pretty spot - Le Jardin offered a small but interesting menu of lovely dishes. Service was excellent and the food delicious. A 'treat' compared to other venues offering similar dishes at a more reasonable cost; however if you choose to have a night off from tagines and couscous Les Jardins offers some intersting international dishes cooked and presented beautifully. I thoroughly enjoyed the Thai veal and banana fritter. Recommended mainly for older friends and couples looking for a quiet spot.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely but a bit slow service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

On our first night in Marrakech, our riad next door kindly suggested trying this restaurant and after some drinks at the bar, we had a delicious meal of lamb shanks. The restaurant is beautiful and the outdoor seating is very romantic.
The only downside to our evening was the service which unfortunately became slower during the evening. Our pregnant waitress tried her best but it was busy and it was at least 15 minutes before anyone took our plates so we didn't fancy dessert.
A delicious meal though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A poor experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After being recommended this restaurant we booked expecting a fantastic meal ..............
However, despite seven waiters wandering around, we endured two hours of slow, poor service and the wrong meals being served. This was due to the waitress not communicating with the kitchen we were told. Perhaps if she had listened to our requests things would have been a lot better and, as a vegetarian, I wouldn't have been served the meat I didn't order.
I had to ask for bread as all the other tables had some already, the drinks were very slow in coming, and then the trouble started.
Of the three courses ordered two were wrong - really they couldn't do much to a bowl of ice cream so that was fine but even then I had to remind them we had ordered it.
The General Manager asked how our meal was, and after a conference in the kitchen, we were offered our meals at half price - and given a glass of champagne each.
But even the bill was wrong and by this time we had given it up as a bad experience. The excuse was that they were busy but if the staff had actually been on the ball the experience might have been better. A very poor experience indeed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JES1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jardinsmedina, Directeur général at Les Jardins de la Medina, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Sir

Please let me give you another perspective with regards to your comments above. It’s true that due to a language barrier there was a misunderstanding, and that the head waiter did not quite understand that your wife wanted a dish without any meat. But the ‘salade gourmande’ that she chose, also included ham amongst its many ingredients. We go to a lot of trouble to employ Moroccan staff, who can master ‘the language of Shakespeare’.
However, and you confirmed this to me, you were completely satisfied with the other dishes you ate. According to my promise, I did not hesitate in not charging you for this dish. After this, you ordered a dessert - a selection of home-made ice-creams, which was billed to you at the normal 80 dhs (£6) and not £7. I should also like to point out, that on top of my first good-will gesture, I chose to offer you two complimentary glasses of champagne, without being asked, in order to apologise for this regrettable misunderstanding.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Jardins de la Medina also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Les Jardins de la Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing